We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Exmoor White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Exford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My other half and I were looking for somewhere to stay for the night on our road trip when we came across The White Horse Inn. There are only a few lodges in Exford but this one stands out from the rest. The building itself is very old but very beautiful, we had room No.2 which faced out to the front garden and had the sun beaming in. The room had modern decor, a HUGE bed, large bathroom & great shower. The staff were all so friendly and couldn't have been welcoming. We ate in the bar that evening and the food was lovely, we also had breakfast included which was fantastic- lots of choice.
We would definitely stay again if we're ever passing through!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveTheSun501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

We are so glad that you called in and experienced what The Exmoor White Horse Inn is all about - quality, service, hospitality and value for money. We hope to be able to welcome you back for a longer stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 504 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

My Mum, the dog and i spent a lovely couple of days at the White Horse Inn. The staff in particular were so kind and helpful with my dog, who wanted to come to breakfast and to the bar with us in the evening. We had a great break. Thanks very much.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LJT60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you so much and we hope to welcome you all back here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We use this pub / hotel for meals regularly when on Exmoor. In particular we enjoy the great carvery on sunday and wednesday enenings, They also hold a pie night and a curry night each week, so choice is good. The pub is typical exmoor style, understated, lots of hunt pictues etc, but warm and friendly. This is a big place so get pretty busy at times. Overall a good typical pub with nice food at reasonable prices. Dogs are welocme in the bar area, where food cam also be served.

Room Tip: We did not stay , only used the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

We take great pride in offering quality service, hospitality and good value for money and really appreciate you taking the time to leave all your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our weekend break , our 2nd nights sleep was better as we asked to upgrade to a room with a bigger bed. Made me chuckle when the receptionist asked "in what way is the bed too small?" I didn't tell her that my poor husband had actually fallen out of the bed during the night!!! But she was rather sweet. We then moved to room 36 in the coach house which was smashing . We visited the castle in Dunster which was a nice day out and then drove back across the moor in the snow , just beautiful. The locals in the bar where not the friendliest bunch in fact we very much felt we were in their way but not to worry , our room was very comfortable so we relaxed there. Bar food was jolly good. Breakfast was excellent . Staff where very kind and friendly . Definitely stay there again .

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for your comments and we hope to be able to welcome you back in a room with a bigger bed from the start, simply request it on booking. Apologies if the locals on mass seemed unfriendly but rest assured they really are full of Exmoor hospitality, something that the whole area, including ourselves, pride ourselves on. We hope to welcome you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Lovely village for a few days stay exploring Exmoor. Staff friendly and helpful. Room warm and comfortable. Restaurant a little pricey but bar food cheaper - would use both again. Best bit? sitting in the lounge by a roaring log fire watching the snow fall outside while eating a cream tea. We didn't expect to have snow when we booked but it added to the charm of the inn and Exmoor scenery.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lodge adjacent - do not fear the chickens - we didn't hear them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandb223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Exmoor prides itself on being able to have all four seasons in one day and it appears you were lucky enough to be here at the time! We thank you for your review and hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A perfect setting. Excellent beer and wine. Fine bar food. Very friendly service. A comfortable bed in a small but well-appointed room. And really very good value. The perfect place to base yourself whether you're exploring Exmoor for the first time or taking a more relaxed weekend break.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicholWilmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for all your kind comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Great old world type hotel, approached over the River Exe, to see the hotel covered in greenery. Nice outside area beside the river. Treat yourself to a four poster room, worth the extra. Restaurant excellent.and breakfast to look forward too. Ideally placed for walking holidays or just exploring Exmoor itself, take the dog if you have one! Bar is nice with open fire and 'locals' who congregate on the flag-stoned area. Very quiet villiage so not for anyone seeking nightlife. We've now stayed there 5 times and its always excellent.

Room Tip: Take a four poster or superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Returning customers such as yourself are what our business is all about! We thank you for your ongoing loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exford
9.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
756 reviews
14.1 mi away
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
645 reviews
5.0 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
186 reviews
9.2 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
143 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exmoor White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exmoor White Horse Inn

Address: Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Exford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Exford
Price Range: $128 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Exmoor White Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the scenic beauty of Exmoor National Park, this family run, historic coaching Inn offers luxury accommodation, free Wi-Fi, free parking, and is just 10 miles from both Minehead and the West Somerset and North Devon Coast. Dating back to the 16th Century, the Exmoor White Horse Inn is wreathed in Virginia Creeper ivy and sits majestically by a bridge over the River Exe. Oozing with rustic charm, the Inn celebrates the wonders of its historic past whilst providing a contemporary and sophisticated accommodation experience. Classic period features blend seamlessly with sumptuous soft furnishings and chic interiors to form an idyllic welcoming atmosphere in this spectacular part of the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Exmoor White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor White Horse Hotel Exford
Exmoor White Horse Exford
Exmoor White Horse Inn Exford, Exmoor National Park, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing