We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great short stay with our puppy”
other travelers have booked this property
View of Fern Cottage from river
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Fern Cottage from river
Fern Cottage double bedroom Fern Cottage living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
View of Fern Cottage from river
Fern Cottage double bedroom
Fern Cottage living room
Fern Cottage - Relax by the fire
Porlock Bay - Exmoor
Countisbury Head - near Lynmouth, Exmoor
Picturesque village - Exmoor
Valley of Rocks near Lynton - Exmoor
Steam locomotive at Minehead - West Somerset Railway, Exmoor
Dunster Castle - Exmoor
Exmoor pony near coast - Exmoor National Park
Red deer stag - Exmoor
Doone Valley - Exmoor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Exford, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
iMack69
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great short stay with our puppy”
Reviewed January 18, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

It was snowy and cold outside, but the log burner made this a cosy stay, the enclosed garden gave peace of mind for our puppy. The local area is very scenic, giving a real mix of Exmoor scenery, with Coast, hills and valleys all easily accessible, despite the sprinkling of snow.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just what we were looking for”
Reviewed November 18, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed for a weekend in this lovely cottage. It's in a great location and really has a country cottage feel. The booking was is a bit of a pain: the response was quick after the initial enquiry but I would have preferred to be able to book directly through the website.

Brian was great too: when he showed us into the cottage and we asked if we should take off our shoes he said "do as you like, it's your home for the weekend". He also gave us free logs for the fire and was happy to show us where everything was and how it worked.

During the day we walked along the coast path and by Watersmeet all were within 30 mins drive. One of us is a big horse fan and was happy to see lots of horses being exercised nearby and she went horse riding locally on one of the days.

In the evening we had a nice meal in the cottage (the kitchen is big and has everything you need) and then played board games by the fire. There was a games room with a pool table and table football in good condition but we didn't get time to use it.

There is one double room and one twin with two single beds. We were two couples so it wasn't ideal but okay for the weekend.

If I'm staying in Exmoor again I'd definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G
Deal, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“delightful location and idyllic”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

easy to find, and an idyllic location in the heart of Exmoor, Greeted by Brian who was very helpful. The cottage was delightful with its own garden and with freshly laid eggs available in the morning there was nothing more we could ask for.

Will certainly book a stay at Riscombe again

Simon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Grand-Village-Plage, France
Reviewed May 12, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful surrounding ,horses,goats and the good welcome
Liked least: It was a little coldwithout using elecric heating in february
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2013
Just to say that by Christmas 2013 we will have installed a biomass boiler on the farm - so all the cottages will be fully central heated and have abundant hot water - all included in the cost!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing