We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Exmoor White Horse Inn
Nearby Hotels
Simonsbath House(Simonsbath)
$100
$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$91
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunkery Beacon Hotel(Wootton Courtenay)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
$133
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Beach Hotel(Minehead)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Marston Lodge Hotel(Minehead)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (545)
Filter reviews
545 results
Traveler rating
302
150
58
23
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
302
150
58
23
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite horsethe rivercream teasconesvenisonluxury roombar menusunday carveryself servicethe main hotelfour poster bednothing is too much troublelovely breakbooked a tableevening mealplenty of choicemy partner
Filter
Updating list...
489 - 494 of 545 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Was taken here for my wedding anniversary it was beautiful. The food was exsqisete the staff so friendly it made the whole experience special. Will definitely be back again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prettybaby123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Amazing food, brilliant service, really didn't want to go home

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojo168652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, it really is appreciated and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Just returned home having spent a very enjoyable weekend with the family celebrating my fathers 70th at the White Horse inn at Exford within Exmoor national Park.

This is the first time that I and my family have stayed here although for several years my parents have raved about the place, the staff and of course the food.

The location doesnt need description, its within the Exmoor National Park so it is simply Beautiful, the hotel is about 45 mins to an hour from the M5 so it is very accessible. Wild ponies, deer etc all here to be seen.

The reception provided us with a warm greeting and checked on the CCTV to see that there was plenty of room for us to park right next to the lodge where we were staying in rooms 36 & 37.
The lodge is seperate from the main building but is only a few steps away across the car park and overlooking the small river that runs through Exford it has a sheltered porch and is totally secure with electronic locks. Should you need them umbrellas are even provided.

The rooms are well equipped with large flat screen TV, Ipod dock comfortable seating area tea and coffee making facilities and bath with shower over. The shower was both warm and powerfull, no problems here.

Room 37 is a twin room and was great for us as the kids could share and be within easy monitoring from room 36 which was very comfortable. On the first night I discovered unfortunately that the bed had feather pillows, a luxury I cant enjoy due to an annoying allergy. The staff were great and within minutes of me pointing this out returned with a fresh set of pillows and removed the offending articles, no fuss just exceptional and pleasant service.

The only thing the rooms could benefit from would perhaps be a small fridge for cold drinks and wireless internet access in the rooms wouldnt go amiss, they were however spotless.

For those that need it unfortunately like many locations on Exmoor mobile reception is poor, although I believe Orange works the best here.

There is wireless internet available free of charge on the first floor of the main hotel near to the conference room and if this could be extended throughout the rest of the hotel and lodge would be a real plus.

We were staying for bed breakfast and evening meal and celebrated my fathers 70th in the restaurant, although there is also a bar offering a good range of food and refreshments.

The restaurant food was outstanding and the service impecable, the french waiter really does work hard to ensure that everyone enjoys their time here and he succeeded making this the perfect celebration, well done Vince.

I enjoyed an exceptionally good meal of Venison medallions and my wife minted lamb shanks in red wine and berry sauce, a 5 course meal and I didnt leave a scrap I could hardly move.
The evening finished off with an exceptional single malt from what I can only describe as one of the largest selections of whisky that I have ever seen in one place, HEAVEN ....! Again well done to our waiter, I described my favourite tipple and he recommended a blinder.

Breakfast cant go without comment, you can enjoy a full english breakfast from the buffet select exactly what you wish or the restaurant kitchen will prepare fresh what you wish, enjoy pastries fresh fruit and the usual fare, but the guarantee is you will enjoy it and wont go hungry.

Ok the Exmoor inn is a little expensive and there is no swimming pool, sauna, gym etc. but you dont need any of these as after a walk through and across the rolling moors of exmoor, you will return and enjoy the comfort of the restaurant and bar to recuperate.

Would we and will we stay here again a simple answer to this one,

ABSOLUTELY YES !

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpallen140369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2011

Thank You so much for taking the time to leave a review. We try our utmost to offer all our guests a perfect experience of all that Exmoor has to offer, and your review simply sums it all up!

With regard to mobile phone signal, both Orange and Vodaphone work to a certain extent, but mobile masts are few and far between here on the moor, some would say that adds to the attraction! We are currently working on boosting our Wi-fi signal throughout the hotel, and the Lodge will shortly have its own receiver. However, in the Inn, the thickness of some of he walls of the original building (16th century) does cause us some issues, but there is also a limited signal downstairs in part of the Bar/Food area and anyone is willing to use this free of charge.

We sincerely hope we are able to welcome you and your family back to The Exmoor White Horse Inn in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Expectations were high after visiting web site. Room good but shower did not work properly. Restaurant poor. Both meals were over cooked - noisy party in restuatrant which did not help as they were never checked for using bad language.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janet r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Firstly may we offer our utmost sincere apologies for failing to meet your expectations. We appreciate all the comments that you have made as we treat all customer feedback very seriously.

The comments you made have been noted and passed on to the relevant departments and member of staff concerned. The member of staff that checked you in on arrival remembers you commenting on what a lovely room you had, and we have received no other complaints with regard to the shower, so can only apologise for the problem you experienced. It has since been checked and found to be working correctly.

In reply to your comments on the meal the waiter that served you remembers checking with you to make sure that your meal was OK and he said you seemed very happy. If you had complained at the time we would have done our utmost to put any problems right, but it is impossible for us to do that if we are not made aware at the time. With regard to the noisy party in the restaurant they were guests who have been staying with us for the last 6 years or more. If bad language was used, once more we can only apologise, but our staff were unaware of it, if this too had been brought to their attention it would have been discretely dealt with.

We do try our utmost to please the majority of our guests and we pride ourselves on making our guests as welcome and comfortable as possible and a large percentage of our trade is repeat business, as well as recommendations from previous guests. We have been here for over 20 years and we place great importance on welcoming back our previous guests, so we do not like the thought of anyone leaving here dissatisfied.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We have had another great visit to the Exmoor White Horse Inn. Peter and Linda (owners) were very welcoming as normal and its a great testament to them that there are staff members there that have been with them for many years. All the staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Hotel is warm and welcoming with burning fires in the lounge and bar areas. Food excellent with 5 course meals of venison, pheasant and salmon on the lists. Buffet breakfast enough to keep you going for the long walks on Exmoor. Our dog was in heaven with the "scraps" from the carvery! If you like your malt whisky you will be spoilt for choice. So extensive that it has its own menu!
Highly recommended and don't forget to take your binoculars to catch a sight of the stags/hinds on the moor above the village.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews