We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Second visit to rowan”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Rowan Cottage

Approach to Rowan Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Approach to Rowan Cottage
Rowan Cottage rear view and adjacent car parking space with Court Farm stables in background Rowan Cottage Kitchen/diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Approach to Rowan Cottage
Rowan Cottage rear view and adjacent car parking space with Court Farm stables in background
Rowan Cottage Kitchen/diner
Rowan kitchen/diner
Lounge
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Rowan Cottage Bathroom
Enclosed rear garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Exford, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
chrisredd...
Honiton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Second visit to rowan”
Reviewed February 19, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Again we found rowan warm and spotlessly clean. Michelle and Dave are the perfect hosts. Nothing is too much trouble. Beautiful area , lovely walk's right on the doorstep. Dog heaven.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2017
Thank you for the lovely review and we look forward to your return to Court Farm, Exford
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katwald
Thame, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great dog friendly rental”
Reviewed January 4, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

This was my second Christmas break spent in Rowan cottage, on Court Farm with my partner and his family.
The cottage itself is ideal with a large kitchen perfect for evenings of food, drinks and games, a comfy sitting room with log burner for the more chilled evenings and a large enclosed garden perfect for our two dogs to be let out unattended as there was no way for them to escape into the stream that runs behind the house. We were pleasantly surprised to find the bathroom had been updated with a shower enclosure this year and further pleased to find a good shower, this can make all the difference to a weeks stay!
The location is perfect with plenty of walks from the cottage but also the 5 minute walk from the cottage to the centre of the village where the boys got their papers from the shop in the mornings and we all stumbled home from the pub in the afternoon/evening.
The owners of Court Farm are very welcoming and approachable through out the week should you have any problems or queries.
If you have a larger crowd, as we did, then you can also hire the cottage next door, another 2 bed and open up the gate in the garden to join the two outside spaces too. Both kitchens and living areas of the cottage were big enough to accommodate all 7 of us and the 3 dogs we had between us - perfect for Christmas!

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judyi941
Devoran, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holiday home”
Reviewed October 30, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Rowan Cottage at Exford is a perfect holiday home. Central for visiting Exmoor and coastal towns and villages. Spotlessly clean with every utensil/appliance you could wish for.

Date of stay: October 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2016
Thank you Judy and Steve for the lovely review and we hope to see you back on Exmoor soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smcdb
2 reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed October 13, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The cottage was in a lovely location and very clean with everything you need. Hosts were very friendly and helpful with nothing too much trouble. The area was gorgeous if you like the outdoors.

Date of stay: July 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 17, 2016
Thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed yourselves and hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah W
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect getaway”
Reviewed October 7, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Our second visit this year to this wonderful location. The accommodation was excellent and our hosts Dave and Michelle were so helpful. This is the perfect location for a rural getaway, which caters for all our needs. With our two border collie and all the great walks right on your doorstep, we could not wish for anything better. And just to top it off, the weather conditions were perfect for this time of year ( trekking in shorts in October - heaven). We have been back to the village of Exford for the past four years and we are still thrilled by the beauty of the surrounding area and we still have so much more to explore. Court Farm will most definitely be our base camp for many years to come. See you all again soon

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location to rural walks on your doorstep
Liked least: Nothing, the whole holiday was wonderful
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2016
Thanks Debbie & Bryan. Don't think we can add to this so look forward to seeing you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mcgilvg
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mr ”
Reviewed September 14, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Excellent accommodation, everything catered for. We came with 2 dogs & 1 horse. Great walks & riding, couldn't ask for more!
Many thanks

Date of stay: September 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2016
Thanks for the lovely review and we hope to welcome you all back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smcdb
2 reviews
“Tranquil”
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Hosts very friendly, accommodation excellent location superb. Great walks all very dog friendly . Pubs,beaches, very dog friendly.

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing