We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick service of good food”

Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Exford
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Exmoor White Horse is the largest of the main eating places in Exford with plenty of seating, although it can get very busy at times. There is a choice of Restaurant or Bar menus and the bar has a wide selection of drinks to excite all palettes and dispositions. We eat from the Bar menu which offered a wide choice. My Venison pie was filled to the brim of succulent chunks of meat and was just wonderful. Children's food was good and wife's Fish and Chips were ok, although not the best she has had. However overall I have eaten here before and would happily eat here again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PoliteEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for all your comments and we really hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 197 of 263 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

We enjoyed the Bar section ONLY on 3 occasions and had 6 diffrent meals. The menu offers a wide choice, the prices are reasonable and the dish sizes were above average. The quality of the food was very good. The bar staff were very friendly and cooperative (they have free WiFi).
The Inn was popular with groups whilst we were there and when we spoke with some guests they conveyed that the restuarant was very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KirraMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank You. We strive to offer excellent food, service and hospitality, in the hotel, bar and restaurant. The choice of Bar Food and Restaurant enables us to cater for differing tastes but all produced and served to the same high quality.

We really hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I met some friends here for lunch on a sunny Tuesday. We sat at one of the tables overlooking the river and it was really enjoyable. There is an extensive menu and a good choice of beers.

My friends had the ploughman's and the pork baguette, both enjoyable. They forgot to order a portion of chips and when they went in to get some, they came out very quickly to join their meal. I had the scampi and chips. Good pub grub, chips were proper pub chips.

The service was fast and efficient, no complaints there.

I only give an average as well, it was good pub grub, good service but nothing outstanding. A lovely place to sit and chat though whilst having a beer and eating dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TinyKitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We pride ourselves on both our hospitality and service, both of which we are pleased to see you appreciated. We hope to welcome you back again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

we called in to The White Horse this evening after a wonderful day around Exmoor and were looking for somewhere to have a meal to finish the day off.It advertised food served all day.We picked what we wanted to eat off the menu and went up to the bar.The barman wandered around the corner and looked at us....eventually asking us if we wanted something.we said we wanted to order food and drinks,he told us that we couldn't order food until six( it was ten-to)but asked what we wanted to drink.We sat down to wait with our drinks as we did not mind waiting until six to order our food, and returned to the bar at six to place our order.The barman completely ignored two of us at the bar while he chatted to another male member of staff and wandered about past us. As we were the only customers in the bar area we felt that this was completely rude and ignorant.We waited a while but it was obvious as he went to the other side of the bar that he didn't want to serve us. We left our drinks on the table and left the pub..We headed to challacombe and went to The Black Venus where we were warmly greeted and made to feel welcome,the food and service were fantastic and maybe the White Horse staff could learn a thing or two about hospitality and manners from the wonderful staff at The Black Venus.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank anniechap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

We cannot apologise enough for the way you were treated during your recent visit, it is totally unacceptable and is not the way we expect our staff to act towards our customers. Unfortunately we are not sure of exactly when you visited as no day is mentioned and so we are unable to pinpoint the exact member of staff concerned, but rest assured, all members of staff will be made aware of your review.
Whilst not making any excuses, 6pm is our staff changeover time for Bar staff and we can only hope that what you experienced was two members of staff handing over to each other rather than actually deliberately ignoring you, although we can appreciate exactly how you felt. We only wish you could have brought it to the attention of the Receptionist and it would have been dealt with straight away. We place great importance on our hospitality and do not like any customer to leave here dissatisfied in any way so please, once more, accept our sincere apologies for the behaviour that you experienced, it definitely is not the norm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We ate here on the 14th May, one meal was ok-ish, pork medallions in sauce. The meat was average, but carrots looked old and peas were over cooked. My partner chose sweet and sour pork, he ate one mouthful and left the rest. The pork was fatty and veiny and looked horrid, anyone preparing this dish for themselves would have chucked the meat away. Various members of staff walked by and not one of them asked our how food was and they must have noticed the full plate of food? We arent overly fussy, but I would have taken the meat straight back to where I bought it from. We left without seen a single member if staff and went for dessert at the " rest and be thankful" at Wheddon Cross, which was lovely. We are regular visitors to Exmoor but will not be visiting or recommending The Exmoor White Horse Inn.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cornwall111Truro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

We were dismayed to read your comments and only wish you had contacted a member of staff at the time to relay your disappointment so that we could have rectified the problem at the time. As you were no doubt aware, it was an extremely busy time here with The Golden Horseshoe Ride taking place, and so we are surprised that, if as you stated, your meals were not up to standard, that we did not receive any other complaints as the dishes you chose were both very popular that day. Whilst being busy is not an excuse it is possibly one of the reasons that a member of staff did not speak to you regarding your "full plates", but saying that, there really was nothing stopping you pulling a member of staff to one side and raising your concerns, I know I personally would have in your situation. Whilst we do realise that we cannot please everyone all of the time, we do not like the thought of anyone leaving here dissatisfied, and therefore if you would care to make personal contact with myself we will be more than happy to go some way to recompensing you for your poor experience. We wait to hear from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn also viewed

Exford, Exmoor National Park
Withypool, Exmoor National Park
 
Withypool, Exmoor National Park
Winsford, Exmoor National Park
 
Wheddon Cross, Exmoor National Park
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing