We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and quiet in a beautiful environment.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Martinhoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The welcome was warm and friendly, we were shown to our room and given a tour of the hotel by Hugh who was a very pleasant chap, the hotel is a absolute delight with gorgeous decor throughout, we had a chance to relax late afternoon and was given afternoon tea and cake. The 4 course evening meal was served in the lovely dining room and was delicious we thoroughly enjoyed our evening.
The bed was very comfortable and our room was bright modern and very clean. We don't have a bad word to say about the old rectory and would Definately go back for another relaxing enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emmajenkins29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (967)
There are newer reviews for The Old Rectory Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

658 - 664 of 967 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

The recent reviews have described everything we experienced ourselves. The hosts were so friendly and you felt welcomed as soon as you arrived. They are the best hoteliers we have met, the hotel, food, surroundings and the absolute tranquility is the best we've stayed at too. Your staff are so nice and attentive too. You have the art of making your guests stay so very special, no wonder people return for more, we Definitely will. We enjoyed staying in a hotel that is suitable for adults (over 14yrs only).
We stayed 3 nights for our 36th Wedding Anniversary. We loved the relaxed unstuffy atmosphere which can at times make you feel uncomfortable. The ambience and attention to detail you create is perfection and we thank you for making our stay such a pleasant one.

Room Tip: we had the balcony room - lovely
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Old Rectory for a 4 night stay to celebrate our Ruby Wedding Anniversary. I had read all the wonderful reviews so was expecting a great place. I was not disappointed! Without sounding OTT I think it is the best place we have ever stayed in and that includes 5 star hotels in Europe. The owners really do treat each guest as a friend and each has an individual welcome. Afternoon tea and homemade cakes, pre-dinner canapes, a very good wine list, a lovely breakfast menu with the most delicious fruit compote I have ever tasted, and there is not enough room on this page to describe the fabulous dinner menu. On top of all this the hotel is in a very quiet spot, near to lovely coastal walks, with a beautiful garden to sit and recover from the walks. We arrived home at lunchtime and I had re-booked a spring break by 3pm!

Room Tip: I would recommend the Heddon Room which is where we stayed, but expect all the others to be very goo...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SussieQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Before I start to comment on this hotel I think it is important to mention how we came across it. We wanted a peaceful few days break, close to the sea but far from the crowds we're used to in bigger hotels. The Old Rectory fitted the bill and we were impressed by previous reviews on tripadvisor.

The fact that the up-to-date satnav in the car didn't have a listing for 'Martinhoe' seemed to suggest we were heading in the right direction if it was peace and quiet we were after. We had travelled up from Cornwall after visiting friends and after a short stop-off at the nearby 'Hunters Inn' for a spot of lunch we made our way up the steep incline towards Martinhoe amazed by the outstanding natural beauty of this location deep in Exmoor (Anyone that still cares to refer to Kent as being 'The Garden of England' is out of touch and needs to head West!!).

Huw was there to meet & greet us, making us feel instantly welcome, and the hotel and gardens looked splendid in the afternoon sunshine before we spent an afternoon admiring the local attractions. If you are a walker, this is the perfect place to stay and recover after a day's hiking through the outstanding local countryside.

Our room was tastefully decorated, very comfortable and affording panaramic views of both the gardens and also the Atlantic ocean in the distance. The meals during our stay were top drawer, quality cooking and superbly presented by Sam and the rest of the staff. All of them were very knowledgable about the food being presented at the table and Huw's (and Sam's!!) cooking was up there with some of the finest hotels we have had the pleasure to stay at.

I couldn't really fault anything at this hotel - location, food, room, service was all of the highest order and all of the attentive staff made us feel very welcome from the minute we arrived. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to friends and family and will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slcLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My new husband and I are on our way home from the most fabulous four day mini moon at The Old Rectory and we suspect there will be insufficient superlatives to describe our stay there.

The setting of this little piece of heaven is breathtaking. The north Devon coast is just beautiful; we're not sure why it's taken us both so long to discover this incredible part of Britain; we know we'll be going back regularly.

The hotel itself is equally as glorious. Our room (Beeches) was elegant and quiet with the comfiest bed in the world and a bathroom full of Molton Brown treats. The gardens and vegetable garden are exquisite, with understated water features babbling quietly away as you enjoy divine afternoon tea brought to you by Huw and Sam, who must be the best hoteliers in all of Europe, if not the world. Their shared passion for what they do is inspirational. From the moment we arrived to the end of our stay, nothing was too much trouble and it was a real pleasure getting to know them whilst enjoying delicious afternoon tea, breakfast and dinner.

As lovers of food and wine, we have been spoilt rotten this week. Breakfasts are beautifully cooked; the bacon in particular is really great. Afternoon cakes are home-made and I'm pretty sure Mary Berry would very much approve. Dinner is marvellous (local crab salads, freshly caught local fish, smoked exmoor venison, divine soups, tender pork, duck, beef...), although there simply was not enough time to try everything we wanted on the wine list. Sam's passion for and knowledge about wine was a real highlight to our stay. He listens and shapes his suggestions excellently, ensuring you get the right glass for your pinot noir/ malbec etc. It's the consistent attention to these little details in a really relaxed environment that has made our week so special.

Not only will we be returning pretty soon (we can't wait!), we will also be telling everyone we know about this absolute gem of a hotel. Thank you to Huw, Sam and your fantastic team for making our minimoon perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJHREH28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We spend 2 nights at the Old Rectory Hotel and loved every minute of it. There's a lot of attention to detail and the location id great for hiking. The tea in the afternoon is a lovely touch as is the pre-dinner aperitif. An excellent choice for a break in the region.

Room Tip: We had the lawn room with a balcony overlooking the exquisite garden, highly recommended.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bettina71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I am not easily pleased, but I arrived as guest and left feeling like a friend. Sounds a bit OTT for me, but it's the only way I can accurately describe.
We stayed for 3 nights to celebrate a birthday and can not fault this hotel in anyway.
Huw & Sam offer something here which we have not found in any hotel before, and I am not sure I can put my finger on what it was that was so different, but other hoteliers have a lot to learn.
Small things like, no check-in mandatory form filling upon arrival, newspapers brought to your breakfast table rather than dumped outside your room door, being addressed like a friend and not a customer or a number, an extensive wine list at prices you didn't feel you were being ripped off with.
The food is excellent, the soups are amazing as is the ice cream which has been selectivley chosen from so many others. The meats are cooked to perfection and we loved the pre-dinner drinks mixing with other guests over a glass of wine which removed formalities and made post dinner coffee and drinks easier in the lounge rather than having to head for bed too early.
Given this was a birthday, with a few surprises, Huw & Sam went out of their way to assist in making this very stress free.
We will be back, and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We chose the Heddon Suite which is a superb double aspect suite over looking the garden and the coac...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinhoe
4.4 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
609 reviews
13.5 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
866 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
333 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
480 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Hotel

Address: Berry Ground Lane Martinhoe, Martinhoe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Martinhoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Martinhoe
Price Range: $246 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory Hotel is a very special place. A wonderful mix of a stylish boutique country house coupled with an un stuffy relaxed atmosphere. Nestled on the stunning Exmoor coast in North Devon, The Old Rectory Hotel is a haven in which to unwind - no crowds, no traffic; just birdsong and jaw dropping scenery. This is somewhere magical to stop and smell the roses - so if you need to soothe the mind and replenish the soul, you couldn't choose a better place. At The Old Rectory Hotel you'll find the simple things done well; a warm welcome, thoughtful service, fabulous luxury rooms, fantastic local food from Exmoor and North Devon and, of course, an award winning wine list. If you were running away, this is where you would go! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Rectory Hotel
Old Rectory Martinhoe
The Old Rectory Hotel Martinhoe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing