We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuinely a village-pub-with-rooms feel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Exmoor White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Exford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed for two nights as two couples. We thought our room was small, but our friends' room was smaller, however in good order with good quality bed linen and thick, generously sized towels. The beds are small and very firm. It was busy when we stayed which put pressure on lounge space to meet in as a four. When we could sit outside, it was very pleasant and we became involved in the cricket club's duck race (we didn't win). The beers (I'm told) were good but any wine by the glass had to be chosen from a very poor list which seemed like a missed opportunity. The staff we came across were very friendly, approachable and knowledgeable about the area and places of interest. We were served a very lovely cream tea on one of our afternoons, so all in all a very pleasant stay was enjoyed by us.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Discerning_Diner_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Thank you. With regards to Wine by the Glass, although the selection might seem limited you can rest assured that they are quality wines which are more than amply backed up by our extensive Wine List for Bottled Wine, as we take great pride in offering a very extensive and quality bottled wine list. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
There are newer reviews for Exmoor White Horse Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 486 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this lovely hotel. The bedroom was lovely & big with a very comfortable bed and views out from the front of the hotel. Sneaked a look into their Honeymoon Room which was being renovated - definitely try to book that one next time, it looked delightful! Staff were very friendly and knowledgable about the area, happy to chat rather than rush off like some do. Had an enjoyable cream tea sitting by the river, it was great just to watch the world go by and so quiet too, I think the beautiful weather also helped! Only had one evening meal at the hotel which was delicious, good portions & fresh ingredients. As we'd booked through Secret Escapes received a free good quality bottle of wine, would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank baggybaghurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Thank you. all of you comments are much appreciated. We treat all of our guests as we would hope to be treated ourselves and take great pleasure in getting to know them, its all part of the true Exmoor Hospitality that we pride ourselves on.. We hope to welcome you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Our family was staying at nearby Westermill Farm and had various meals in the White Horse bar. Fab service, very reasonable prices, scrumptious food, thoughtful children's menu and not too mean to serve bowls of excellent chips at lunch time.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
Thank 132cristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Your comments are much appreciated. We aim to provide value for money and truly value all our customers, bar, food, restaurant and hotel and we pride ourselves on offering a quality service at reasonable prices right across all the various area. We hope to welcome you back when you are next on Exmoor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Family with teenager, had a great time at the White Horse Inn, Exmoor. Pete & Linda Hendrie and their team made our stay very enjoyable. The food was well presented and of good quality and the waiting staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was large and comfortable with nice view over the village. The Inn was charming and comfortable with lovely country house style. Enjoyed delicious cream teas next to the river outside the Inn and took very informative "Exmoor Safari" and also explored the area ourselves - everyone was satisfied!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MBrist0l2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

It is reviews such as this that make us realise what we set out daily to try to achieve is all worthwhile. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Stayed at this lovely hotel for two nights, found the staff to be very helpful and nothing was too much trouble, the breakfast was excellent and the one meal we had there was good quality and well presented. I would recommend this hotel if you want to just get away and relax in a very quiet part of the country and yet not too far away from the coast if you want to do something a little more lively. Would stay there again if we were to go to this part of the country another time.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Toffedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Thank you, and we so hope that you do pay us a return visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We called in to the white horse as it looked very inviting. Thursday night was pie night my wife selected the trawlerman pie (fish) not very tasty and a few bones I had the beef and ale not the best I'd had some of the meat tough although ample we compared to a school meal I can't recommend the food as there is far better in the area. Try the Bridge Dulverton their fish pie excellent .

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Veronica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Whilst we appreciate that everyone's tastes are different we can categorically state that our food is of a high quality even if it was not to your personal taste. We are always skeptical when people use this forum to criticise one business whilst naming another, something we would never encourage any of our guests or customers to do. As previously stated, your tastes are obviously not ours, as the saying goes, "one mans home is another mans castle".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

When we arrived at the White Horse Inn the hotel looked lovely. Unfortunately our room was not in the main hotel but in a separate lodge which contained about six rooms. The room we were given (room 32) looked directly onto a car park, with often a car parked directly outside the window as we were on the ground floor. The room was very small but that in itself would not have been a problem. Apart from that the staff were helpful at all times and the food was good. The hotel is situated in a great location to explore the area. Still waiting a response to the Guest Survey. Don't let this put you off the hotel but make sure you are not in room 32.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank EdwardWarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Please accept our apologies for not replying to your room questionnaire, if requested we always do but we were unaware of your wishes. We do however, always take note of comments made and suggestions put forward, we really do appreciate all customer feedback, that is the reasoning behind our Room Questionnaires. Whilst we appreciate that Room 32 is not the biggest of rooms it is furnished and decorated to the same high standards as all of our rooms and is a room that has proved very popular for people who are unable to negotiate stairs etc. The size of the room is reflected into the room category that it falls, and this is always indicated at the point of booking. Rest assured however that we do have larger rooms, both in The Lodge and the main Hotel and we hope to be able to be given the chance to welcome you back where you will be able to experience one of our larger rooms that fall into either the Luxury or Superior category of room types.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exford
9.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
725 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
181 reviews
14.1 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
337 reviews
4.9 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
143 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exmoor White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exmoor White Horse Inn

Address: Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Exford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Exford
Price Range: $149 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Exmoor White Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the scenic beauty of Exmoor National Park, this family run, historic coaching Inn offers luxury accommodation, free Wi-Fi, free parking, and is just 10 miles from both Minehead and the West Somerset and North Devon Coast. Dating back to the 16th Century, the Exmoor White Horse Inn is wreathed in Virginia Creeper ivy and sits majestically by a bridge over the River Exe. Oozing with rustic charm, the Inn celebrates the wonders of its historic past whilst providing a contemporary and sophisticated accommodation experience. Classic period features blend seamlessly with sumptuous soft furnishings and chic interiors to form an idyllic welcoming atmosphere in this spectacular part of the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Exmoor White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor White Horse Hotel Exford
Exmoor White Horse Exford
Exmoor White Horse Inn Exford, Exmoor National Park, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing