We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, Lovely, Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Exmoor White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Exford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2013

16th Coaching Inn set in the pretty village of Exford in the heart of the National Park of Exmoor. Breathtaking scenery and great walking country. Dusting of snow while we were there which just added to the picture. Hotel clean and had everything to make the visitor at home. Friendly staff, lovely wood fires and comfy lounge to sit in. We ate from the bar menu which was excellent value - I tried the steak pie the first night and then the bean and celery chilli the second night. Both lived up to my expectations. My husband has eaten many hotel breakfasts in his working life but in his opinion this was the very best yet. Freshly cooked and quality food (particularly the bacon and sausage in the English breakfast). If you are looking for a break with good walking in beautiful countryside this would take a lot of beating. Thanks everyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dollcups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

The Exmoor White Horse Inn is definitely a hotel for all seasons!

We thank you for all your kind comments and we appreciate you taking the time to leave your review. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Exford in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 510 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

Returning for the New year Celebrations after a break of a couple of years we were a little aprehensive but we needn`t have worried. The warm welcome from Peter, Linda and the staff,
we knew we were back amongst friends. The food and friendships made at White Horse are remembered for a very long time.A very relaxed atmosphere again and it`s the people who stay at the hotel that help make the great time possible.
To any new customers please note, "the diet stops when you walk through the front door"
To Peter, Linda and Family, many thanks and we are already booked in for this year.
Dave & Charlie

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Welcoming back previous guests is a very important part of what we offer here at the Exmoor White Horse, it feels like welcoming both family and friends, and we pride ourselves on the large amount of returning customers that we welcome all year through.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband has travelled all over the world and it is the first hotel ever where the receptionist took the time to personally give a tour of where the bar. breakfast room. restaurant and the bedroom were located - a first class service. The hotel is full of character and the staff were all first class. I have a bee in my bonnet that hot food is served on hot plates and here the plates are HOT! The bar food was excellent both for price and quantity. We were given room 19 which had magnificent furniture and the bathroom was outstanding. The only minor point was that there was very little space between the end of the bed and the bathroom door although this would not stop us staying in the same room again. The location is superb with unique scenery. A great find for a peaceful break.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GloucestershireHejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you so much. We pride ourselves on our hospitality which starts from the minute you walk through the door and does not stop until the time you leave us (and hopefully even then it is long remembered!). We truly hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Me, My husband & Mum & Dad and our two dogs each have just spent an amazing Christmas away at the White Horse in Exford. We had some of THE best food ever eaten in a hotel with a huge variety of fish & meats to suit all.

The hospitality was the best I have ever experienced with their whole family chipping in to help make everyone stay so good. Nothing was too much effort including the fact that I had broken my leg prior to going and they managing to swap me to a ground floor room. Loved the Carol service outside the hotel too.

Our rooms were even cleaned on Christmas day and Santa found us and gave us a lovely present!!
A huge thank you for spoiling us all including the 4 dogs for a very enjoyable Christmas!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

What can we say but "Thank You" and we really look forward to welcoming you all back again.

Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Had a two night stay booked through 'living social' deal. We were put in the Lodge rather than the main hotel, I suspect because we paid less than the list price. These rooms were tiny and felt very cramped. We couldn't see any price difference on the hotel web site so would advice that you confirm when booking. The restaurant is excellent and the bar has a nice atmosphere. The receptionist was clearly having an off couple of days as she was very unwelcoming and seemed to be a bit cross whenever we spoke to her.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R22helipilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

We were saddened to read your review as we hate to think that anyone leaves The Exmoor White Horse Inn feeling that they have not had an enjoyable experience. Rest assured that you were not put in the Lodge simply because you were booked on the Living Social Offer, and also please note that the rooms in The Lodge are of exactly the same quality as the main hotel but you must appreciate that in a 16th century building the size of all the rooms, both ain hotel and lodge, can vary greatly but we do furnish and decorate all to a very high standard. The offer you were booked on was based on a Standard Double Bedded Room although upgrades were available which would have meant a slightly larger room if you had so wished.

As far as the attitude of the Receptionist goes we sincerely apologise for this, it is totally unacceptable and the person concerned will be spoken to. We pride ourselves on our hospitality and as much as we all have "off" days, it is part of our job to ensure that all our guests have the best experience of Exmoor and The Exmoor White Horse Inn as is possible.

We wish you a very Happy 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

we have stayed at the exmoor white horse for the last 2/3 years.
this was the first time that we have stayed there for christmas & the new year,it was also the first time that we have stayed in the lodge. it was brilliant,peter,linda & all the staff were great & could not do enough to make our stay more enjoyable.thank you all very much for giving us such a good time.tony & ros

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Christmas is such a special time of year, both for customers and management and staff alike, and we are so pleased that we managed to make your Christmas special. Many of our guests at Christmas and New Year are returning customers which gives the whole festive period a real "family feeling" for us all. We really hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future and we wish you both a very happy 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We were looking for a hotel from where we could explore Exmoor and the surrounding area, would accept dogs so we could bring our 1 year old chocolate labrador with us and came across the White Horse Inn as part of a Living social deal. We choose December as this coincides with my birthday . On arrival we were given a welcome pack, that included several ideas for both walking and road trips which we found useful and gave us additional ideas for places to see and visit.

Although we had a problem with the room radiator, once reported it was quickly resolved and the room heated up nicely which was good as it was one of the coldest nights of the year. The fire burning in the lounge made this a cosy place to sit and eat our cream tea.

We ate in both the restaurant and bar and we although the food in the restaurant was good we both felt that the cheese sauce overpowered the pork and steak we selected but this can be down to personal choice than anything else. The bar offered a great range of choice meals and local beers and was a good informal alternative to the restaurant, if you are a whisky lover this is the the place to be due to the numerous whiskeys on offer in Malt Corner The breakfast was hearty and set us up for our explorations of the area and the flask hot water refill service was ideal for this time as year as many places were closed down for season.

The service provided by the staff was excellent especially the bar and restaurant staff and the dog was made welcome and enjoyed the fuss given to him. We would definitely consider using this Inn again should be revisit the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to leave your review and we are really pleased to hear that you had a good time here. Exmoor is definitely an area for all seasons and even in December Exmoor has loads to offer, including fantastic walking country with the added bonus of returning to the hotel to experience Exmoor hospitatlity at its best!

We all remember your beautiful chocolate lab and we hope to be able to welcome you all back in the near future. Happy New Year from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exford
9.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
782 reviews
9.2 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
152 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
152 reviews
14.1 mi away
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
663 reviews
9.3 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunster
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exmoor White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exmoor White Horse Inn

Address: Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Exford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Exford
Price Range: $152 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Exmoor White Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the scenic beauty of Exmoor National Park, this family run, historic coaching Inn offers luxury accommodation, free Wi-Fi, free parking, and is just 10 miles from both Minehead and the West Somerset and North Devon Coast. Dating back to the 16th Century, the Exmoor White Horse Inn is wreathed in Virginia Creeper ivy and sits majestically by a bridge over the River Exe. Oozing with rustic charm, the Inn celebrates the wonders of its historic past whilst providing a contemporary and sophisticated accommodation experience. Classic period features blend seamlessly with sumptuous soft furnishings and chic interiors to form an idyllic welcoming atmosphere in this spectacular part of the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Exmoor White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor White Horse Hotel Exford
Exmoor White Horse Exford
Exmoor White Horse Inn Exford, Exmoor National Park, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing