We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of Edgcott House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Edgcott House
Ranked #1 of 8 Exford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We had an excellent stay at Edgcott House. Perfect location, beautiful house, lovely touches in the room, absolutely delicious breakfast (once you've managed to make a decision from fantastic range on offer!) and a very nice host. We stayed in the cheaper room, but felt like we'd stayed in one of the more expensive as we munched through the delicious chocolate brownie that greeted us upon arrival. For one night we were the only guests, and thinking about it afterwards, we relised it would've made it perfect if we'd been given an upgrade in the situation. Other than that, one of the best b&b's we've stayed in. Thanks.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiffsmiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 156 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights last year, we were made to feel very welcome, the house is beautiful and the rooms were fantastic- clean and comfortable. As I was competing in a triathlon event- I had to be up at 4 a.m. I'd asked for a breakfast pack of some kind, expecting perhaps a piece of fruit and pack of cereals, but awoke to find that Penny had got out of bed to feed us a wonderful breakfast...
I really can't recommend Edgecott house highly enough, it felt like home from home for us, and we shall definitely return the next time we stay in Exmoor. The fresh home made cakes and biscuits in our room were the cherry on top, and breakfast on the second day was awesome...Book it, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Edgcott house was our 3rd B&B stay in Exmoor and by far the best. Accommodation was fantastic, cleanliness superb. Lovely decor and modern large bathrooms.
We had our 3 dogs with us and were made very welcome. Gorgeous grounds and garden.
Ideally situated for exploring Exmoors fantastic walks-some on the doorstep.
Breakfast was outstanding with immense choice.The only tiny gripe for us was having to share a table on 2 out of the 3 mornings.
Hosts were very accommodating with ad-hoc requests and we will definitely be back.
I stay in 4 /5 star hotels on a weekly basis due to my occupation but I would far rather stay somewhere as lovely as this.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlooking gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lv700479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

A truly beautiful house where attention has been paid to every detail. Our rooms were spotless and equipped to a high standard. The breakfast choice and quality of the food was superb. We would have no hesitation in recommending this gem to anyone and we would certainly choose to stay at Edgcott House again. Thank you Penny and Simon for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I have visited Edgcott twice and both times were excellent. The house has been restored to a high standard and is in a lovely peaceful location.
The hosts are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble.
The three rooms we have stayed in have all been spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable.

The Crown in the centre of Exford was very good on both nights, and a short walk from the house.

Breakfast at Edgcott is a great way to start the day, well cooked local produce and an extensive selection.

There are also some lovely walks from the front door, and a couple of paddocks for the dogs.

When planning a trip to Exmoor I never think of staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We had a magnificent one-night stay at Edgcott House. The property is beautifully maintained and the rooms very comfortable and homey. We appreciated the homemade brownies and tea in our room upon arrival. The extra bed was already made up for our son. Everything was spotless and well-maintained. The public areas were comfortable and inviting. The view was serene and lovely. Breakfast was superb. Very well-prepared to order and they accommodated our son's requests for the pancakes. I felt like we were staying with friends or family but our privacy was respected.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillyPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We have stayed in a few places around Exmoor and Edgcott House was a real find! The hosts are very welcoming, the location is great, the double room and ensuite we had was very comfortable with good facilities, the building is beautiful and has been sympathetically restored. There is a lovely lounge area to sit and read some wonderful books whilst discussing the events of the day. The hosts Penny and Simon come from a catering background and its shows, the breakfast menu is fantastic and has something for everyone. A combination of some stunning walks and a stay at Edgcott House made for a perfect break. This is excellent value - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theameys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exford hotels
0.4 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
0 mi away
Stockleigh Lodge
Stockleigh Lodge
#8 of 8 in Exford
16 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel, Exford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Exmoor Lodge Guest House
0 mi away
Monks Cleeve
Monks Cleeve
#5 of 8 in Exford
18 reviews
0 mi away
Edgcott Cottage B&B
Edgcott Cottage B&B
#6 of 8 in Exford
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgcott House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgcott House

Address: Edgcott Road | Nr Minehead, Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7QG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Exford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Exford
Price Range: $103 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edgcott House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in peacefully surroundings a short walk from the centre of Exford. Edgcott House offers a luxurious and comfortable place to stay. Its rooms are plush and well appointed with 300 thread count bed linen that makes your time in bed a delight. Every room has a TV, tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary wifi and spacious en-suite facilities with a range of products with which to pamper yourself with. Downstairs the entrance hall offers a library of books to enjoy in front of its wood burning stove. The 50ft Long Room, with its Trompe l’oeil decoration, wood burners and sumptuous leather sofas and chairs offers the perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Edgcott House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgcott House Exford, Exmoor National Park, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing