We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely country cottage.”
other travelers have booked this property
Front view of Mountain Ash
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view of Mountain Ash
Kitchen diner Kitchen diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Front view of Mountain Ash
Kitchen diner
Kitchen diner
Stairwell viewed from 1st floor
Bathroom with toilet, bath and shower over.
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge showing woodburner
Bedroom 1 - double with washbasin & tv
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2 - twin with washbasin
Bedroom 2
Enclosed rear garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Exford, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Amanda S
Bedale
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely country cottage. ”
Reviewed July 16, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The most lovely comfortable cottage set in rural Exford. Everything we could have wanted. Ideally situated for exploring Somerset, Devon and Cornwall. Very clean and comfortable. Dog friendly. The owners always on hand if needed with advice on where to visit. Dave even on hand to fetch the washing in if rain threatens. Would highly recommend and we will certainly return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2016
Thank you Amanda & Greg for this lovely review. We are always happy to advise guests on what to do, where to go etc. Can't always guarantee to be on hand to get the washing in if the weather turns though. Look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah W
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little piece of heaven”
Reviewed May 18, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Having spent a delightful week in Exford in this location, we can strongly recommend that it was everything we could have wished for. The location is central for all your needs - breathtaking scenery both rural and coastal. The cottage and garden was everything that my family and dogs could have wished for. Dave and Michelle were lovely hosts and took care of all our needs. We were so impressed that we have decided to return again in the very near future to bathe in the tranquillity of this lovely place. See you soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location to rural walks on your doorstep
Liked least: Nothing, the whole holiday was wonderful
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2016
Thank you Debbie & Bryan for this lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and are planning to return to enjoy more of Exmoor. As you found, the diverse scenery from the dramtic coastline (e.g. Valley of Rocks) to the high moorland (e.g. Dunkery Beacon), all in such a small area makes Exmoor a great place to visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthony d
1 review
“Excellent short break with 3 dogs”
Reviewed February 20, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Perfect location with plenty of walks from the door step. Very well equipped cottage and very cosy at night with the log burner. Great fenced garden for the dogs. Easy access to the village pubs and a morning paper. Next time our horses will come for a holiday.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2016
Thanks for this great review. We look forward to welcoming you back in April with the horses. Dave & Michele
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camplj
Bristol, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cottages”
Reviewed February 8, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Booked all three cottages for a family break in early January. The cottages were perfect and the most well equipped I have ever stayed in. The kitchens in Rowan and Mountain Ash were ideal for the entire family to congregate for a family meal and the dishwasher came in very handy! The lounges had plenty of comfy seating and the wood burners were an added bonus.

Upstairs was just as impressive with large rooms and new carpets, the shower was hot and powerful and the beds were very extremely comfortable. The area is so quiet it affords a great nights sleep and we even got used to the cockeral after the first couple of nights.

The cottages are ideally situated to explore the National Park and Exford itself is a delightful village with two dog and children friendly pubs and a very well equipped play park. The children were very excited one night when we took a torchlit walk to the pub which is only a 10 minutes along the river.

The garden (which we didn't use due to the weather) was huge and would be a lovely setting in warmer months.

The owners were very friendly and on hand for any needs from offering to top up the wood pile to dog sitting so we could take the children to the zoo.

Exmoor National Park is stunning with plenty to do for all ages, even in January our two three olds had a wonderful time, as did we all.

We will definitely be back soon and would recommend these cottages to everyone whether booking individually or as a family group.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 9, 2016
Thank you Louise for such a comprehensive review and we are glad you all enjoyed your stay. We can reiterate your point about the gardens which are secure for dogs and ideal for summer barbecues. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Dave & Michele Binks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed6460
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend at Mountain Ash cottage”
Reviewed January 31, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful, authentic cottage on the outskirts of Exford Village in the heart of Exmoor National Park.Centrally placed for exploring the Park and local beauty spots.
David was a fantastic host and nothing was too much trouble.The DVD player was not working on arrival and David had a replacement within minutes. Complete Rest & Relaxation in a large, well equipped, and clean cottage.
10 minute walk to the village centre that has 2 pubs/hotel/restaurant catering for all needs. . Fantastic walks for the dog who loved her stay too. Will definitely return next time we are in the area. Many Thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace & Quiet
Liked least: Rain !! Nothing detrimental about our stay
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 1, 2016
Thank you Nigel & Tracey for this lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you again and hopefully the weather will be a little better. Hopefully there won't be a problem with the DVD next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2015
Thank you for the lovely review Liz & Howard. A good point made about the torch - vital for late night walks from Autumn to Spring. Have had to use the mobile phone trick ourselves!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing