We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and attention to detail”
Review of Edgcott House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edgcott House
Ranked #1 of 8 Exford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Edgcott House has been beautiflly restored by Simon and Penny.The whole house was completed to a very high standard and the attention to detail is phenominal. There are beautiful organic toiletries in the bathroom and cottonwool balls and cottonbuds in the bedroom along with a well stocked tea and coffee tray including fresh milk and wonderful homemade cakes each day. The breakfasts are out of this world and the choices which change daily too many to mention.
It is set on the edge of a very friendly village which serves excellent food at the Crown Inn.
I hope to return soon

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cashmanHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 156 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in a super-king room (number 2) and loved it. Other than the local cockerel, it was so quiet and the bed was unbelievably comfortable. The breakfasts changed every morning and were wonderful, I had a full english one morning and eggs Benedict the next and it couldn't be faulted. The owners were also very welcoming. The building is in really good condition having been recently refurbished and my partner sat in the living area one afternoon and said it was really comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Edgcott house is a beautiful period house that has been renovated to a wonderful standard by the current owners. It is furnished in keeping with the age of the house but all mod cons are also in abundance. It is situated on the edge of the village of Exford in the heart of Exmoor national park. A 10 minute stroll into the village & you find 2 good pubs for food together with a small general store & Post Office.
We had room 1 which was generous in size with a lovely view of the garden & countryside and as it faces south had the sun streaming in all day (yes we had lots of sun!!).
The small touches such as gorgeous toiletries, fresh milk in the rooms and delicious complimentary homemade cake provided each day were a great treat.
The breakfasts were phenomenal. Penny is obviously a great cook & the range of imaginative dishes that she offered were exceptional. As well as the usual 'full english' or continental styles of food you could expect smoothies, pancakes, waffles, kippers, porridge, smoked trout, duck eggs................I could go on! Most of the produce is also locally sourced & so tasty. Something for everyone.
These delightful owners make you feel very welcome & are very happy to advise on days out.
The whole experince was much more like a small country house hotel. Simon & Penny don't change a thing it's just perfect. 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francophile5310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I can only say that Edgcott House is one of the loveliest places I've ever stayed - faultless luxury in the bedroom and bathroom with wonderful toiletries and extra touches that we didn't expect like freshly made cake every day in our room! The breakfasts are out of this world - talk about fine dining! The hosts have just the right amount of interaction with you and are very welcoming. The whole place was superbly clean and fresh with the wonderful long room to relax by the fire. It was everything I wanted our three night stay to be and I very much hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Wow!
What a fantastic B&B. The house is simply stunning, clean, and everything to make your stay more comfortable has been thought of.
Penny and Simon deserve every credit as our week-end stay was simply perfect! I have never experienced a breakfast as good as that.
We intend returning.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debris36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Wow. This place is one of the best B&Bs we've ever stayed in, and we've stayed in a few! The food was incredible - a menu of prepared breakfasts, fruits, juices and smoothies - everything. One of the guests had a three course breakfast. The hosts were very friendly and helpful with local info. The place is beautiful, it was recently renovated to a very high standard. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pitchhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Lovely B&B, fantastic breakfast and Simon and Penny very welcoming. Would highly recommend to anyone visiting this area. Will be returning !!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaG25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exford hotels
0.4 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
0 mi away
Stockleigh Lodge
Stockleigh Lodge
#8 of 8 in Exford
16 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel, Exford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Exmoor Lodge Guest House
0 mi away
Edgcott Cottage B&B
Edgcott Cottage B&B
#6 of 8 in Exford
27 reviews
0 mi away
Monks Cleeve
Monks Cleeve
#5 of 8 in Exford
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgcott House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgcott House

Address: Edgcott Road | Nr Minehead, Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7QG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Exford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Exford
Price Range: $101 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edgcott House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in peacefully surroundings a short walk from the centre of Exford. Edgcott House offers a luxurious and comfortable place to stay. Its rooms are plush and well appointed with 300 thread count bed linen that makes your time in bed a delight. Every room has a TV, tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary wifi and spacious en-suite facilities with a range of products with which to pamper yourself with. Downstairs the entrance hall offers a library of books to enjoy in front of its wood burning stove. The 50ft Long Room, with its Trompe l’oeil decoration, wood burners and sumptuous leather sofas and chairs offers the perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Edgcott House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgcott House Exford, Exmoor National Park, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing