We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay”
Review of The Hunters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hunters Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Martinhoe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Just arrived back from a 3 night family break at Hunters Inn. Generally, we really enjoyed our stay. As others have commented, the location is stunning & worth a visit alone. We had the family suite so no complaints about the size of room. It could benefit from a shower attachment in addition to the bath - but I'm sure this is on the cards for future improvements.

The food was very good. We would have had all our meals there if only there was a more extensive menu (fussy eaters in our party!). A few training issues with the very friendly staff - but nothing to spoil our stay.

All in all, we would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anakinWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 448 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2011

Our group stopped for Sunday lunch today and the presentation by the new chef is second to none - just what we need in North Devon. Fabulous food and excellent service. We are locals and experienced problems in the past but will definitely frequent this eating place more regularly now. Well done to the new owners. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doodlelover55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We had the sort of stay that makes you want to tell everyone else - in a very good way. The only thing to fault would be the bathroom which hasn't yet received the refurb but was large and clean nevertheless. Loads of character in the bedroom. Absolutely everything else was wonderful. We had a plentiful and tasty dinner overlooking the pretty gardens and breakfast the next day was an absolute ten out of ten, finishing with toast made from loaves of proper bread. Service was welcoming and faultless. Great value for money. Great location. Great walks. Great toast. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suemikenbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

My Wife and I have stayed over at the Hunters Inn in North Devon on a couple of occasssions, and further to this my parents took me there when i was a child.
I can only say that , firstly due to illness and inclement weather, the owners were extremely helpful and hospitable in allowing us to re-book our stay , at much inconvinience to them im sure, and without further charge or complaint.
Upon our stay, our room [6] was clean, pleasant, well aired, tidy and reminiscent of the charm the old place exudes, beffitting our honeymoon. i dont expect or want the owners and staff constantly wandering in/ out of our room replacing coffee, milk etc every 5 mins , a fact well observed by the staff. if i needed anything i politely asked and it was happily supplied. on our 2nd visit we took along our 2 Cocker Spaniels who were treated well with understanding and respect.
Whilst there some renovation work was underway for which we were given a guided tour of, and apology for in light of any inconvinience, which there wasnt.
The food was good, the breakfast in particular was well received.
The owner seems to have a good understanding of the Hunters Inns heritage and the area in general, and is keen to keep its old magic and charm sadly bereft in many more modern establishments these days. The locals were sociable and knew how to enjoy themselves.
The Hunters Inn to me is befitting of the area it stands in; beautiful, unspoilt , warm and embracing. dog friendly too!! well recommended to anyone adhering to those longed for virtues of taste and individuality.
To those non appreciative of it or its surroundings im sure theres room at the Travellodge, tho i think they too allow dogs.

Room Tip: ROOM 6. QUIET WITH GREAT VIEWS. top floor rooms generally quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidOrton, General Manager at The Hunters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

Thank you so much for your lovely words, it is not always easy to find the balance between refurbishment and original charm, but I'm happy that you felt we have achieved this.
We hope that you can return yet again and enjoy our great Inn and Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Had a wonderful lunch as part of a group of 9 which they handled just fine along with other groups we could see in the restaurant. Wonderful location and the walk to Heddon Mouth and back works up a good appetite. The new chef seems to have hit the ground running with some great new dishes - pickled garlic must be tried and the chips are awesome. I had previously suffered slow service as others have commented before (in our case it was an unexpected rush of diners out of season which swamped the staff) but could not fault things this time. More than just a pub lunch!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

A few of us stopped for lunch during a walk. Staff were friendly and helpful but the food was poor value and £3.50 for a pint of cider is not cheap.
£16.90 for soup and a pie & mash
Shell fish soup was very thin and bland - no evidence of actual shell fish
Lamb & vegetable pie wth ratatouile & mash. The pie was quite dry but tasted OK and dryness would have been compensated if the ratatouile had been more than a "smear" on the plate.

Won't be returning in a hurry

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We were very pleased to be recommended this place, its off the beaten track a little but wow what a location. Walks for the dog and us excellent - plenty of paths to follow and spectacular views. Good location to visit the coastal towns and villages therefore a car a must. Staff very happy, helpful and could not do enough for you, rooms great too. Could not of asked for any more. Thank you Hunters for making our short break a very happy one :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinhoe
0.9 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
987 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
653 reviews
21.1 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heddon's Gate Hotel
Heddon's Gate Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martinhoe
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hunters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hunters Inn

Address: Heddon Valley, Martinhoe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Martinhoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Martinhoe
Price Range: $91 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hunters Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hunters Inn pub is blessed with the most magical setting, tucked at the bottom of the exquisitely beautiful Heddon Valley on Exmoor. The narrow road from the moor descends beneath a canopy of ancient trees. Sun-dappled leaves glitter and gleam. The river runs past the inn and a short walk takes you to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hunters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hunters` Hotel Exmoor National Park
The Hunters Inn Martinhoe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing