We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just perfect ......exceeded our expectations !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Martinhoe
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull
2 reviews
“Just perfect ......exceeded our expectations !!”
Reviewed September 14, 2009

We chose the Old Rectory for our brief honeymoon, looking for a secluded place after the hulabaloo of our wedding......we got much more.The building itself is beautiful, the accommodation excellent and the attention to detail remarkable. The host Huw and Sam made us feel at home immediately. Huw's cooking was absolutely divine,top cuisine ! We didn't want to leave and will be back !
Marilyn and David

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidandmarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    29
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
758
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2009

A very special weekend, my boyfriend proposed while we were staying here, Huw & Sam helped us to celebrate with their fab hospitality, food and wine. A wonderful peaceful setting and outstanding hospitality. We can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayleyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

We have just returned from a second break at The Old Rectory and will definately make this an annual event. The owners are wonderfully welcoming, the rooms are large and stylish and the coast road to Lynmouth is a wild adventure. Try the rock pools at Lee Bay (visit at low tied and be careful not to be cut off) and if you visit Lynmouth, the walk to the hydro museum followed by cream teas at The Rock House, which also provides really good affordable food and excellent service. Back at The Old Rectory, the room rate is only slightly more than The Rising Sun at Lynmouth, but instead of a tiny, noisy room above the bar you get something very special and management that seems to really enjoy making every visit special. Perfect for couples.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strider09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2009

We spent three nights at this lovely hotel with two other couples. The rooms are beautifully furnished and the food is excellent. Hugh and Sam are great hosts and I'm sure we will be returning. Sheila and Brian from Kent

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian063Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, Hants
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

It's not often that a much looked forward to return visit matches up to expectations but, in the case of the Old Rectory, it was actually even better - partly because we stayed longer this time!....and the food!
Huw and Sam, to us now more friends than merely hosts, looked after us brilliantly. Looking forward to another visit next year sometime.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDPLDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2009

My wife and I were looking for the perfect place to unwind for a long weekend and we were lucky enough to discover the Old Rectory Hotel run by Huw and Sam. We were made to feel welcome and comfortable as soon as we arrived after a long journey. The food was second to none all weekend and the location was just perfect to get away from it all for a while. Huw and Sam's attention to detail in running their hotel cannot be faulted. Hopefully we get to go back one day.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berks
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2009

we have just returned and we had a lovely few days,we liked it so much that we stayed an extra day.Huw and Sam looked after us with wonderful food and good humour.

A little gem

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshladyBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinhoe
4.4 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
521 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
645 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
770 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
476 reviews
3.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Hotel

Property: The Old Rectory Hotel
Address: Berry Ground Lane Martinhoe, Martinhoe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Martinhoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Martinhoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory Hotel is a very special place. A wonderful mix of a stylish boutique country house coupled with an un stuffy relaxed atmosphere. Nestled on the stunning Exmoor coast in North Devon, The Old Rectory Hotel is a haven in which to unwind - no crowds, no traffic; just birdsong and jaw dropping scenery. This is somewhere magical to stop and smell the roses - so if you need to soothe the mind and replenish the soul, you couldn't choose a better place. At The Old Rectory Hotel you'll find the simple things done well; a warm welcome, thoughtful service, fabulous luxury rooms, fantastic local food from Exmoor and North Devon and, of course, an award winning wine list. If you were running away, this is where you would go! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Rectory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Rectory Hotel
Old Rectory Martinhoe
The Old Rectory Hotel Martinhoe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing