We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$123
$117
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Bath Hotel(Lynmouth)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$114
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $148/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (490)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveler rating
218
123
66
52
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
218
123
66
52
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheddon valleyburgerthe pubheddons mouthcream tealight lunchreal alean evening mealsunflower lodgefantastic locationmusselsnational trustroast beefside saladwoody baysconesfour poster bed
Filter
Updating list...
386 - 391 of 491 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Having visited this Inn for over 30 years and seen various owners/managers, I can safely say that this one "takes the biscuit". He won't run a tab for fear of being "robbed". Disinterested attitude. Sticky tables and that was at midday, so there couldn't have been loads of customers eating at our table before us. Tasteless and overpriced food. 2 coffees cost £6. Waste of energy going there, but of course, the walk to Heddon's Mouth is wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurreySandM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidOrton, Owner at Hunter's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for your review, I shall try to answer your comments:

During the day we do not run tabs, this is due to the high number of people that are sometimes here and it increases the number of times people have to visit the tills. We do not have a minimum transaction even for credit and debit cards, so this really should not cause you any problems. In the evening we operate table service and run tabs for those that wish.

We re-varnished our tables earlier this year with an environmentally friendly varnish; unfortunately the alcohol and the sanitising cleaning spray we use reacted with the varnish and despite scrubbing the tables they felt sticky. As the Inn was so busy during the season we were unable to refinish all the tables, this has now been completed.

We charge £2 for a coffee, you ordered a double Espresso and asked for an additional shot of coffee in your Americano, this costs £3 per drink.

The food is not tasteless or over priced.

You failed to mention the fantastic new extension on the rear of the building or the acclaimed new toilets. Over the last 6 years we have spent close to 1 million pounds restoring this historic building that had been sadly neglected over the last thirty years by the previous owners. The Hunters Inn will continue to need a significant levels of investment to bring it to the standards we all would like. I make no apology for the cost of your drinks.

I truly hope you do return again and look at all the positive things that happen at this community led Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the Hunters Inn in August after checking out of a very poor hotel (not to be named) I walking in and David was very welcoming and couldn't be more helpful. He sorted us out with two rooms very quickly and reasonably priced. We were asked if we wanted a table booked for dinner and quickly settled into our room's which were very clean and very comfortable. The food was great, yeh maybe not the quickest but worth the wait, (Lamb and Parsnip pie was very good). We stayed a second night and David even moved thing around so we could stay in the same rooms. Breakfast was also very good. Kids (11 & 13) loved it and so did we. Fantastic location, beautiful hotel, great welcome and goodbye. we'll be back....soon..

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paten E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This pub/hotel has such a fantastic location but we left so disappointed. The food we were served for lunch and dinner here really was not good at all - and the website says they have an award-winning chef - I wonder what the award was for. I did overhear the bar person apologise to one complaining customer - "the chef is on holiday!" Our lunch was bland to say the least - avoid the salmon lasagne and goats cheese salad. We booked a table for dinner. Again the food was below par. We were the only people eating in the restaurant. But our dining experience was ruined by the satff who were sitting drinking at a table in the restaurant, getting drunker and louder as the evening wore on. The next morning at breakfast we saw one of the same staff staggering around hungover mumbling that he needed to get a shave. Not the most professional of establishments. BUT - the (presume) manager was really nice and helpful - but he's got a job on his hands with his staff. The breakfast was also good (I think it was cooked by this manager!). Our room was a family room right at the top of the hotel. No shower - just a bath with a rubber hose to attach to the taps. Their is no wi-fi in this hotel either but if you are staying they will lend you a LAN cable. Oh, and there's peacocks in the gaden.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swedensm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We love this place..what a setting and so beautiful. We have been here a few times now, the latest being early September and it coincided with the beer and music festival. We usually park nearby and then walk down the path to the coast or to Woody Bay, after which a pint of real ale (of which there are many to choose from) and a bar snack are most welcome! Great times.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stay at this hotel for one night on are way down to Cornwall to visit are son.Never disapoints.
Current owner refurbishing rooms we stayed in first floor newly refurbished room,lovely room and gorgeous bathroom with seperate bath and shower cubicule,breakfast very good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UrchinwoodSomersetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews