We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a lovely place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Exmoor White Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Exmoor White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Exford
Cardiff
Level Contributor
150 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“What a lovely place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

A really good find in the heart of Exmoor. Friendly welcome, nice room (but would have liked a king size rather than standard double), great bar and restaurant. We stayed fora couple of nights, including Valentines Night, when the restaurant was at its best with candlelight anf fresh roses for the ladies. Really enjoyed the friendly bar, mixture of locals and guests but all friendly, and good real ales at reasonable prices. Food prices higher than average, but good quality and nice service.

Room Tip: There's no lift, and winding staircases, be careful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We really appreciate all your comments, and rest assured, we do have king size beds available, in fact we have four posters, sleigh beds, half tester beds and queen size too! We hope to be able to welcome you back to The Exmoor White Horse Inn to sample some of our other room types. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    114
    48
    18
    11
See reviews for
66
274
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Lovely hotel in an excellent location to see the best of Exmoor National Park. Hotel is situated in a very quiet village with 1 other pub, a small convenience store and thats it, so people looking for loads of nightlife need to look elsewhere. Rooms are quite small (it is an old building!) but very clean and well appointed, if not exactly to my taste. The bar is a relaxing and comfortable place to enjoy a drink or bar meal (which are good but not amazing), and the separate restaurant serves a different menu (again, good but not amazing). There is also the 'Malt Corner' which has a superb selection of over 150 Whiskeys, which I enjoyed. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and if I was to stay in the area again I would most definitely stay there and recommend it to anyone else too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smellmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review, it is very much appreciated and we really hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a lovely hotel. It's not about luxury (though it's very comfortable and well-appointed) but it is about atmosphere, being in a wonderful part of the country and fitting the ambience of Exmoor. Great food, high quality beer, good attentive staff, warm and well-appointed room, it's the sort of place you have to go back again.

One of my top tips. You must try it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments, they are greatly appreciated and make all our hard work worthwhile. We hope to be able to welcome you back to The Exmoor White Horse in order that you may enjoy a bit more of that "good cheer"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Withypool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was so amazed by the way me and my husband was treated by the White Horse Inn Exford Somerset.Me and my husband on the Night of 22/1/2013 was in a near fatal road accident that shock both of us up.The heavy snow hit with such a force we were caught unawares.We crashed on Church Hill Exford.With no way of getting home to Withypool just 2 miles away we was stranded cold and shaken up.Peter the owner of the White Horse Inn not only gave us a room and breakfast for the night at a heavily reduced rate because of our circumstances but also personally drove us back home at 11am the next morning in his 4x4.The whole time we were there the staff and peter was so concerned for our well being they could not have done anymore to have made us feel welcome.I would highly recommend the White Horse Inn what amazing people if only other places were as thoughtful as these people were.Its nice to see compassion for people so clearly displayed here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jashby_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We were pleased to be able to help you and are very relieved that you are both OK. We believe in treating people the way we would hope to be treated ourselves, all part of the Exmoor hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Exmoor White Horse Inn in happier circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

16th Coaching Inn set in the pretty village of Exford in the heart of the National Park of Exmoor. Breathtaking scenery and great walking country. Dusting of snow while we were there which just added to the picture. Hotel clean and had everything to make the visitor at home. Friendly staff, lovely wood fires and comfy lounge to sit in. We ate from the bar menu which was excellent value - I tried the steak pie the first night and then the bean and celery chilli the second night. Both lived up to my expectations. My husband has eaten many hotel breakfasts in his working life but in his opinion this was the very best yet. Freshly cooked and quality food (particularly the bacon and sausage in the English breakfast). If you are looking for a break with good walking in beautiful countryside this would take a lot of beating. Thanks everyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dollcups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
The Exmoor White Horse Inn is definitely a hotel for all seasons!

We thank you for all your kind comments and we appreciate you taking the time to leave your review. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Exford in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Returning for the New year Celebrations after a break of a couple of years we were a little aprehensive but we needn`t have worried. The warm welcome from Peter, Linda and the staff,
we knew we were back amongst friends. The food and friendships made at White Horse are remembered for a very long time.A very relaxed atmosphere again and it`s the people who stay at the hotel that help make the great time possible.
To any new customers please note, "the diet stops when you walk through the front door"
To Peter, Linda and Family, many thanks and we are already booked in for this year.
Dave & Charlie

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Welcoming back previous guests is a very important part of what we offer here at the Exmoor White Horse, it feels like welcoming both family and friends, and we pride ourselves on the large amount of returning customers that we welcome all year through.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband has travelled all over the world and it is the first hotel ever where the receptionist took the time to personally give a tour of where the bar. breakfast room. restaurant and the bedroom were located - a first class service. The hotel is full of character and the staff were all first class. I have a bee in my bonnet that hot food is served on hot plates and here the plates are HOT! The bar food was excellent both for price and quantity. We were given room 19 which had magnificent furniture and the bathroom was outstanding. The only minor point was that there was very little space between the end of the bed and the bathroom door although this would not stop us staying in the same room again. The location is superb with unique scenery. A great find for a peaceful break.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GloucestershireHejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you so much. We pride ourselves on our hospitality which starts from the minute you walk through the door and does not stop until the time you leave us (and hopefully even then it is long remembered!). We truly hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exford
9.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
14.1 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
4.9 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
10.6 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
10.9 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exmoor White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exmoor White Horse Inn

Property: Exmoor White Horse Inn
Address: Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Exford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Exford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Exmoor White Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the scenic beauty of Exmoor National Park, this family run, historic coaching Inn offers luxury accommodation, free Wi-Fi, free parking, and is just 10 miles from both Minehead and the West Somerset and North Devon Coast. Dating back to the 16th Century, the Exmoor White Horse Inn is wreathed in Virginia Creeper ivy and sits majestically by a bridge over the River Exe. Oozing with rustic charm, the Inn celebrates the wonders of its historic past whilst providing a contemporary and sophisticated accommodation experience. Classic period features blend seamlessly with sumptuous soft furnishings and chic interiors to form an idyllic welcoming atmosphere in this spectacular part of the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Exmoor White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor White Horse Hotel Exford
Exmoor White Horse Exford
Exmoor White Horse Inn Exford, Exmoor National Park, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing