We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Freindly and lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Exmoor Forest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Exmoor Forest Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Simonsbath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Freindly and lovely stay”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Greatly located for walks in exmoor, lovely friendly service, lovely food and cosy rooms. Would highly recomend the Exmoor Forest Inn.

It was dog friendly but the rooms we extremly clean, with lovely view towards the moors. The bar was great with good ales on tap and tasty food.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ImogenHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    109
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
42
243
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at the Forest Inn between Christmas and New Year and had a lovely couple of days. The owners (and their dogs!) are very welcoming and our room had an extremely comfortable bed which was much needed after a round-trip walk to Withypool! We ate in the bar both nights and had great meals. Breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
148 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Visited the Exmoor Forest Inn for lunch over the Christmas period. The dining area was warm and there are a few different smaller areas with tables that give a more relaxed feel to the inn.

On the whole the food was fine, and service was friendly if a little disjointed. There were areas which could be improved on - the soup was over-seasoned with garlic and fish could have been fried for a few more minutes. The vegetables with the main (mushroom tartlets) were sprouts, parsnips and red cabbage - all of which were overcooked and completely mushy. I think they had these vegetables leftover from Christmas dinners and decided to make use of them and reheat.

Coffee after the meal was excellent and the owners were friendly. Overall, a bit of a disappointment.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank johnny_c-l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Stayed in mid december, we were the only people there but were made to feel very welcome. Nice large clean and quiet room and a good breakfast. We had some food one evening which was nice and there are a couple of friendly dogs. A pint of exmoor ale by the log fire was appreciated as were the quirky xmas decorations. Simonsbath is a great place to walk exmoor and we had a nice couple of days based there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

we stayed for three days and everything was as previous guests have confirmed, friendly staff, good food which is homecooked and nicely presented, lovely clean room and warm bathroom with a great shower. nothing was too much trouble. will definitely stay again.

mr and mrs taylor. devon

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Much Wenlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Such a fantastic location on exmoor, I loved that we had no mobile reception as was a real break from everything. Has a relaxed feel and just what we were after. The hosts made an effort with everyone but not intrusive. Felt very at home. If you want a super smart hotel it may not be for you, but is a lovely old lodge and we felt very comfortable and would definitely return (we may have to adopt a dog first!) food lovely and hearty too after our long walks.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Booked in for 1 night, with our Newfoundlandand, ended up staying for three. Arrived late on the Sunday and still offered food. The owners and family could not have been more welcoming. Other guests were also friendly and very happy for the dog to be present. The owners dogs were friendly as was a regular visiting dog. Originally planned to move on after one night, but was badly let down by a supposedly pet friendly inn in Holne Dartmoor. Rang the Exmoor Forest Inn in desperation and they readily accepted a late booking on the Monday evening and again offered food even though I arrived after 10 p.m. The room was spotless with crisply ironed bedding. Plenty of tea, coffee, milk and sugar for a number of cups - the details seemed important to them. Food was very good with well cooked breakfasts. For a small inn that is continuing to refurbish, I was extremely happy. Good value. Thank you for your help, friendliness and for going that little extra.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartynWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simonsbath
0.0 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
137 reviews
4.9 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
9.2 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
647 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel, Exford
7.4 mi away
Tarr Farm Inn
Tarr Farm Inn
#1 of 2 in Tarr Steps
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exmoor Forest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exmoor Forest Inn

Property: Exmoor Forest Inn
Address: Simonsbath, Exmoor National Park TA24 7SH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Simonsbath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Simonsbath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Exmoor Forest Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Exmoor Forest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor Forest Hotel Simonsbath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing