We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tarr Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tarr Farm Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Tarr Steps B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Having stayed here some years ago, we thought it would be nice to make a return visit, especially since The Steps have been repaired.
Our memories of our first visit were that everything was absolutely perfect, however this time we thought that the room was in need of a little bit of TLC, the carpet needed a good clean, obviously being a cream colour it was going to show every mark but if you choose to have that colour then you need to keep it clean; the walls were scuff marked & the bottom bed sheet was torn. The bathroom however, was spotless.
We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food & service were very good.
I spite of our grumbles we would still return as the location is absolutely superb.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor as they have beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyfultraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    60
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
51
147
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had afternoon tea here. Tea was overpriced. Buttered toasted tea cake was described as having 'currents' (sic). Well if the teacake contained carrants, then maybe a current had removed the currants (OK, so I am being a pedant about spelling). This was a cheap teacake low in currants and over priced. The door mats need replacing and the staff need to liven up. But I suppose that if you have a captive audience why bother running a place professionally.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhyShouldIStayHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We went here for lunch, Even though their was a fire it was not a real fire and the place was cold. The service was a little slow. We ordered our meal and I had mussels which were lovely my husband and daughter's starters were un eventful. main courses came they had venison which was ok the potatoes were terrible and we were not asked if we wanted any veg. Hate places where you have to ask for everything. I had Monk fish and chips. The monk Fish was a little tough although the batter was lovely. The chips well I could of got them at Mac Donalds. would of expected nice rustic chips. My pet hate is salad on a hot plate. it wilts and is really not edible. I like the place and the situation. I would go back to try again. maybe it was just an off day. Would really like this place to be super as I am local and it could be a nice change. Just a little note the toilets were also freezing so much so the toilet paper is damp. Also needs a little clean. Tarr steps is fantastic, first time we have seen the bridge had been washed away. Will be nice to go back whenthey are fixing it,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susanashton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I took my boyfriend here for his birthday. The location is fantastic, away from it all with plenty of walks for those who like the outdoors. The food in the evening was great but the breakfast was quite average. Rooms were large and clean. The service from the owner was fantastic but was let down slightly by some of the other staff. We would go again if it was slightly cheaper.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Newandsojka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
245 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had such a special evening on Christmas eve. All credit to Judy, owner of this most special inn surround by stunning countryside. The food was excellent the ambiance just so very perfect. On Christmas eve, we were also treated to the most lovely young lady singing carols and hymns. We couldn't of wished for anything more. Thank you so much

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mx5fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I absolutely love this place. My wife, dog and I stayed here in July 2012 for a three night stay. Tarr Farm is not the cheapest of places to stay, but my motto is (you get what you pay for), and here you get a lot. From a beautiful location, with well-equipped and pretty spacious bedrooms, to wonderfully delicious food and very good service. The staff are very friendly and helpful with lots of advice on where to go out walking, and they are all very dog friendly. Would defiantly recommend this place and we will certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ptw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I expected this to be either very trashy for tourist or very over priced could not be more wrong, we arrived late for our booking but that was not a problem even on the busy day we were there. First class service and they don't mind muddy boots they told me off for taking mine off!! How refreshing, very pleased indeed, wonderful spot on our beloved exmoor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VexedFoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarr Steps
4.0 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
10.5 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
16.2 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
8.2 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
4.3 mi away
Edgcott House
Edgcott House
#1 of 8 in Exford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarr Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarr Farm Inn

Property: Tarr Farm Inn
Address: Tarr Steps | Dulverton, Tarr Steps, Exmoor National Park TA22 9PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Tarr Steps
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tarr Steps
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tarr Farm Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Tarr Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarr Farm Hotel Tarr Steps
Tarr Farm Inn Tarr Steps, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing