We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Exmoor White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Exford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We recently stayed for the weekend with our 3 children to explore the area & do the Exmoor Landrover safari. It is a fantastic hotel, very welcoming, superb food, comfortable rooms etc etc. The view from our window overlooking the green was lovely & the family room was huge! We were made very welcome, the French waiter at breakfast was fab & great with the children :) it was lovely to see the owner's photography adorning the walls too. All in all, a fantastic hotel in a charming location with amazing scenery a short drive away. We must've seen about 150 red deer on our safari too!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GLPJ62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

What more can we say but "Thank You" and please return soon. The Exmoor White Horse Inn and Exmoor itself has so much to offer that one visit can never be enough!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 504 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed here recently for a photography course over a weekend. Great welcome from Emma which set the tone for the weekend. This is a lovely inn next to a river in the heart of Exford, with some wonderful surrounding countryside. I had no problems parking, but I can imagine that it can get busy at times and the car park is relatively small.

Lovely large room with a four poster bed and a nice view out of the front of the hotel - had requested a room on first floor due to mobility and this had been arranged. Bed was very comfortable. Good quality linen and towels, nice hospitality tray - even with biscuits! Bathroom was of a good size. All spotlessly clean and serviced daily with everything one could need.

Food was fab! Lots of choice and all very well prepared and served, both in the restaurant and the bar.

All staff were excellent - polite, friendly and helpful. Very well looked after and Peter is a great host. The ambience is enhanced by Peter's beautiful photographs on display in the public rooms.

Thank you - I'd love to return one day!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zebedee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Thank you so much and we really hope that you return soon as well, no better place to photograph than stunning Exmoor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here with our dog for our wedding anniversary. Our room was large with a wonderful view out of the front of the hotel. The room was ideal if you have a dog as there was a staircase leading down to the back of the hotel from right outside the room - no need to go traipsing along the corridor first thing in the morning.
There was plenty of hot water for a shower each morning, although we did hear the guy in the room next door singing in his bath one morning!
The staff were all very friendly and welcoming, making it a very relaxing break. We particularly enjoyed sitting in the cosy lounge with the logburner lit. We did try to play some of the games in the lounge (cards and board games), but there were several missing pieces/cards, so settled for reading our books and the magazines instead.
We ate in the bar a couple of times and found the food variable - the traditional 'pub grub' type food seemed to be the best - the chips were lovely, but I didn't enjoy the garlic mushrooms at all. The breakfasts were tasty - a good start to the day.
We would definitely stay here again - we were made very welcome and so was our dog.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CornishEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

We really looking forward to welcoming you back to The Exmoor White Horse Inn for a return visit in the not too distant future when you will be able to experience more of our Exmoor hospitality. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and we are now off to the lounge to see if we can find the missing pieces and cards to the games sets. Thanks for letting us know!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Haven't visited for a while, however with Pete still running this hotel; your stay will be faultless. Some WONDERFUL local characters in the bar. Fantastic food both in the restaurant and bar. Lovely rooms...my dog always welcome. Just a great place to stay especially if your interested in your country pursuits.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandylh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you so much. It is really nice to welcome back old friends, as well as new ones. We really hope we will see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My husband and I were on a short break in the area and happened to come across this nice looking Inn. I noticed the certificate of excellence for 2013 from trip advisor, so was expecting good things. The menu looked good and we both ordered the exmoor venison pie. When it came the presentation was poor. The pie was a very generous but not very hot 'cereal bowl' full of obviously microwaved venison pie with a lump of pastry on top. I had chips with mine (which were very nice) but my husband had new potatoes which were reheated. It was very quiet so wouldn't have thought that fresh potatoes was too much to ask. The vegetables were a rather strange mix of what looked like tinned carrots and 'fresh' carrots that looked like they had been peeled in a potato peeler without much success as they were still dirty. All mixed in with a few peas. We will definitely not be returning which is a shame as it looks so nice and is in a lovely location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
7  Thank Paigntonlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Please accept our sincere apologies for your recent experience here at The Exmoor White Horse Inn. This is just simply not acceptable, either to yourselves or to us, and the staff on duty that day have been spoken to and all your comments have been acted on. We can assure you that this is not the norm and we would love to be able to welcome you back in the future for you to be able to experience the true Exmoor White Horse Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was the first time that we have spent Christmas in a hotel, we went on the recommendation of friends who have been before and were also staying. We had a fantastic time the room was spacious and comfortable, there were chocolates, wine and a calendar in the room as a welcome pack. We gathered outside on Christmas Eve for Carol Singing with Mulled Wine and mince pies. The food was excellent and plentiful, Father Christmas joined us at breakfast on Christmas Day and we were all given a quality Christmas present. Our friends have a dog so we were able to take advantage of the many walks and enjoy the countryside. The staff were friendly, cheerful and looked after us very well. Thank you !!!

We enjoyed our time so much that we and our friends have booked for 2014.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HH44648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

We are so pleased to hear that The Exmoor White Horse Inn festive celebrations lived up to expectations and we are thrilled that you will be returning this year as well! We are already nearly 3/4 full for Christmas 2014 and that really makes us feel that all the hard work that goes into Christmas and New Year celebrations is truly worthwhile. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back. Happy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My husband myself and my elderly Uncle have spent the most wonderful Christmas at the Exford White Horse. All the staff are very attentive but special thanks to the lovely Vincent and Mark who are always so cheerful and helpful. Peter and Linda made the whole Christmas so special with lovely touches like sweets and wine in the bedroom and a beautiful Christmas present from Santa!
We enjoyed the breakfasts and dinners were great. We have been before and never had a bad stay and have booked for next Christmas!
We stayed this time in the Lodge and we were very happy with our rooms.
Well done everybody!

Room Tip: The rooms in the Lodge have better Wi-Fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you. Another fantastic Christmas this year here at The Exmoor White Horse Inn where we had the pleasure of welcoming guests new and old, made extra special by those returning guests who make the whole thing feel like a real family occasion. The number of people already booked to return next year has made it even more special. A huge thank to you to all, we wish you all a Happy, healthy and prosperous 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exford
9.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
764 reviews
14.1 mi away
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
653 reviews
5 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
147 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
186 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exmoor White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exmoor White Horse Inn

Address: Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Exford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Exford
Price Range: $132 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Exmoor White Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the scenic beauty of Exmoor National Park, this family run, historic coaching Inn offers luxury accommodation, free Wi-Fi, free parking, and is just 10 miles from both Minehead and the West Somerset and North Devon Coast. Dating back to the 16th Century, the Exmoor White Horse Inn is wreathed in Virginia Creeper ivy and sits majestically by a bridge over the River Exe. Oozing with rustic charm, the Inn celebrates the wonders of its historic past whilst providing a contemporary and sophisticated accommodation experience. Classic period features blend seamlessly with sumptuous soft furnishings and chic interiors to form an idyllic welcoming atmosphere in this spectacular part of the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Exmoor White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor White Horse Hotel Exford
Exmoor White Horse Exford
Exmoor White Horse Inn Exford, Exmoor National Park, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing