We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Simonsbath House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Simonsbath House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Simonsbath
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sussex
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“So peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend and we weren't disappointed. Our room (No. 3) had a beautiful view over the valley and the river which was lovely. Although there is a road in between the view, it is very quiet in the evening and we didn't hear anything through the night. The breakfast and evening meal was lovely and nice staff. Maybe need to do something about the view from the dining room which overlooks a rusty fire escape
The only reason we wouldn't stay again is because it was such a long drive from Sussex for 2 days.
A word of warning, take care with the hot water in the bathroom, it is hot enough to scald!!
Even though a few negatives, we would like to say thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Choose room No. 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diamonds25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    22
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
72
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times at different seasons,and have always been impressed by the service and comfort,plus the amazing location in the Barle Valley.This really is a gem of a place to relax and take in the surroundings,with all that Exmoor has to offer.
The food is superb,breakfast to set you up for the day,and dinner to complete.
The warming log fires in Winter are enchanting- possibly one of the best locations in the centre of Exmoor.

Room Tip: Room 4 looks out over the Valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We booked for two nights and ended up staying for 4 - what a wonderful quiet place this is. Nice well equipped apartment with access to the lovely little bar in the hotel. Great walks on the doorstep and a wonderful secure riverside tramp for dogs and their owners just 50 yards away. We have to give the bats a mention too - what a fantastic thing to see! We felt very very privileged to be able to watch them go out for their nightly feast from our balcony. No wonder these beautiful little creatures are a protected species - they are an absolute joy. Very friendly owners and staff, clean and warm, comfortable, interesting, well located and extremely good value. Thanks to all at Simonsbath House for a wonderful stay - we will be back.

Room Tip: We did not see the bedrooms but the self catering units all appear to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SevernTrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

The accommodation was clean, spacious and exactly what you'd expect from a old English mannor.
The food was fantastic, big portions and well presented.
The staff were polite, helpful and bubbly.
This was a wonderful treat for my wife for her Birthday, thank you very much.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had a really lovely break and as we are have our own business we understand what hard work goes into a providing such relaxed and welcoming atmosphere on a consistent basis. Our room had a beautiful view and we enjoyed a great dinner and an excellent bottle of Sancerre recommended by Andrew!
Breakfast was excellent too. Had the weather not been so sunny we would have definitely enjoyed sitting reading in the cosy lounge and bar area which must be amazing in autumn and winter with the open fires.
Thank you everyone!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CharleyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Hard to find fault, but then....why would you want to? Lovely, quiet location, handy for both country and coast. A large, tastefully decorated, comfortable room. A huge bath which, incidentally, is very old-person friendly, its very depth making it easy to stand up.

Then there's the food. English breakfast, with a good choice of cereals, fruit, etc, but even this faded before the excellence of the evening meal.

From the warmth of the welcome to the comfort of the leather armchairs in the lounge, this is a special place, and not too expensive either. The one small glitch was a central heating system that stayed on as the English summer arrived, sort of, and the radiator in my room could not be switched off, somewhat denting the hotel's green credentials.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I absolutely love this place. A warm welcome, stunning views, amazing food... and a beautiful interior that radiates warmth and atmosphere. A blissful stay that can't be overstated. A rather fine wine cellar too!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GillTew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simonsbath
9.2 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
7.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
8.4 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simonsbath House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simonsbath House

Property: Simonsbath House
Address: Simonsbath | Exmoor, Simonsbath, Exmoor National Park TA24 7SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Simonsbath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Simonsbath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Simonsbath House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Exmoor overlooking the Barle Valley Simonsbath House is the ideal place to relax and explore the contrasting scenery of the National Park with its deep wooded combes, heather moors and magnificent coastline. With 10 individually decorated en-suite rooms this 350 year old Country House Hotel offers friendly service, a relaxed atmosphere and comfortable accommodation. The cosy bar and lounge both have log fires and oak paneling, with a charming restaurant reminding of a bygone era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda, HostelWorld, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Simonsbath House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing