We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ambience, good food, good price”

Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Exford
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Lovely old Pub in centre of village with lots of character although the restaurant room is a bit 'sterile' and devoid of atmosphere. Rest of pub great and friendly, quick and helpful staff. We enjoyed our meal and will visit again

Thank babs-4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you, and we look forward to you visiting again soon. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 218 of 258 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

Went to the restaurant, very friendly staff, however the food and speed of service was disappointing. Firstly, having sat down we were told the extensive list of food that was no longer available (avacados were too hard, then the salmon, trout, goats cheese and cheesecake were all off). I ordered steak and my wife monkfish with a side order of chips. Having waited quite a long time the mains turned up, but not the chips for the steak, the side order of chips or the tartare sauce, having waited we reminded the waiter and eventually got one order of chips. The food was at best average, the steak fairly tough, the fish bland and the tartare sauce tasted like a packet sauce. However the chive mash was lovely and the waiter was very friendly and apologetic for the speed of service.
The following day we decided to eat in the bar instead, this time ordering a steak and ale pie and a venison pie. Both were delivered quickly, were very good and were cheaper than the equivalent in the restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank McDencho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for all your comments which have been passed on to the relevant department. We do apologise for the time that you waited for your meal in the restaurant but we do make it clear on all our menus that all food is cooked fresh to order and at our peak times there can be up to 30mins delay in getting food out to tables

With regards to your comments on the price difference between restaurant and bar food we are sure you can appreciate that this is always going to be the case, with the restaurant offering a 5 Course Dinner with waitress service.

We also appreciate how annoying it is when the item you have selected is not available but we have no way of being able to judge the demand for certain items but we do ensure that there is always a large selection to chose from. As far as the Avocado was concerned we felt we were doing the right thing by taking them off as they were not ripe, which we felt was the better option to people complaining about them when they were served. As much as we try we cannot please everyone all of the time but we really do try our best to put the customers needs first.

We pride ourselves on our service and hospitality and hate the thought of anyone leaving here disappointed. We really hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The Restaurant at the White Horse has a varied menu, the food is well prepared and the service is good. If tempted to visit Exmoor find somewhere else to stay though, the hotel is poor.

Thank BeBeTheCatUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Whilst we appreciate your kind comments on the food we find your comments on the hotel unacceptable and have thoroughly answered the review you left on the Exmoor White Horse Inn Hotel review page.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Our party had a starter (fishcake was delicious) and main each (we had salmon, chicken, tipsy pheasant and duck with orange sauce). My duck was definitely the winner!! Delicious. All served with vegs. Bread rolls were offered in the beginning. Our French waiter was a star! Thank you for lovely service!

Thank Iryna1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you. We do try to offer a wide selection of food to cater for everyone, and whilst we appreciate that everyone's expectations are different, it is really nice to hear that we succeeded! We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us here at The Exmoor White Horse and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The carvery was very busy at Sunday lunchtime and well patronised by locals - always a good sign. Choice of roast pork, beef or venison (or mixture). Vegetables good but not exceptional, have had better - roast potatoes were nice and crispy. Cost was under £9 per person and good value. The bar has 150 malt whiskies!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GreyfoxSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you for your comments. Our traditional Sunday Carvery is always popular, with local Roast Venison, one of Chef's specialities, being very popular with locals and visitors alike. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn also viewed

Exford, Exmoor National Park
Withypool, Exmoor National Park
 
Winsford, Exmoor National Park
Withypool, Exmoor National Park
 
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
Wheddon Cross, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing