We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Martinhoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2010

Have just come back from a short break, this has been the 3rd year we have come to the hotel, we had a fantastic time, hosts, food and rooms were excellent as usual already booked for another short break for 2011, cant wait to go back and see Sam and Huw they just get better each year, well done for all your hard work.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarman42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (980)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

858 - 864 of 980 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2010

Having stayed at this wonderful hotel last July, we couldn't wait to visit again this year and were by no means disappointed. Once again Huw and Sam made us most welcome with their usual warm and friendly greeting. The weather was perfect and we were able to have afternoon tea by the stream in their beautiful garden. Dinner is a real treat as Huw's cuisine is consistenly excellent with locally sourced produce and vegetables from their own veg plot. We can't speak highly enough of this hotel and hope to return many times in the future, it is still 'simply the best'.
Gill and Garry, Kent

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillianlinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a quick get-away around the Devon and Cornwall peninsula. Before our get-away we had just led a large group of our friends around the British Isles on a 12 day cruise. It was a glorious cruise, but we were set to have a little rest and relaxation on our own. The Old Rectory Hotel was our last stop of our four night escape. We could not have had a lovelier climax to our get-away. The hotel is situated in the midst of lush green moors with the traditional flocky-white sheep dotting the meadows. When you arrive, you feel as if the hotel has been waiting for days to greet you. Sam's welcome was so warm and inviting. Our room was the Heddon Suite which was fabulous! It was a very large corner room with windows on two sides which offered a marvelous fresh breeze through the room. One window even opened out to the back yard where the herb and vegetable gardens grow. Huw uses these items in his cooking. The bath was very large with all the modern conveniences and frills, including a huge tub and wonderful shower. Our dinner, prepared by Huw was outstanding! You should make a point to enjoy their cuisine. Sam's breakfast was also grand. They swap out cooking for dinner and breakfast and the other one hosts during the meals. I might add that the walks around the hotel are so relaxing and beautiful. The old church next to the hotel was fascinating to wander around and witness the gravestones that go back hundreds of years. All in all, we could not have had a lovelier place to stay, dine and relax. I only wish we had at least two more nights there. We hated to leave to say the least, but we had a flight to catch back in London. Thank you ever so much, Sam and Huw, for making our stay such a memorable one. We shall return, I am quite sure.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leland55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

After a very busy season at work, I wanted to take my boyfriend away for a relaxing weekend in North Devon. We both love the outdoors and wanted somewhere which was relaxing but with plenty of walks and places to see.

The Hotel itself is located in beautiful surroundings and offers the most amazing scenery and local beaches (Putsborough was our favorite!). The coastal walks were fantastic, and we spend hours out and about exploring the countryside.

Service at the hotel was excellent, very friendly and helpful and really made to feel at home. Rooms were spotless and comfortable. I would highy reccomend booking dinner, bed & breakfast as the homemade cooking is delicious and vegetables are used straight from the garden..perfect.

Will definately be returning, this is the pefrect getaway if you are looking to be spoilt and enjoy the outdoors.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie_hughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

From the moment we arrived, we felt so comfortable. The warmthof the welcome, the comfy rooms, the wonderful food - all just added to the magic of our stay. Huw and Sam are perfect hosts and have a tremendous eye for detail. From the egyptian cotton sheets on the beds to the Riedel glasses for the fine wines - nothing is too much trouble. The setting is magical - very quiet - but with easy access to great coastal walks. The gardens are beautifully maintained and well stocked. Huw is a wonderful chef and makes great use of local produce on their menus - both at breakfast and dinner. We felt well and truly pampered by the end of our stay - and can't wait to return soon.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

I can't fault this hotel. Staying at The Old Rectory was the end of a trip to France/Spain/UK from Australia and it was the absolute highlight of my whole trip. I stayed there with my elderly mother and Huw & Sam made a fuss of her and made us both very welcome. The food, service, rooms etc are excellent and the local area is simply stunning. I shall definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesbingie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

The remote area, the garden, the eclectic decorated house, the magic dinners and most of all the two owners who run the place with professionalism and dedication will catch you in a web of magic you will not be able to escape from.
And what they served were not dinner, but almost of
Unfortunately we stayed there only 2 nights – we have to come back to enjoy this surreal experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marininlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinhoe
4.4 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
628 reviews
13.5 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
879 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
335 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
845 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Hotel

Address: Berry Ground Lane Martinhoe, Martinhoe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Martinhoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Martinhoe
Price Range: $248 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory Hotel is a very special place. A wonderful mix of a stylish boutique country house coupled with an un stuffy relaxed atmosphere. Nestled on the stunning Exmoor coast in North Devon, The Old Rectory Hotel is a haven in which to unwind - no crowds, no traffic; just birdsong and jaw dropping scenery. This is somewhere magical to stop and smell the roses - so if you need to soothe the mind and replenish the soul, you couldn't choose a better place. At The Old Rectory Hotel you'll find the simple things done well; a warm welcome, thoughtful service, fabulous luxury rooms, fantastic local food from Exmoor and North Devon and, of course, an award winning wine list. If you were running away, this is where you would go! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Rectory Hotel
Old Rectory Martinhoe
The Old Rectory Hotel Martinhoe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing