We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well equipped and comfortable”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Exford, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Karen B
Petersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well equipped and comfortable”
Reviewed October 3, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Have stayed many times in exford but first time in chapel cottage, will be booking again, very well equipped, cosy and warm, the owners have thought of everything, from picnic blankets to a good assortment of lrg wine glasses, an essential in my holiday needs! Carolyn the owner was extremely helpful when on leaving the cottage I realised I'd left my Mobil inside the cottage and no way of getting back in!! But with in an hour it was all sorted, after several calls to a few people Carolyn had it sorted, very officiant.
Already looking forward to next year, thank you.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslaFatim...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage, great location!”
Reviewed July 24, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a week here with our 2 teenage children and Labrador. Cottage clean, well equipped and spacious. Two good pubs within a stone's throw, the food in the Crown is exceptional! Great walks and day trips out. Only grumble was from the kids - they couldn't get the wifi code to work!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2017
Hi,
Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We stayed for one night in the cottage after your visit. We arrived, tried to connect to Internet (normally excellent reception) - No Reception! Turned off and then back on Router in hall. Everything fine!! Next time - and this is to everyone - please give me a ring. If you intended for the kids to go "cold turkey" on the internet - excellent. If not, sorry!! Thrilled to hear that someone else shares our passion for Exmoor and Exford!!
Best wishes
Carolynn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Columb Major, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 14, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very central homely & well equipped
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2016
Deborah, Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Chapel Cottage. We look forward to your return. David & Carolynn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Louise R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Cosy Cottage ”
Reviewed October 16, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I have just arrived back today from a fabulous week away at the cottage.

It was home from home.

Decorated to a very high standard indeed.

Lovely cosy country cottage in the heart of Exmoor National park.

We have been visiting for many years and this cottage is the best by far.

The kitchen was amazing big and spacious with everything you needed along with a lovely patio area to sit out on a sunny evening.

Central and lots to do and places to see.

We came for the red deer rut and have met wonderful people once again.

The owner provided a welcome pack on arrival and the homemade cake was delicious.

The Crown Hotel do a lovely Sunday roast beef lunch, or a nice steak or light lunch with a great menu selection at the White horse.

If you fancy a drive out to the royal oak at Withypool or Winsford they do great food too.

We were disappointed again that the fish and chip van did not turn up in exford for tea like it used to every Thursday.

We can also recommend a 3hr Safari with Daphne Brace from Barle Valley Safaris. She takes you off road where no other vehicles can go to see the red deer etc.

She is such a lovely lady and very very informative about the ponies deer birds and other wildlife.

My husband and I got to rescue a young Kestrel and put it back on the Moor as it had been knocked by a vehicle and got stunned.

We could go on and on but we are coming back to the cottage again next year.

Thank you so much Mrs Thompson.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 18, 2015
Dear Louise,
Thank you so much for this review. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your week and found the cottage met all your expectations. Exmoor indeed is a wonderful place - part of England; but another place.
Regards
Carolynn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane6090
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant accommodation”
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Really well equipped, clean and comfortable cottage in excellent location. The owner has clearly taken real care to ensure that this is a home from home. The local village store is near at hand for those essential provisions and there are many walks to be enjoyed within easy reach. I would stay again without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So welcoming to return to after a day exploring
Liked least: Shame the main bedroom is on the road but the noise is minimal
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2015
Jan,
Many thanks for writing your review about Chapel Cottage. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again.
Best wishes
Carolynn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So homely; we didn't really want to come home!
Liked least: Not a brilliant view at the front of the house, but that wasn't a problem.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Denise C
Penzance, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely cottage in a perfect location”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My family have been staying in Chapel Cottage for several years and whenever we arrive there it feels like "home". There is everything you need in the cottage, it is very pet friendly and it is always really nice to find a welcome pack awaiting our arrival. It is in a perfect location with a local shop, post office, 2 pubs, a tea-room and excellent walks straight from the door. The owners have always been very friendly and helpful. We are looking forward to our next visit in November.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing