We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Anniversary Meal”
Review of The Hunters' Inn

The Hunters' Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Martinhoe
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Manningtree, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Anniversary Meal”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Just want to says a big 'Thank You' for last night's meal
(30/07/2014) at The Hunters Inn. It was my wife and my 20th Wedding
Anniversary and as we were staying in Combe Martin on holiday we took a
chance on a local restaurant and we were not disappointed. A party of 7
ranging from youngsters to older members were well served by the great
service and lovely food which catered for all tastes. The appearance of the
Peacock and Peahen in the garden added to the occasion and made for a great
night. At the end of the evening all that was left for me to do was pay the
bill, which was very reasonable, for a very good restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    72
    26
    19
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Massive disappointment”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

This is a glorious old hunting lodge in a stunning setting near Lynton, Exmoor. Unfortunately the food and service does not match the location quality. Cold beans in a jacket potato (how can you get that wrong, even with a microwave?) and a bacon and brie baguette where both fillings were stone cold. We only ordered baguettes, due to a very limited menu choice, but some came out followed by a 20 minute break while other guests were 'served', and I use that term lightly, then the other meals appeared. Go for the view but give the pub and restaurant a miss as they clearly can't cope with summer trade.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Walshycj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place for a relaxed drink”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We walked to Hunters Inn on the first day of our holiday to discover much of the Inn was booked out for a wedding. Unfortunately the food on offer was very limited, but we were able to get a cream tea and enjoy a chilled atmosphere with pleasant background music. Its in a fantastic location close to Heddon's Mouth so a great place to stop off for refreshments whilst enjoying walking some wonderful scenic walks.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hazel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very friendly landlord”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is in a wonderful location. The staff, especially the landlord are delightful. The food was good and reasonably priced and the service excellent. You can hear some wonderful local gossip at the bar where there seem to be a bunch of locals who congregate each evening and cheerfully complain about everything! Definitely a place to stop if you are walking one of the most beautiful coast paths in Britain or cycling some of the steepest lanes.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location with stunning views. Food was very good and well priced with great service too. Very relaxed place had a coffee enjoyed the wonderful walk and later returned for lunch.

Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hunters' Inn also viewed

Challacombe, Exmoor National Park
Parracombe, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Hunters' Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing