We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Exmoor White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Exford
Certificate of Excellence
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Two night stay on a first visit to return to the area of my wife's birth. Classic English hotel with much character. Greeted with a smile and welcome at reception this set the tone for a lovely visit. We were in the lodge which was initially disappointing until we opened the door to our room which was very spacious and decorated to a very high standard with lovely big bay windows. We ate first night in the restaurant which was nice and homely with good quality food. Second night in the bar, which was more basic but wholesome. Breakfast both days was good. As always staff make a hotel and the hard work and enthusiasm of the staff could not be faulted. The village itself is a bit limited but, hey, you are in Dartmoor and this is God's own country (my wife came from here after all) to by explored and enjoyed. I'd happily return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Highexpectati0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We appreciate your comments and are so pleased to hear that Exmoor has made you want to return. We hope to see you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    120
    52
    18
    11
See reviews for
70
284
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Fantastic old charmer..ivy clad beautiful setting, staff attentive and this was just for lunch! Great to sit outside by the bridge and gently bubbling stream, no doubt a raging torrent in winter! We had the best venison sandwiches I have ever eaten. Would love to stay here in the winter, I bet it is going to be very good. I shall put another review on when I do manage to stay.

Room Tip: As I did not stay this time I cannot comment, but can't wait to do so!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eggybreadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We would love to be able to welcome you back to stay with us here at The Exmoor White Horse Inn where you would be able to explore Exmoor and all that it has to offer.
We hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

My partner and I enjoyed a lovely 3 night stay in this hotel which sits in a very pretty village.
There was some confusion with our room when we arrived but this was sorted out and we were very happy with the second room we were given, the hotel is very clean and the breakfast is fantastic very good quality and plenty of it. We found all the staff to be very friendly and were given great advice from Peter and Vince on places to go and visit which tuned out to be invaluable we took our pet beagle who was made to feel as welcome as we were. Thank you for a much needed break.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you so much for all your comments, all of which will be passed on to the relevant members of staff.
We really do appreciate you taking the time to leave your review.. So pleased to hear that you had such a good stay here at the Exmoor White Horse Inn, we value all our customers, past and present, and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
308 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We booked this hotel for 2 nights with Secretescapes.com but we arranged a third night with the Hotel on the same basis. They (Daphne) had pre allocated us room 37 in the lodge after hearing our preferences. This was an excellent choice and we loved this room and would ask for this room again as we hope to return. This Inn is rated 3 star and from our experiences certainly achieves this and in some aspects a higher rating. It is difficult to compare hotel ratings as there are always plus and minuses.
We were shown the room on arrival and it was very hot. I was surprised that one of the two windows would not open and the outside glass panes were partially covered with cobwebs. We asked for someone to come and get the window open but after some struggling and lifting the locking catch shifted and we got the window open. The room and bathroom very pleasant and with a very comfortable bed. Wi fi works extremely well and fast, good thing as no mobile connection from O2. I was somewhat surprised that the shampoo in the bathroom was the leftovers in the bottle from the previous guest ! Clean windows are important and it only took my wife a few seconds to put that right.
All the staff, including Peter were really excellent in every way and this was from arrival until we left. The breakfast staff really give the day a good start The Old boy! (getting my own back) gave us some excellent tips over breakfast and he was well supported by the other staff, especially the newest Polish girl who I am sure will be a great asset. Peter was always there as well. Excellent teamwork.
The cooked breakfast just excellent, especially the bacon and the sausages (local produce and very well cooked). I think for those who like a continental breakfast and not a cooked one, probably in the minority could be catered for with a better choice, although it does mention ham and cheese on the menu.
Overall though with everything the breakfast was excellent and there was no problem in ordering poached eggs (we have had this refused in a five star hotel!).
The Sunday Carvery is extremely popular and again very high quality.
The Bar menu which is all day and evening is one of the best we have come across and suited us fine. We had all our meals there, sitting outside by the river. Service again excellent. The staff were as helpful as possible. I was surprised though when a French couple had their food delivered to them at the table next to us by the river and when the guy asked for mustard in a very polite way he was abruptly told by the older waiter to go and get it at the bar. All the other waiters were only too happy to do this task. Small points like this can make all the difference.
The location of the hotel is perfect for touring Exmoor and Peter and the staff really put themselves out to explain what is available and give their advice. Book the Exmoor Safari and excellent half day landrover experience. Bring your binoculars, we left ours behind but Peter loaned these to us.
The weather for the 4 days we were there was perfect and of course this puts everything into a good light. Breakfast is at 8am and we found that fine especially as we had such a good nights sleep, with the windows wide open!
The complimentary cream tea on arrival was great, and the cream and scones some of the best we have had, but this went for all the food.
These days I would prefer a walk-in shower as opposed to a bath or a shower within a bath. I cannot remember the last time I had a bath. The shower was ok though but the space was limited, but then the present layouts come with that time period.
A beautiful area and if you have the book Shortish walks on Exmoor you have an abundance of walks to do. The Hotel also has details of 9 walks from the hotel.
we look forward to going back.

Room Tip: We prefer the lodge. We had Room 37 which is upstairs and has a large bed, similar to a King size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2014

My wife booked a weekend for us in the heart of Exmoor to celebrate my 40th. We got the third night free with the booking for Friday and Saturday and for a small fee we could bring our dog which was great for our intended walking. The hotel was dog friendly and they bent over backwards to cater whilst keeping some areas dog free.
Firstly the location was oustanding. We walked all weekend and never went near the car. The owner, Peter was very helpful and recommended extra routes for us to take and we heard him give similar advice to non walkers alike. In fact nearly all the staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay.
The room was comfortable with a large bed and all the facilities we would have wanted. Very clean too.
The breakfast buffet was excellent and set us up for the day's walking and the carvery of a good standard, excellent value and obviously popular. I am surprised by other reviews on this site as the food was generally good. We ate outside by the river every night from the bar menu. There was plenty of choice and the puddings home made.
I would like to thank Peter and his team for our stay and whilst we can not guarantee a return, if we ciuld we would!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to leave your review and hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

This hotel is in the heart of Exmoor but not far from other towns like Minehead and Taunton and other smaller places.It was just a quick weekend away for us and what a surprise lovely staff nice and clean accommodation good food really restful and peaceful. Just what we needed. Trish

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trishbur12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

We hope you will return to experience more of what The Exmoor White Horse Inn has to offer and explore our wonderful surroundings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dursley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Visited the white horse after our meal in the Crown both in Exford the staff were friendly but the real gem is the Malt corner I have never seen so much Whisky and whiskey in one small place styles brands and prices for all. I went for a Bruichladdich black art wonderful whisky nice to find it by the glass as it's bottle price is one a wouldn't pay. A definite treat and I will be back to sample some more.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank You. The Malt Corner is one of our gems, a real pride and joy of The Exmoor White Horse. We look forward to you sampling a few more!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exford
9.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
676 reviews
14.1 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
560 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
139 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
320 reviews
6.1 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exmoor White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exmoor White Horse Inn

Property: Exmoor White Horse Inn
Address: Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Exford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Exford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Exmoor White Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the scenic beauty of Exmoor National Park, this family run, historic coaching Inn offers luxury accommodation, free Wi-Fi, free parking, and is just 10 miles from both Minehead and the West Somerset and North Devon Coast. Dating back to the 16th Century, the Exmoor White Horse Inn is wreathed in Virginia Creeper ivy and sits majestically by a bridge over the River Exe. Oozing with rustic charm, the Inn celebrates the wonders of its historic past whilst providing a contemporary and sophisticated accommodation experience. Classic period features blend seamlessly with sumptuous soft furnishings and chic interiors to form an idyllic welcoming atmosphere in this spectacular part of the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Exmoor White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor White Horse Hotel Exford
Exmoor White Horse Exford
Exmoor White Horse Inn Exford, Exmoor National Park, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing