We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good food with a warm welcome”

Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Exford
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Ate here twice during a stay in the village and was not disappointed at all. The Curry night was your standard fair at good value. Nice taste to the food, delivered quickly and at a great price with no bells or whistles. The carvery was a decent enough standard with pretty good beef (unfortunately, the only meat available, although 3 were advertised). vegetables were all pretty decent, with the chantenay carrots and gravy a real hit. This one probably would have been a Very Good review had there been an apology regarding only one meat being offered. All together, a pretty reliable, you get what you pay for place.

Thank Pelmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

We can only apologise that there was no selection of meat left when you visited but Chef's Traditional Carvery is very popular with both locals and visitors alike and tends to go very fast, so bookings are always advisable. We hope to be able to welcome you back to a better selection in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 212 of 267 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

A little pricey, but excellent service in a nice setting and great food. A nice ploace for that special occasion.

Thank Mike941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

We pride ourselves on offering excellent service, hospitality and value for money. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This village hostelry is renowned for its specials nights during the week - it is my aim to work my way through all of them on my trips to Exford! So far I have managed pie night and curry night!

On my latest trip I indulged in their curry evening - I am a typical Brit and hate food that blows my head off. The White Horse's Turkey korma was perfect - creamy, well seasoned and served with a generous naan bread and a portion of basmati rice. All for the stunning price of £8.95. Great food at a great price.

The staff are friendly with both locals and the transient population of visitors that make up the clientèle. Highly recommended for good value, home cooked food when staying on Exmoor.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ClaireWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank You! We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy the rest of our weekly specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were staying in the area,and didn't really fancy cooking so set out in search of some good 'pub grub'. When we saw the White Horse Inn we were quite pleased with ourselves,it is in a lovely location and is very impressive and rather welcoming from the outside. We sat at a table by the fire, looked at the menu, which had a decent amount of choice on it. We ordered our food and it was brought to us in a reasonable amount of time. I had cod in beer batter and mushy peas, it was inedible, I had one bite, and left the rest. It was overcooked and greasy at the same time. The mushy peas were jellified and I suspect they had been left for quite a while under warming lights. My daughter tried to eat her meal, but gave up, when cutting it, one piece flew off the plate across to the other table! It was also very overcooked. In fairness my sons burger was good, but the other two meals were average, with the sausage bacon and egg, also being very overcooked. We did tell someone initially about the fish, he said oh, ok, and that was the last we heard of it. So we left, full plates, empty tummies.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Delightmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Please accept our apologies for the disappointment you experienced during your recent meal here at The Exmoor White Horse Inn. As we are sure you must realise from previous reviews, your experience is definitely not the norm and we hate anyone to leave here dissatisfied in any way. We can only apologise again that this was not brought to our attention because had it been you can rest assured that we would have done our utmost to ensure that the whole situation was rectified straight away.
Whilst we appreciate that apologies cannot make up for your disappointment please be assured that we are genuinely sorry .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We discovered the excellent Sunday carvery at the White Horse with some friends years ago. Over the years we have always made a point of having our Sunday lunch here when we're in the area. If you go for the 3 course I advise that you skip breakfast! There are always at least three choices of meat and the stuffing is a 'one off' not to be missed off the plate. Given the price for some of the general pub meals in the area at £8 something the carvery as a bar meal is very good value and thoroughly recommended although the three course in the restaurant is more expensive but still excellent value and a belly buster at that!

Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments, it is very much appreciated and we love to hear from returning customers who are all very important to us and we really appreciate your ongoing support. We have many customers who also adore Chef's Homemade Stuffing - one of his most secret and guarded recipes which make our Sunday Carvery so popular! We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn also viewed

Exford, Exmoor National Park
Withypool, Exmoor National Park
 
Winsford, Exmoor National Park
Withypool, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing