We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (494)
Filter reviews
494 results
Traveler rating
219
125
66
52
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
219
125
66
52
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheddon valleyburgerthe pubheddons mouthcream tealight lunchreal alean evening mealsunflower lodgefantastic locationmusselsnational trustroast beefside saladwoody baysconesfour poster bed
Filter
Updating list...
363 - 368 of 494 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stumbled across the Hunters Inn having meandered down a long windy road thought the valley (much easier to get to it from the North - seaward end!). Emerging into the open, the hotel looks like a sun-drenched jewel amidst a valley of green.

We hadn't planned to stay, but after a great lunch of perfectly cooked haddock and home-made chips, we asked and were delighted to find a room looking back up the tranquil valley and the staff did everything they could to look after us.

Our room was lovely, large, with a very comfortable double bed with unbelievably soft cotton sheets. The bathroom was modern with a lovely shower and deep bath - what more could we want?

The hotel is in a simply perfect location, nestled deep within the Heddon Valley; peaceful doesn't do it justice. No mobile phone signal (an advantage for us!) but WiFi is available to guests if the outside world really has to intrude.

There is a lovely easy walk down the rest of the valley to the beach, following the stream as it burbles over the rocks, starting (or finishing - or both depending whether you walk down one side and back up the other, or not) at the bottom of the hotel's lovely gardens.

Dog-friendly, peaceful, surrounded by nature that takes your breath away; we will certainly be back! Thank you for a perfect weekend.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Bear_and_Us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is a lovely hotel. Its not a chain, its privately owned so what it lacks in silly soap in the bathroom is more than made up for by wonderful personal old fashioned service. The food was very good and the portions large. Our room was beatiful, large and very comfortable. The bar area is lovely. The position of the hotel is amazing. We arrived by bicycle and the area is simply stunning. Give the hotel a go - you will be well pleased. One day we will be back

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soldeuski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was our second stay a the hunters and it was lovely. The staff are friendly and welcoming and the setting is simply stunning. The rooms are spacious and very tasteful. Breakfast was delicious and very fresh.
On the whole a great stay with even a smile from Chris the bar man. Thank you all.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Neshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We were sent here from a nearby hotel for dinner. We wish we had travelled further afield. The food was poor and the waiting staff totally disinterested. The dining room was virtually empty but even a simple salad was on the verge of being inedible soaked in some strange dressing. Even the cheese was minimal and drenched in pickle.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandm61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

What a lovely hotel in a stunning location. We spent a couple of nights here. Staff are all friendly and helpful. We had a dinner on our first night. It was excellent, I had a pie, and my partner had chicken, delicious! Breakfast was good too. If you are after a quiet retreat, come midweek out of season, highly recommended! I must mention the charming lady who looks after the peacocks that they have there, so friendly. Room tip, ask for room 4 which overlooks the gardens, it's a beautiful view.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dudley1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews