We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Simonsbath House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Shelley's(Lynmouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Sinai House(Lynton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bath Hotel(Lynmouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveler rating
127
23
3
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
23
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringthe cottageswalking groupwell stocked barwalking weekendthe ownermurder mysterywarm welcomecosy loungerecommend this hotelthank you very muchfour poster bedblazing firesensuite bathroomcountry hotelexcellent hotelbeautiful view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 154 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. The staff is very friendly, cheerfull and goes for the extra mile to help you. The location of the hotel and the view is realy brilliant. The interiour design of the house with the wooden panels on the wall gives the feeling of a manor. Which is intensified by the friendly attitude of the staff. The kitchen serves really execelent food, we haven't eaten this good for some time. The creme brulee was beyond excelent.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoepR_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Generally the hotel was pretty good but there were a number of problems with our room -

1.The towel rail was barely enough to hang one small towel let alone two bath towels and two small ones; people are unlikely to comply with the environmental request to re-use towels if you cant dry them adequately. What was odd was that there was plenty of space in the bathroom for a proper towel rail.

2. The lighting in the bedroom was inadequate; also one bed side light could only be switched off by removing the plug.

3. The position of the TV on the wall made it very difficult to watch in comfort from the chair.

4. The wardrobe was very small.

I believe these problems were not experienced by all our group - so it appears some rooms are better than otthers; (unfortunately I cannot recall our room no.).

Room Tip: Ask for one which doesnt have the problems we experienced.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitchurchrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermouth, Owner at Simonsbath House, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Many thanks for your review - we are always pleased to receive feedback and as a result of your comments have replaced the bedside lights and installed an additional towel rail in the bathroom. The TV is actually on a hinged bracket and can be rotated to face the sofa in your room, and I am sorry that you felt these issues affected your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed for one night while on holiday in the south west of England. We called on the off chance to ask if they had a room the following night. We found the staff were very helpful. They gave us a good rate and lovely room which had quite beautiful views. The food we ate in the hotel was very nice - the breakfasts were generous and good quality, and the evening meal was a pleasure to tuck into after a day of being out and about.

The hotel sits in a very peaceful rural setting with some quite beautiful scenery surrounding the hotel (Exmoor National Park!).

Room Tip: With advance notice we found the kitchen provided us additional options if you have any special dietary needs. I'm a vegetarian and they went out their way to provide a menu that had a wider range of options.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonDavid123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed in one of the self catering cottages attached to the hotel, the 'Shepherds Crook'.

If, like us, your perfect holiday involves escaping from the city to the middle of the countryside with a river and some rolling hills for beautiful walks straight from the door whilst also having a pub within walking distance... then this is the perfect place for you!

Simonsbath is just a tiny hamlet in a valley with lovely views along the River Barle, but despite this, there is still a pub, a hotel and a tearoom all with about 50m of each other. Each one of these businesses would be a pleasant enough find on its own.

Although we were in the self catering cottage, we were allowed to freely use the cosy comfortable hotel lounge and bar, with log fires, big comfy sofas, games and books and an huge selection of spirits and ales. The hotel owner (I've forgotten his name) was very friendly indeed and when we said we would like to do some walking, he was extremely knowledgeable and got his map out to recommend great walks all over Exmoor, two of which we did during our stay. There is also free wifi in the bar and lounge areas (but it doesn't reach through the thick walls into the cottage!).

One useful thing about booking this cottage is that because it's linked to the hotel you can book it by the day like a hotel room (I think there's a minimum number of days) and it meant that we could book just the six days we needed starting on a Monday, whereas most holiday cottages insist on Saturday-Saturday lets.

Whilst the hotel itself boasts views along the river from every room, the cottages are set to one side and so don't face directly up the valley, and most windows look out at the tea room carpark, (I had used Googlestreet before going and so was expecting this) but its not as bad as it sounds - it's not like an NCP carpark, more like a gravel courtyard, and the tearoom is a pleasant enough converted farm building. From just outside the cottage front door you can see into the valley.

The cottage was very comfortable, with all the equipment we needed and we appreciated the basket of teas, coffees, drinking chocolate sachets and cookies. It is possible to sleep three but be aware that the single bed is on an open-plan mezzanine level, with no doors between it and the lounge/kitchen/dining area. The double bed is in a separate bedroom though and so I'd recommend that the cottage works best for just couples. The small bathroom was very nicely fitted out, with a generous supply of fluffy towels and posh-looking soaps and lotions and with both a bath and shower.

We didn't eat at the hotel, so I can't comment on the food there - the menu looked like quality old style dishes, and there was an offer of 3 courses for about £30. We ate twice at the Exmoor Forest Inn just up the road and found the food to be delicious and a nice selection of real ales.

One thing that made us chuckle in the cottage was the strict rationing of cutlery and crockery: 3 teaspoons, 3 dessert spoons, 3 knives, 3 forks, 3 mugs, 3 plates.... etc! So if you had soup and a dessert you had to wash the bowl and spoon between courses!!

To sum up though, the perfect location and the friendly hotel owner made this a lovely getaway for us and I'm sure we'll pay it another visit!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SarahGBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tintintin1, Owner at Simonsbath House, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Many thanks for your kind review, it was a pleasure having you to stay and hopefully we will get the opportunity to welcome you back
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed here last weekend for a relaxing walking holiday, and a break from our 3 children. With 3 children of 6 and under I don't normally make time to write reviews, however on this occasion our stay was so fantastic I felt I should write something!
Quite simply the location of the hotel is in a beautiful spot overlooking the river barle, so if you like walking you won't get much better.
We were given an upgrade to a superior room, which had the most comfortable king size bed, and and a lovely bathroom with large double ended bath.
The food at the hotel was lovely, with a different menu each night, and very reasonably priced.
The service was excellent with nothing being too much trouble at all, filling up your flask with tea for the day was no problem, giving guidance on the best walks in the area, and reccomending a good local cider to drink in the evening, all just part of the service.
We had a great weekend, and we will definatley come back to this hotel again, it was a truely memorable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mumsdotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews