We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Exmoor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Exmoor White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Exford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very friendly family run hotel in the heart of Exmoor and extremely convenience to reach all the other parts of the area. The room was very comforter ball and more than adequate however I would suggest some attention is given to the shower as the water temperature was very variable.
One word of advice is that as there is no lift there is quite a distance along corridors and stairs to get to certain rooms especially with large luggage and this and would not be suitable for disabled people however there is an annex available for people with difficulties
The food in the restaurant was very good and interesting and I would certainly recommend drinking glasses of the house wine wines that were available they were very good
Very nice friendly bar plenty of room to park and I would recommend a room overlooking the river and bridge if you're not worried about listening to water all night

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and we really hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 508 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

Seven of us stopped here on our way back from a camping weekend in the Doone Valley.The inn was very busy with most tables reserved. The kind gentleman carving meat took time to find us tables and push them together. Everything about this place was excellent! Such friendly helpful staff and a fantastic sunday lunch, with pork, beef and venison. How lovely to have real roast potatoes not horrible frozen ones!!! On top of that such a reasonable price. Well done The White Horse Inn!! We will definately make this our route home every time now. Just a shame we couldn't fit in a pudding because they looked yummy as well

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janice s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you so much. Chef remembers your group well and really appreciated all your comments. Chef prides himself on his traditional Sunday Carvery and hopes to welcome you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

What could be nicer than a Ploughman's lunch outside by the river? The food was excellent and plenty of it. We were even fortunate with the weather as the sun shone. A lovely spot, great food, friendy people. Will definitely revisit and may even stay sometime. Terrific!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

We would love to be able to welcome you back to stay with us here at The Exmoor White Horse Inn where you would be able to explore Exmoor and all that it has to offer. We hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Spent the week in a lovely cottage in exford 23/09/13. 30/09/13.
We used this lovely pub 5 times for meals and lunch time drinks by the river.
Feeding the fish with bread and that "1" duck who would go away until she was fed.
If there is a better place than this, then some one tell me " i think not".
Top marks to the staff,we will see you all very soon late november.
A very big thank you

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilgalloway022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Exmoor White Horse Inn in November, its not far off now!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The White Horse Inn is, in my humble opinion, the quintessential small country hotel in a pretty village setting, where time seems to slow and the pace of life feels like you really have escaped from the daily grind and the constant rat race. Our room (Dipper) overlooked the Green and was very quiet and peaceful. I have never slept so well ever, with a sumptuous memory foam mattress (im guessing here it was so squidgy and soft) and super comfy pillows. Ive stayed in some hotels where they are like rocks, not this one! The staff are welcoming, friendly and helpful and especially the staff at breakfast, quiet polite and nothing too much trouble, and wish you a nice day and mean it. It would have been nice to have met Peter so I could have thanked him for our wonderful prize of our stay in the Exmoor Photography Competition earlier this year so please accept our sincere thanks by way of this review. We looked at the photos on the walls every morning and made mental notes!! A shame the weather was not as kind to us for camera work! Lots of ponies in the mist and grey landscapes but we managed a few all the same. The highlight of our stay was the EXMOOR SAFARI. Our driver, Ed, was wonderful. He knew we wanted to see some deer, so what did we get..some fabulous shots of the stag and his many hinds. Ed knew his stuff and obviously knows the Exmoor landscape well and we thank him too but will be sending him some images as a thank you for his fantastic trip and sharing his knowledge of the area with us. Its well worth it readers ! We bought some of Peters books in the Watersmeet shop and they inspire you to get out there and chase the light (even if it is 50 shades of grey light!). We would def go back for a winter break and dine in the bar by the fire, sample some of that fab cider and local beers and go back out on the moors again with Ed and the landrover, its a lovely place to stay. What better tonic in the winter months can you have! especially with the huge selection of single malts - slainte.... White Horse and Peter.

Room Tip: The Dipper Room was great and a lovely tiled bathroom and pretty stained glass windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Wow, Thank You. Comments such as yours make us realise we really are succeeding at what we are trying to achieve and that our Exmoor hospitality is truly valued.

We really hope we will be able to welcome you back to enable you to experience even more of what Exmoor and The Exmoor White Horse Inn has to offer. Thank You again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Spent the night here and the food was wonderful. All home cooked and generous portions. The old english trifle was the best I've ever had in a hotel. Breakfast this morning again was delicious and with wonderful old fashioned courteous service. Broke our journey on the way back from Cornwall and I am sure we will go there again in the future for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Please mention in advance if you have mobility issues as there are a lot of stairs and rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

What more can we say but "Thank You" and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I am a bit late here, as we stayed in Aug 11, we called in late to this really old attractive inn on the moor. Literally our last hope before a holiday inn in Taunton. Peter accommodated us with a massive room (suite) at the back off the inn. Wonderful understated hospitality. Check out Peters exceptional photography of Paris and exmoor! He sends us a Christmas card every year as I imagine he does for all his guests, it's a lovely touch that always is appreciated! Ideal base for touring exmoor. Ye old England that's hard to find!!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank 2cmyadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you. It is important to us that both Management and Staff alike go that extra mile to ensure that all our guests have a memorable visit to the Exmoor White Horse Inn, be it their first visit or their 10th, each visit is more important than the last.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. And it won't be long before that Xmas Card is dropping through your door!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exford
9.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 3 in Dunster
777 reviews
5 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
152 reviews
9.2 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunster
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
656 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
188 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exmoor White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exmoor White Horse Inn

Address: Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Exford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Exford
Price Range: $149 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Exmoor White Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the scenic beauty of Exmoor National Park, this family run, historic coaching Inn offers luxury accommodation, free Wi-Fi, free parking, and is just 10 miles from both Minehead and the West Somerset and North Devon Coast. Dating back to the 16th Century, the Exmoor White Horse Inn is wreathed in Virginia Creeper ivy and sits majestically by a bridge over the River Exe. Oozing with rustic charm, the Inn celebrates the wonders of its historic past whilst providing a contemporary and sophisticated accommodation experience. Classic period features blend seamlessly with sumptuous soft furnishings and chic interiors to form an idyllic welcoming atmosphere in this spectacular part of the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Exmoor White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor White Horse Hotel Exford
Exmoor White Horse Exford
Exmoor White Horse Inn Exford, Exmoor National Park, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing