We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical setting”
Review of The Hunters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hunters Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Martinhoe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Having our first holiday with the puppy we have been exploring walks & dog friendly pubs, what a lovely find. After earning our lunch on the stroll to heddons mouth we both ordered the burgers. Very tasty & lovely chips. The only thing that has stopped this from being 5stars is there were 3moans from other patrons who received 1meal half hour before the rest, 1 gentleman who waited over 40mins for a sandwich & watched others who arrived after receive their meals first & a lady who had no milk with her coffee & when approached the bar was told to ask someone in room next door, no1 was there so she was then left hanging around until she eventually said please send someone over with milk when they are back. I felt easily the girl at bar could have popped & got some milk & this final moan summed up our feeling of the place....the customer service was somewhat cold. Having visited other pubs this week "off the beaten track" this one although didn't have bad customer service it did have the worse of the rest of the pubs visited. It was the opposite of the warm, friendly, welcoming feeling we had at others. I don't want to be too harsh though as we will be back, maybe it was just a bit of day of it for the staff

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kizzyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 437 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

Have been visiting this place for many years now. The pub is located 3 miles or so down tiny lanes. The views on the way are breath taking. All of a sudden the pub appears out of the ground. As a campervan person I have only eaten there once. The food was fine. However,
the real ale (Stag, Loosemore etc) are out of this world. There is also a local cider on tap which is to die for. We have found so many great walks around here, some more challenging than others. It is well worth looking for a waterfall and we also once found a wild strawberry patch, Yum Yum. National Trust have some good facilities near to the pub. Just go to this pub once and you will return time and time again. Simply the best boozer in the world.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tom w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We visited The Hunter's Inn in late January with our elderly collie, Soxx. From the moment we branched off the main road we knew we were in for a magical stay. The Inn is absolutely unique in style and comfort and a warmer reception would be hard to find anywhere. Every member of staff went the extra mile to make us all feel welcome - chef offered to cook anything we wanted and regularly brought out titbits for Soxx. Every meal was superb and the produce fresh as the day. Folk night on Sunday evening was brilliant with impromptu playing and singing for all. We both sang until we were hoarse. Lots to do out and about but the walks and views to the coast from the Inn are some of the best in Devon. We'll be coming back as often as funds and time allow. Thank you all - Dawn,Ronnie & Soxx

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor and had excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I arrived for lunch shortly after midday on a Monday when there were maybe 3-4 couples already seated inside. As it was a gloriously sunny autumn day I let the staff know that I was going to sit out on the terrace to take advantage of the weather and the beautiful setting. My coffee arrived about 5-10 minutes later but it took about half an hour for my burger and chips to materialise. On setting down my plate the waitress said "don't worry we haven't forgotten about you". Given the delay, it would have been more reassuring had she told me this about a quarter of an hour earlier as I was just about to go in and cancel my order, as I literally had a plane to catch later that afternoon, when my food appeared.

The bacon and cheese burger came with a leafy side salad, salsa and chips and was enjoyable if a little pricey for what it is - £10.95.

I will have happy memories of my visit due to the lovely 5-6 mile circular walk along the coast that worked up my appetite and basking in the autumn sunshine on the terrace. However, the service was a let down. Maybe they're better geared up for quicker service on weekends and during the main tourist season? If not, I dread to think how long the wait would be.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Sunnydalegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you for your comments.
All our hot food is cooked fresh for you, not frozen and being reheated and I believe that a 30 minute wait is not unacceptable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Couldn't comment on rooms as didn't stay. We went for a very nice walk to Hedons Mouth and back. Been here every year for the last 26 years and seen this place go up and up and have some good refurbishments. Went for lunch and it was good, so good we all decided to come back for dinner. There was a large group of people eating but we were warned so service was restricted as we expected so no problem there, had a really nice time and the staff were very pleasant. 'Icarus'

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Icarus1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

What a wonderful place to get away, lovely wooded valley with the beach just a short walk away and beautiful gardens complete with red deer wandering about. We were here as a very mixed group of 7 and nobody was disappointed! Fantastic beer and food and as for the local valley dwellers, well they are in a league of their own; very entertaining - 3 of us nearly didn't go home and we will all be back. Thank you all for retaining a small piece of our hearts!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed here several years ago and found it to be a charming hotel with lot's of character and great food. During a recent visit to Devon we decided to visit for lunch.
As we entered the hotel it looked tired, grubby and in need of some TLC (old decor, worn carpets etc), however this is often the case with older properties.

Once inside I went to order lunch only to be told that there was only baguettes or soup due to the kitchen being busy because they had a wedding. Parts of the hotel were also closed off for the wedding.
This is something that seems to happen more and more often, hotels take bookings for weddings which affects the service offered to other guests. The food that was on offer was ok but more of a snack than a meal. A shame really because this place is in a great location, they really need to be able to cater for weddings and other guests at the same time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garrytev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinhoe
0.9 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
980 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
485 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
743 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
250 reviews
4.3 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hunters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hunters Inn

Address: Heddon Valley, Martinhoe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Martinhoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Martinhoe
Price Range: $91 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hunters Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hunters Inn pub is blessed with the most magical setting, tucked at the bottom of the exquisitely beautiful Heddon Valley on Exmoor. The narrow road from the moor descends beneath a canopy of ancient trees. Sun-dappled leaves glitter and gleam. The river runs past the inn and a short walk takes you to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hunters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hunters` Hotel Exmoor National Park
The Hunters Inn Martinhoe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing