We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Rowan Cottage

Approach to Rowan Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Approach to Rowan Cottage
Rowan Cottage rear view and adjacent car parking space with Court Farm stables in background Rowan Cottage Kitchen/diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Approach to Rowan Cottage
Rowan Cottage rear view and adjacent car parking space with Court Farm stables in background
Rowan Cottage Kitchen/diner
Rowan kitchen/diner
Lounge
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Rowan Cottage Bathroom
Enclosed rear garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Exford, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vicky C
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Super.”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

A return visit to this lovely farm, we rented all 3 cottages and brought the family. They all enjoyed it as much as we had on our previous visit. Once again Dave and his family couldn't be more helpful and welcoming. These are great well equipped cottages, perfectly located for exploring Exmoor. Having your own secure garden is perfect for the dogs and all 3 cottages are kitted out to accommodate them also. However if you aren't travelling with dogs don't be put off - the cottages are immaculately cleaned and have no "doggy" smell - you honestly wouldn't no anyone else's dog had ever been in residence. There are so many walks directly from the farm and Exford with its two lovely pubs is only a few minutes walk along the river footpath. We were blessed with lovely weather so could really enjoy the location with family BBQ's relaxing in the garden overlooking the river with a cold local cider. We will definitely be back and there is still more of Exmoor to explore.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2017
Thanks for this lovely review - you seem to have covered everything. See you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 24, 2017
Thanks for the great review Jo and we are glad you had such an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
chrisredd...
Honiton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Second visit to rowan”
Reviewed February 19, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Again we found rowan warm and spotlessly clean. Michelle and Dave are the perfect hosts. Nothing is too much trouble. Beautiful area , lovely walk's right on the doorstep. Dog heaven.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2017
Thank you for the lovely review and we look forward to your return to Court Farm, Exford
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katwald
Thame, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great dog friendly rental”
Reviewed January 4, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

This was my second Christmas break spent in Rowan cottage, on Court Farm with my partner and his family.
The cottage itself is ideal with a large kitchen perfect for evenings of food, drinks and games, a comfy sitting room with log burner for the more chilled evenings and a large enclosed garden perfect for our two dogs to be let out unattended as there was no way for them to escape into the stream that runs behind the house. We were pleasantly surprised to find the bathroom had been updated with a shower enclosure this year and further pleased to find a good shower, this can make all the difference to a weeks stay!
The location is perfect with plenty of walks from the cottage but also the 5 minute walk from the cottage to the centre of the village where the boys got their papers from the shop in the mornings and we all stumbled home from the pub in the afternoon/evening.
The owners of Court Farm are very welcoming and approachable through out the week should you have any problems or queries.
If you have a larger crowd, as we did, then you can also hire the cottage next door, another 2 bed and open up the gate in the garden to join the two outside spaces too. Both kitchens and living areas of the cottage were big enough to accommodate all 7 of us and the 3 dogs we had between us - perfect for Christmas!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judyi941
Devoran, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holiday home”
Reviewed October 30, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Rowan Cottage at Exford is a perfect holiday home. Central for visiting Exmoor and coastal towns and villages. Spotlessly clean with every utensil/appliance you could wish for.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2016
Thank you Judy and Steve for the lovely review and we hope to see you back on Exmoor soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smcdb
2 reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed October 13, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The cottage was in a lovely location and very clean with everything you need. Hosts were very friendly and helpful with nothing too much trouble. The area was gorgeous if you like the outdoors.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 17, 2016
Thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed yourselves and hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah W
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect getaway”
Reviewed October 7, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Our second visit this year to this wonderful location. The accommodation was excellent and our hosts Dave and Michelle were so helpful. This is the perfect location for a rural getaway, which caters for all our needs. With our two border collie and all the great walks right on your doorstep, we could not wish for anything better. And just to top it off, the weather conditions were perfect for this time of year ( trekking in shorts in October - heaven). We have been back to the village of Exford for the past four years and we are still thrilled by the beauty of the surrounding area and we still have so much more to explore. Court Farm will most definitely be our base camp for many years to come. See you all again soon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location to rural walks on your doorstep
Liked least: Nothing, the whole holiday was wonderful
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2016
Thanks Debbie & Bryan. Don't think we can add to this so look forward to seeing you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing