We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Exmoor White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Exford
Certificate of Excellence
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Relaxing weekend break”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I really enjoyed our weekend break , our 2nd nights sleep was better as we asked to upgrade to a room with a bigger bed. Made me chuckle when the receptionist asked "in what way is the bed too small?" I didn't tell her that my poor husband had actually fallen out of the bed during the night!!! But she was rather sweet. We then moved to room 36 in the coach house which was smashing . We visited the castle in Dunster which was a nice day out and then drove back across the moor in the snow , just beautiful. The locals in the bar where not the friendliest bunch in fact we very much felt we were in their way but not to worry , our room was very comfortable so we relaxed there. Bar food was jolly good. Breakfast was excellent . Staff where very kind and friendly . Definitely stay there again .

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we hope to be able to welcome you back in a room with a bigger bed from the start, simply request it on booking. Apologies if the locals on mass seemed unfriendly but rest assured they really are full of Exmoor hospitality, something that the whole area, including ourselves, pride ourselves on. We hope to welcome you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    126
    54
    18
    11
See reviews for
73
294
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Lovely village for a few days stay exploring Exmoor. Staff friendly and helpful. Room warm and comfortable. Restaurant a little pricey but bar food cheaper - would use both again. Best bit? sitting in the lounge by a roaring log fire watching the snow fall outside while eating a cream tea. We didn't expect to have snow when we booked but it added to the charm of the inn and Exmoor scenery.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lodge adjacent - do not fear the chickens - we didn't hear them
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandb223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Exmoor prides itself on being able to have all four seasons in one day and it appears you were lucky enough to be here at the time! We thank you for your review and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A perfect setting. Excellent beer and wine. Fine bar food. Very friendly service. A comfortable bed in a small but well-appointed room. And really very good value. The perfect place to base yourself whether you're exploring Exmoor for the first time or taking a more relaxed weekend break.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicholWilmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for all your kind comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Great old world type hotel, approached over the River Exe, to see the hotel covered in greenery. Nice outside area beside the river. Treat yourself to a four poster room, worth the extra. Restaurant excellent.and breakfast to look forward too. Ideally placed for walking holidays or just exploring Exmoor itself, take the dog if you have one! Bar is nice with open fire and 'locals' who congregate on the flag-stoned area. Very quiet villiage so not for anyone seeking nightlife. We've now stayed there 5 times and its always excellent.

Room Tip: Take a four poster or superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Returning customers such as yourself are what our business is all about! We thank you for your ongoing loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

A really good find in the heart of Exmoor. Friendly welcome, nice room (but would have liked a king size rather than standard double), great bar and restaurant. We stayed fora couple of nights, including Valentines Night, when the restaurant was at its best with candlelight anf fresh roses for the ladies. Really enjoyed the friendly bar, mixture of locals and guests but all friendly, and good real ales at reasonable prices. Food prices higher than average, but good quality and nice service.

Room Tip: There's no lift, and winding staircases, be careful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We really appreciate all your comments, and rest assured, we do have king size beds available, in fact we have four posters, sleigh beds, half tester beds and queen size too! We hope to be able to welcome you back to The Exmoor White Horse Inn to sample some of our other room types. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Lovely hotel in an excellent location to see the best of Exmoor National Park. Hotel is situated in a very quiet village with 1 other pub, a small convenience store and thats it, so people looking for loads of nightlife need to look elsewhere. Rooms are quite small (it is an old building!) but very clean and well appointed, if not exactly to my taste. The bar is a relaxing and comfortable place to enjoy a drink or bar meal (which are good but not amazing), and the separate restaurant serves a different menu (again, good but not amazing). There is also the 'Malt Corner' which has a superb selection of over 150 Whiskeys, which I enjoyed. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and if I was to stay in the area again I would most definitely stay there and recommend it to anyone else too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smellmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review, it is very much appreciated and we really hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a lovely hotel. It's not about luxury (though it's very comfortable and well-appointed) but it is about atmosphere, being in a wonderful part of the country and fitting the ambience of Exmoor. Great food, high quality beer, good attentive staff, warm and well-appointed room, it's the sort of place you have to go back again.

One of my top tips. You must try it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments, they are greatly appreciated and make all our hard work worthwhile. We hope to be able to welcome you back to The Exmoor White Horse in order that you may enjoy a bit more of that "good cheer"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exford
9.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
714 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
169 reviews
6.1 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
141 reviews
14.1 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
593 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exmoor White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exmoor White Horse Inn

Property: Exmoor White Horse Inn
Address: Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Exford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Exford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Exmoor White Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the scenic beauty of Exmoor National Park, this family run, historic coaching Inn offers luxury accommodation, free Wi-Fi, free parking, and is just 10 miles from both Minehead and the West Somerset and North Devon Coast. Dating back to the 16th Century, the Exmoor White Horse Inn is wreathed in Virginia Creeper ivy and sits majestically by a bridge over the River Exe. Oozing with rustic charm, the Inn celebrates the wonders of its historic past whilst providing a contemporary and sophisticated accommodation experience. Classic period features blend seamlessly with sumptuous soft furnishings and chic interiors to form an idyllic welcoming atmosphere in this spectacular part of the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Expedia, HRS, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Exmoor White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor White Horse Hotel Exford
Exmoor White Horse Exford
Exmoor White Horse Inn Exford, Exmoor National Park, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing