We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely gorgeous........”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Edgcott House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edgcott House
Ranked #1 of 8 Exford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous........”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My mum and I along with our two dogs came to stay in cascade cottage this weekend. Right from the start we fell in love with it. A traditional chocolate box cottage oozing with character. We had home made cake waiting for us on the kitchen table plus fresh bread, home made marmalade and chutney plus fresh eggs etc. So. Much thought has gone into every aspect of this holiday let.

The kitchen is well equipped to a high standard with many extra home comforts .

The sitting room is so cosy with two large sofas and a wonderful wood burning stove ....... Just what we needed after walking over the dales for hours .

The beds were so comfortable and spotlessly clean modern ensuite bathrooms.

The village itself is so English . Pretty village green, river running through , great pubs , friendly village shop and really happy friendly locals.

So, over all.......... Faultless and thank you so much for a perfect weekend. Tilly ( my dog ) and I will be back very soon with my partner ..... He'll love it xx

Juliet

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julietscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
91
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bedarieux, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We booked two nights at Edgcott House, having picked it as being a highly rated B&B in the Exmoor area. We know Exmoor well but had not stayed at Edgcott House before. It was wonderful. Not only was the room very comfortable but everything had been very well thought out - fresh homemade cakes on the tea/coffee tray, bottles of spring water, lovely toiletries in the bathroom. Everything was beautifully clean. The bed was the most comfortable we had ever slept on! But, as for the breakfasts, they were just amazing - a different menu every morning and everything you could possibly wish for. My husband, who has spent his life travelling for work all over the world and staying in 5-star hotels, said they were the best breakfasts he had ever had. The dog enjoyed it too. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laborador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We booked in at the last minute having been let down on our previous accommodation. This is one of the best B&B s we have stayed in and everything is so good it is hard to find anything that could be improved on. The only slight problem we found was the mattress was a little firm on our bed and I woke up with back ache both mornings whereas we have slept well in more comfortable beds in other accommodation. Everything else was spotless, beautifully furnished and of top quality. The breakfasts are 'out of this world ' the menu's changing daily. I was especially thrilled to find a chef that understands vegetarians and chooses organic too. We skipped lunch one day as the food at Edgcott House is so satisfying and fantastically fresh. Simon is the perfect host and we have never been so well looked after. Can't wait to go again!

Room Tip: Are there any rooms that are less than good in this wonderful house? The front of the house is sunn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babs-4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We've just got back from Edgcott House and wish we were still there. It has to be the best B&B we've stayed in this year.

The hosts were lovely. The room was perfect and spotlessly clean with delicious homemade flapjacks greeting us on the first day and chocolate cake on the second day.

The long room - sitting/breakfast room - was beautifully decorated and perfect for relaxing in in the evening before going out for dinner. The hosts have obviously taken much care and attention renovating the house and rooms.

The highlight of the whole stay has to be the breakfast which changed everyday. Fruit salad with apple & mint sugar followed by kippers with fennel butter on the first day and smoked trout, poacked eggs and asparagus with hollandaise on the second morning.

I've already booked a stay for my parents and can't recommend this B&B enough. We can't wait to go back. At least I remembered to buy some homemade jams and chutneys to remind us of our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucyc84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Edgcott is a small country house that has been a guesthouse for many years now. It was always characterful and popular with those in the know. It has recently been taken over by energetic new management who have clearly invested a good deal in a really fine and very sensitive restoration/refurbishment. The character has been retained, even much detail, but it feels so much fresher now than when I stayed there a decade ago.

I stayed in the single room and it was really rather delightful. The door opened out into the corridor, rather oddly, then one took a couple of steps down into the room, giving it somehow the feeling of a cabin in a rather nice yacht. The bathroom was a generous size with a proper bath and shower over and high quality soap and gel and so forth.

The elegant long room downstairs has been made very comfortable and welcoming. Breakfast is also taken in there and the menu is truly exceptional. I had the eggs benedict (with bacon rather than the usual ham, which worked extremely well), which was delicious and beautifully presented.

Edgcott provides an excellent base for enjoying Exford (I'd try the Crown for dinner, but there's also the White Horse) and Exmoor in general, whether inland places like Malmesmead or Brendon, or the coast is in Porlock, Porlock Weir and Lynmouth.

If Edgcott House isn't one of the best guesthouses in the country, I'd be amazed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinervaWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights for my 40th birthday, so i was praying that the accommodation was going to be as good as the other reviews said it was - i was not disappointed. The room was beautifully furnished and spotless from top to bottom. Fresh milk, homemade cake and quality toiletries were a few of the many thoughtful extras provided. The whole house has been superbly well decorated; it is immediately apparent that each piece of furniture and ornament has been carefully and painstakingly selected. The breakfast menu was extensive and all food (including tea and coffee) brought locally, the food presentation was, as with everything else in the house, done with thought and care, and tasted wonderful. As if this wasn't enough incentive to get you booking, did i also mention that the house sat in a most beautiful part of Exmoor with 2 pubs/hotels half a mile away and was also dog friendly - perfection.

Room Tip: Rooms 1,2 and 3 are south facing and have good views across the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

our friends treated us to a night's stay at this charming country inn. the rooms were very comfortable and private, with great attention to detail such as homemade cupcakes in the room with fresh milk in a thermos for our tea. the grounds are lovely with a stream bubbling through, a rich English garden with herbs used in the breakfast (we saw the owner go out to pick the mint that appeared on our plates moments later). The hosts were attentive without being intrusive, and their breakfasts (cooked to order!) were superb. Highly recommend this location for a true getaway into the English countryside.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exford
0.2 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
13.9 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
521 reviews
4.8 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
645 reviews
6.1 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
327 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel, Exford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgcott House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgcott House

Property: Edgcott House
Address: Edgcott Road | Nr Minehead, Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7QG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Exford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Exford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edgcott House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in peacefully surroundings a short walk from the centre of Exford. Edgcott House offers a luxurious and comfortable place to stay. Its rooms are plush and well appointed with 300 thread count bed linen that makes your time in bed a delight. Every room has a TV, tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary wifi and spacious en-suite facilities with a range of products with which to pamper yourself with. Downstairs the entrance hall offers a library of books to enjoy in front of its wood burning stove. The 50ft Long Room, with its Trompe l’oeil decoration, wood burners and sumptuous leather sofas and chairs offers the perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edgcott House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgcott House Exford, Exmoor National Park, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing