We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“April getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Martinhoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Fantastic 4 day break - just what was needed after a long wet Winter.
Had to alter our dates at last minute due to unfortunate circumstances - Huw and Sam were kind enough to accomodate us; nothing was too much trouble for them. Will be returning for more of their generous hospitality!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joehonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldRectoryHotel, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us and thank you for your lovely comments about our changing the dates of your stay at the last minute. It really wasn't a problem and we were pleased to help out at a sad time for you.

We look forward to your next visit. In the meantime, our best wished to you both.

Huw & Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (986)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

559 - 565 of 986 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

excellent location in a beautiful garden, absolutely quiet place, good starting point for hiking and discovery of the costal area, horse riding near by; Hotel with personal touch and very friendly atmosphare

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldRectoryHotel, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

It was a pleasure to welcome you and your family back to Exmoor after 20 years and we are really happy to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful peaceful location as well as the friendly service you received from the team here.

Thank you for reviewing your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

You can't beat Huw and Sam's welcome, combined with the most beautiful scenery and fantastic food. Because it is a small hotel it always feels peaceful and cosy. We chatted to lots of other guests, most of whom were also returning visitors; once you visit The Old Rectory you can't wait to go back! Huw and Sam and the lovely staff at their hotel deserve every success and accolade (and they're winning many). Thank you for another wonderful and relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessicaC81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldRectoryHotel, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Hi Jessica

Our greatest pleasure is to welcome back so many Old Rectorians to the hotel and it was lovely to see you both again last week. We really appreciate the loyalty of so many of our returning guests and it was really good to hear that you enjoyed your stay again with us and enjoyed meeting some of our other guests.

As you so kindly say, we have been fortunate to win a number of presitgious awards this year and we have just heard that we are shortlisted for the national finals of the Visit England Awards for Excellence 2014 - please keep everything crossed for us on May 12th when we will find our the result!

See you soon, we hope

Huw & Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

First rate hotel and accommodation. Beautiful location. Excellent service and very good food. Tea and pre-dinner drinks encourage guests to get to know one another and to kindle a friendly atmosphere within the hotel. So rare to find these days.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldRectoryHotel, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely comments about our wonderful location, service and food. We are delighted that you enjoyed chatting to some of other guests over drinks and afternoon tea.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Huw & Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed at the Old Rectory for two nights. It's tucked away but East to get to and convenient for walking and other visits on Exmoor. The hotel is comfortable and homely, with a warm welcome and great food. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldRectoryHotel, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Delighted that you enjoyed our quiet location and found Martinhoe a great spot from which to explore Exmoor and North Devon.

Thank you for reviewing your stay and your very positive comments about the welcome you received and our food.

Kind regards

Huw & Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed yet another wonderful stay at the Old Rectory. The atmosphere was as tranquil and relaxing as ever. The food gets better and better (it was always excellent) and the owners remain very enthusiastic and thoughtful. Whist we experienced some damp weather, the gardens and walks directly from the hotel are wonderful. If it should rain and you prefer to relax inside, the Orangery is light and very, very comfortable. The rooms are a delight.
All in all a wonderful 4 night stay. We intend returning....regularly!
Thank you Huw and Sam

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank davyboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldRectoryHotel, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

As hoteliers, it is our greatest pleasure to welcome so many Old Rectorians back to the hotel and it was lovely to see you back again this year at the hotel.

We constantly aim to improve the hotel amenities and the service our team offer to all our guests and it is very rewarding for us all to know that you love the new Orangery and that the standard of our food has exceeded your expectations!

Thank you for reviewing your stay and we look are looking forward already to your next visit.

Kind regards to you both

Huw & Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

If you are looking for somewhere to unwind in great company, with food and wine that is absolutely wonderful then this place is for you. Sam, Huw and their team are amazing. The only downside is the time passes too quickly. Fully deserve their recent awards and we will be back very soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldRectoryHotel, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

It was an absolute pleasure and great fun having you to stay last week and we are really flattered by your really lovely review of your stay with us. We love our food and wine and are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed it so much.

We look forward to seeing you both again soon and thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Old Rectory.

Kind regards

Huw & Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinhoe
4.4 mi away
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
663 reviews
8.8 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
394 reviews
20.3 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
784 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
261 reviews
15.3 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Hotel

Address: Berry Ground Lane Martinhoe, Martinhoe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Martinhoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Martinhoe
Price Range: $249 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory Hotel is a very special place. A wonderful mix of a stylish boutique country house coupled with an un stuffy relaxed atmosphere. Nestled on the stunning Exmoor coast in North Devon, The Old Rectory Hotel is a haven in which to unwind - no crowds, no traffic; just birdsong and jaw dropping scenery. This is somewhere magical to stop and smell the roses - so if you need to soothe the mind and replenish the soul, you couldn't choose a better place. At The Old Rectory Hotel you'll find the simple things done well; a warm welcome, thoughtful service, fabulous luxury rooms, fantastic local food from Exmoor and North Devon and, of course, an award winning wine list. If you were running away, this is where you would go! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Rectory Hotel
Old Rectory Martinhoe
The Old Rectory Hotel Martinhoe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing