We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total Relaxation and Wellbeing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tarr Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tarr Farm Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Tarr Steps B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Total Relaxation and Wellbeing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2008

I was put in charge of organising a girls 'get together' weekend, free from husbands, partners and children. Scrolling the internet I came accross Tarr Farm on a search engine having decided Exmoor was the area to spend a couple of nights. It was fate, Tarr Farm had a "Fitness and Pamper" special offer on for the weekend. I booked immediately.

We arrived early Friday evening and had drinks on the terrace. They had organised for us to walk along the banks of the River Barle to their sister hotel, the Royal Oak Inn at Withypool. This took little over the hour. We had a superb dinner at the Oak and after were taken back to Tarr Farm where a candle lit bathroom was waiting for us along with a hot bath with aromotherapy oils - Bliss.

After a delicious breakfast, (I had chosen a detoxing smoothie, poached eggs with smoked haddock) we were given the choice of either walking, cycling or horse riding. Whatever we chose we were to all meet up at lunchtime for a suptious picnic. It was amazing. The setting was out of this world. Two of us decided to walk and what was lovely was that Judy, the proprietor came along too. The other two in our group chose to cycle. By the time we returned back to the hotel tired and aching (a bit!) from all the fresh air, three fully trained people in Thai massage were waiting to do a treatment on us privately in our own room. That evening we enjoyed a wonderful dinner and a much needed bottle of wine.

The following morning after a long lie in and a leisurely breakfast we reluctantly checked out. I can see why they have been awarded 5 stars.

  • Liked — The Egyptian cotton bed sheets, fluffy bathrobes and huge bath towels.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kizz_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    60
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
52
150
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2008

Tarr Farm is situated directly at Tarr Steps, Exmoor. It is a lovely spot and the hotel has many excellent features and the surrounding area is beautiful.
The bar and resturant are really well maintained and tastefully decorated. We have now eaten from both the bar menu and the resturant menu and both are excellent. After a good days walking on the moor I would also recommend one of their Cream Teas. All of the food here is of an excellent standard and locally sourced. Breakfast is also super.
The rooms are all facing the lovely views outside and have a little porch outside for coats and boots ( really helpful ) Decor is again very tasteful with hue comfy beds and a fab bathroom which is finished to a high standard ( a bath and a shower !!). In fact the room conatins everything you would need for a weekend away even tasty treats homemade from the kitchen. There is plenty of cupboard space if you are planning a longer stay. Linen is also of a high standard.
For those who shoot the room has a gun cabinet and dogs are allowed in your room. If you have working dogs there are also kennels.
This is a really good hotel and we had a great stay, both we and our friends and two spaniels love this area and hotel and will be back. The staff are friendly and the management welcoming and hospitable. Many Thanks for a great weekend and we hope to return soon.

  • Liked — Lots of quality
  • Disliked — Nothing - only not to let the are become over populated and spoilt.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jayneclive8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
130 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2008

Stayed here for one night in December, 2007. Somewhat difficult to find, even with sat nav, but not the fault of the B&B, just the circuitous moor roads and lanes.

Dark when we arrived, but could tell the location was terrific. Left our bags in the car as instructed and had pleasant check in from lady in the bar (a sign in the small reception area directed us). I think we were the only guests and were given Room #1. Good size with spacious bathroom. Nicely decorated in taupe and cream. Only one light bulb out. Usual TV, plus VCR/DVD player and we were told there was Internet access in the room. Tea and coffee tray, with fresh milk in fridge.

Separate shower and bath with very good towels. Excellent lighting. As noted by another reviewer, an interesting little basket of "extras". I guess someone would appreciate nail polish remover! Liquid bath gel, conditioner and body lotion in good, large containers, but all scented with lavender. And enough lavender is enough! Polite notice requesting that we only keep the light on in the bathroom when using it as the automatic fan disturbs the upstairs room.

Good wine list from the bar - reasonably priced and thoughtfully chosen. We ate in the small, comfy restaurant. Good service. We shared a somewhat dry but very tasty game pate. My husband had a good steak with crispy chips and I had fennel risotto which was just creamy enough.

Very comfortable bed overnight and the bedlinen was of a high standard. Can't remember if there was an alarm clock, but think that there was.

Breakfast was served when we required it and very nicely presented. I was surprised that the cereals were all in packets. Alpen is not particularly appealing in a place of this standard. As noted in other reviews, a white and a granary loaf provided for us - being picky, this was somewhat unnecessary as we were the only guests. Excitement provided when I made toast and set off the smoke alarm. My poached eggs were terrific - just runny enough, and the sausages etc. were of high quality.

Overall, an excellent establishment, with rooms, food and service of a very high standard. Only real downside was the price of £150 per night. Most of the other pubs/B&Bs in the area charge between £75 and £120 per night. It was probably worth it, but I would rather keep a few more pounds in my wallet.

  • Liked — Excellent service and attention to detail
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marleydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2007

A truly fantastic place to stay in an unbelievable setting. I have eaten here before and have always had great food which is accompanied
by a wine list to match. The staff and the owners do everything to assist you with having a memorable stay. The rooms are of a very high
standard with every attention to detail. I can't praise Tarr Farm enough.......The breakfast and the views are to die for. Enjoy your stay.

  • Liked — Everthing
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Scott81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarr Steps
10.6 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
4.0 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
7.4 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
8.2 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Inn
The Royal Oak Inn
#1 of 2 in Withypool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarr Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarr Farm Inn

Property: Tarr Farm Inn
Address: Tarr Steps | Dulverton, Tarr Steps, Exmoor National Park TA22 9PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Tarr Steps
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tarr Steps
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tarr Farm Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tarr Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarr Farm Hotel Tarr Steps
Tarr Farm Inn Tarr Steps, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing