We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Rib Eye steak in the world....ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hunters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hunters Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Martinhoe B&B and Inns
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best Rib Eye steak in the world....ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

I came again to The Hunters Inn in April 2014 for an evening meal.....twice. It's difficult to think about going somewhere else when this place is just so very good. I have been coming to The Hunters Inn for around 45 years. My parents brought me a s a small boy and my memories brought me back as an adult. It went through a bit of a tough patch for a few years but, even then, was still a wonderful place to visit. Since David has had the place, however, he has taken it to what it could always be. The food is exquisite and extremely well priced and the ales are wonderful. If ever I am in North Devon I come here to eat, it's as simple as that.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanWingrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    101
    56
    43
    29
See reviews for
97
209
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
Yateley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Having visited on a day trip we decided to return and stay for a couple of nights this Easter. All the staff were friendly and very helpful, The Inn has a great atmosphere in which to relax and is set in a stunning location, We stayed in one of the family rooms which was ideal for the four of us. Easy access to the coastal path and walked to Woody Bay enjoying the spectacular scenery on a beautiful sunny day. Will defineately return

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Having our first holiday with the puppy we have been exploring walks & dog friendly pubs, what a lovely find. After earning our lunch on the stroll to heddons mouth we both ordered the burgers. Very tasty & lovely chips. The only thing that has stopped this from being 5stars is there were 3moans from other patrons who received 1meal half hour before the rest, 1 gentleman who waited over 40mins for a sandwich & watched others who arrived after receive their meals first & a lady who had no milk with her coffee & when approached the bar was told to ask someone in room next door, no1 was there so she was then left hanging around until she eventually said please send someone over with milk when they are back. I felt easily the girl at bar could have popped & got some milk & this final moan summed up our feeling of the place....the customer service was somewhat cold. Having visited other pubs this week "off the beaten track" this one although didn't have bad customer service it did have the worse of the rest of the pubs visited. It was the opposite of the warm, friendly, welcoming feeling we had at others. I don't want to be too harsh though as we will be back, maybe it was just a bit of day of it for the staff

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kizzyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Have been visiting this place for many years now. The pub is located 3 miles or so down tiny lanes. The views on the way are breath taking. All of a sudden the pub appears out of the ground. As a campervan person I have only eaten there once. The food was fine. However,
the real ale (Stag, Loosemore etc) are out of this world. There is also a local cider on tap which is to die for. We have found so many great walks around here, some more challenging than others. It is well worth looking for a waterfall and we also once found a wild strawberry patch, Yum Yum. National Trust have some good facilities near to the pub. Just go to this pub once and you will return time and time again. Simply the best boozer in the world.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halwill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We visited The Hunter's Inn in late January with our elderly collie, Soxx. From the moment we branched off the main road we knew we were in for a magical stay. The Inn is absolutely unique in style and comfort and a warmer reception would be hard to find anywhere. Every member of staff went the extra mile to make us all feel welcome - chef offered to cook anything we wanted and regularly brought out titbits for Soxx. Every meal was superb and the produce fresh as the day. Folk night on Sunday evening was brilliant with impromptu playing and singing for all. We both sang until we were hoarse. Lots to do out and about but the walks and views to the coast from the Inn are some of the best in Devon. We'll be coming back as often as funds and time allow. Thank you all - Dawn,Ronnie & Soxx

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor and had excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

I arrived for lunch shortly after midday on a Monday when there were maybe 3-4 couples already seated inside. As it was a gloriously sunny autumn day I let the staff know that I was going to sit out on the terrace to take advantage of the weather and the beautiful setting. My coffee arrived about 5-10 minutes later but it took about half an hour for my burger and chips to materialise. On setting down my plate the waitress said "don't worry we haven't forgotten about you". Given the delay, it would have been more reassuring had she told me this about a quarter of an hour earlier as I was just about to go in and cancel my order, as I literally had a plane to catch later that afternoon, when my food appeared.

The bacon and cheese burger came with a leafy side salad, salsa and chips and was enjoyable if a little pricey for what it is - £10.95.

I will have happy memories of my visit due to the lovely 5-6 mile circular walk along the coast that worked up my appetite and basking in the autumn sunshine on the terrace. However, the service was a let down. Maybe they're better geared up for quicker service on weekends and during the main tourist season? If not, I dread to think how long the wait would be.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnydalegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your comments.
All our hot food is cooked fresh for you, not frozen and being reheated and I believe that a 30 minute wait is not unacceptable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Couldn't comment on rooms as didn't stay. We went for a very nice walk to Hedons Mouth and back. Been here every year for the last 26 years and seen this place go up and up and have some good refurbishments. Went for lunch and it was good, so good we all decided to come back for dinner. There was a large group of people eating but we were warned so service was restricted as we expected so no problem there, had a really nice time and the staff were very pleasant. 'Icarus'

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiantComedy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinhoe
4.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heddon's Gate Hotel
Heddon's Gate Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martinhoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hunters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hunters Inn

Property: The Hunters Inn
Address: Heddon Valley, Martinhoe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Martinhoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Martinhoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hunters Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hunters Inn pub is blessed with the most magical setting, tucked at the bottom of the exquisitely beautiful Heddon Valley on Exmoor. The narrow road from the moor descends beneath a canopy of ancient trees. Sun-dappled leaves glitter and gleam. The river runs past the inn and a short walk takes you to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Hunters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hunters` Hotel Exmoor National Park
The Hunters Inn Martinhoe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing