We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic! Would definitely stay again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Exmoor White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Exford
1 review
“Fantastic! Would definitely stay again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed here December 2011. The room was lovely, the hotel and pub were great, the breakfast was superb and the service was out of this world. The staff couldn't do enough for us. Vince the french waiter was hilarious! Will definately stay again. Thank you to all.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shesellssea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Thank You! We really hope to be able to welcome you back to The Exmoor White Horse Inn in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    115
    49
    18
    11
See reviews for
68
276
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bideford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

Another superb couple of days at the The Exmoor White Horse. A very warm welcome as always, and a very comfortable stay. The food was excellent whether in the warm friendly bar or the restaurant it didn't disappoint a varied menu and generous portions. Wonderful. I would certainly recommend it.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

Have been across the south west visiting many places. You will have to go a very long way to beat the Exmoor white horse in Exford. Food excellent service top draw. And location stunning. Looking forward to going back for another stay.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liverboy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Comments like this really does make all our hard work worthwhile! Thank you so much and we look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

Was taken here for my wedding anniversary it was beautiful. The food was exsqisete the staff so friendly it made the whole experience special. Will definitely be back again soon.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prettybaby123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

Amazing food, brilliant service, really didn't want to go home

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojo168652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, it really is appreciated and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Just returned home having spent a very enjoyable weekend with the family celebrating my fathers 70th at the White Horse inn at Exford within Exmoor national Park.

This is the first time that I and my family have stayed here although for several years my parents have raved about the place, the staff and of course the food.

The location doesnt need description, its within the Exmoor National Park so it is simply Beautiful, the hotel is about 45 mins to an hour from the M5 so it is very accessible. Wild ponies, deer etc all here to be seen.

The reception provided us with a warm greeting and checked on the CCTV to see that there was plenty of room for us to park right next to the lodge where we were staying in rooms 36 & 37.
The lodge is seperate from the main building but is only a few steps away across the car park and overlooking the small river that runs through Exford it has a sheltered porch and is totally secure with electronic locks. Should you need them umbrellas are even provided.

The rooms are well equipped with large flat screen TV, Ipod dock comfortable seating area tea and coffee making facilities and bath with shower over. The shower was both warm and powerfull, no problems here.

Room 37 is a twin room and was great for us as the kids could share and be within easy monitoring from room 36 which was very comfortable. On the first night I discovered unfortunately that the bed had feather pillows, a luxury I cant enjoy due to an annoying allergy. The staff were great and within minutes of me pointing this out returned with a fresh set of pillows and removed the offending articles, no fuss just exceptional and pleasant service.

The only thing the rooms could benefit from would perhaps be a small fridge for cold drinks and wireless internet access in the rooms wouldnt go amiss, they were however spotless.

For those that need it unfortunately like many locations on Exmoor mobile reception is poor, although I believe Orange works the best here.

There is wireless internet available free of charge on the first floor of the main hotel near to the conference room and if this could be extended throughout the rest of the hotel and lodge would be a real plus.

We were staying for bed breakfast and evening meal and celebrated my fathers 70th in the restaurant, although there is also a bar offering a good range of food and refreshments.

The restaurant food was outstanding and the service impecable, the french waiter really does work hard to ensure that everyone enjoys their time here and he succeeded making this the perfect celebration, well done Vince.

I enjoyed an exceptionally good meal of Venison medallions and my wife minted lamb shanks in red wine and berry sauce, a 5 course meal and I didnt leave a scrap I could hardly move.
The evening finished off with an exceptional single malt from what I can only describe as one of the largest selections of whisky that I have ever seen in one place, HEAVEN ....! Again well done to our waiter, I described my favourite tipple and he recommended a blinder.

Breakfast cant go without comment, you can enjoy a full english breakfast from the buffet select exactly what you wish or the restaurant kitchen will prepare fresh what you wish, enjoy pastries fresh fruit and the usual fare, but the guarantee is you will enjoy it and wont go hungry.

Ok the Exmoor inn is a little expensive and there is no swimming pool, sauna, gym etc. but you dont need any of these as after a walk through and across the rolling moors of exmoor, you will return and enjoy the comfort of the restaurant and bar to recuperate.

Would we and will we stay here again a simple answer to this one,

ABSOLUTELY YES !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpallen140369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank You so much for taking the time to leave a review. We try our utmost to offer all our guests a perfect experience of all that Exmoor has to offer, and your review simply sums it all up!

With regard to mobile phone signal, both Orange and Vodaphone work to a certain extent, but mobile masts are few and far between here on the moor, some would say that adds to the attraction! We are currently working on boosting our Wi-fi signal throughout the hotel, and the Lodge will shortly have its own receiver. However, in the Inn, the thickness of some of he walls of the original building (16th century) does cause us some issues, but there is also a limited signal downstairs in part of the Bar/Food area and anyone is willing to use this free of charge.

We sincerely hope we are able to welcome you and your family back to The Exmoor White Horse Inn in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Expectations were high after visiting web site. Room good but shower did not work properly. Restaurant poor. Both meals were over cooked - noisy party in restuatrant which did not help as they were never checked for using bad language.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janet r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Firstly may we offer our utmost sincere apologies for failing to meet your expectations. We appreciate all the comments that you have made as we treat all customer feedback very seriously.

The comments you made have been noted and passed on to the relevant departments and member of staff concerned. The member of staff that checked you in on arrival remembers you commenting on what a lovely room you had, and we have received no other complaints with regard to the shower, so can only apologise for the problem you experienced. It has since been checked and found to be working correctly.

In reply to your comments on the meal the waiter that served you remembers checking with you to make sure that your meal was OK and he said you seemed very happy. If you had complained at the time we would have done our utmost to put any problems right, but it is impossible for us to do that if we are not made aware at the time. With regard to the noisy party in the restaurant they were guests who have been staying with us for the last 6 years or more. If bad language was used, once more we can only apologise, but our staff were unaware of it, if this too had been brought to their attention it would have been discretely dealt with.

We do try our utmost to please the majority of our guests and we pride ourselves on making our guests as welcome and comfortable as possible and a large percentage of our trade is repeat business, as well as recommendations from previous guests. We have been here for over 20 years and we place great importance on welcoming back our previous guests, so we do not like the thought of anyone leaving here dissatisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exford
9.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
14.1 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
4.9 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exmoor White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exmoor White Horse Inn

Property: Exmoor White Horse Inn
Address: Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Exford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Exford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Exmoor White Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the scenic beauty of Exmoor National Park, this family run, historic coaching Inn offers luxury accommodation, free Wi-Fi, free parking, and is just 10 miles from both Minehead and the West Somerset and North Devon Coast. Dating back to the 16th Century, the Exmoor White Horse Inn is wreathed in Virginia Creeper ivy and sits majestically by a bridge over the River Exe. Oozing with rustic charm, the Inn celebrates the wonders of its historic past whilst providing a contemporary and sophisticated accommodation experience. Classic period features blend seamlessly with sumptuous soft furnishings and chic interiors to form an idyllic welcoming atmosphere in this spectacular part of the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Travelocity, HRS, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Exmoor White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor White Horse Hotel Exford
Exmoor White Horse Exford
Exmoor White Horse Inn Exford, Exmoor National Park, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing