We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly landlord”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hunters' Inn

The Hunters' Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Martinhoe
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very friendly landlord”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is in a wonderful location. The staff, especially the landlord are delightful. The food was good and reasonably priced and the service excellent. You can hear some wonderful local gossip at the bar where there seem to be a bunch of locals who congregate each evening and cheerfully complain about everything! Definitely a place to stop if you are walking one of the most beautiful coast paths in Britain or cycling some of the steepest lanes.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    66
    25
    19
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location with stunning views. Food was very good and well priced with great service too. Very relaxed place had a coffee enjoyed the wonderful walk and later returned for lunch.

Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“stunning location with prices to match”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We decided to have a sandwich lunch before starting on the Heddon Valley walk. The selection was not large but the price was. £17.95 for two sandwiches and two not particularly large coffees. I would expect to pay that price in a central London restaurant or pub, not a small hotel on Exmoor. The food was good but certainly not worth the price.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolynHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

After walking coastal walk from Heddon`s Mouth to Woody Bay we decided to have lunch at Hunter`s Inn, after receiving my dinner i tucked in to find what i thought was a tea bag, i took my dinner to bar to show barman who said that`s not good so also thought was tea bag but on returning told me in a loud voice that the chef said it was a bouquet garni which was removed so i tucked in again to find another bouquet resembling tea bag,i know they are perfectly alright to put with meat but i found it very off putting to be eating my dinner with something which resembled a tea bag.My sister also had one on her plate we then decided we could not eat anymore .Not impressed and will not return.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vera s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleator, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cat in a box????”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

this was maybe once a beautiful hunting lodge but its looking a bit unloved. the architecture is stunning the location is stunning but why stick a horrid marquee/tent outside?
the service was good, the staff were lovely the food excellent but I still can't work out why that lady was allowed to bring her cat into the restaurant (granted it was in a carry case but really a cat in the dining room ewww)
My son is allergic to cats I wasn't armed with allergy pills as I wasn't expecting that! very odd. This was the place we were looking forward to as it came highly recommended - it left us a tad disappointed even though the food was delicious

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hunters' Inn also viewed

Challacombe, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 
Parracombe, Exmoor National Park
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Hunters' Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing