We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exmoor wandering for lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Crown Hotel, Exford
Ranked #2 of 8 Exford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stopped off here for lunch in the bar as we have done before. Didn't fancy the lentil soup so chose ham on brown baguettes. They came packed with flavourful ham with loads of crisps, salad and coleslaw. The baguettes crispy and tasty - the best we have had recently. Wonderful. Cannot understand why it was not packed out.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paula b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbrides, Owner at The Crown Hotel, Exford, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for your review. All our food is freshly prepared and locally sourced so it's always nice when we get good feedback and I'll pass your compliments onto chef.
We hope you visit us again next time you're in the area.
Best wishes - Sara, Dan & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 190 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

Visited Exford recently and camped nearby this delightful hote/pub/restaurant. The food was delicious on both visits, the menu is varied and good value for money. Although the bar was full of locals there was a great welcome. The landlady/proprietress was really friendly . Would thoroughly recommend for a pint of real ale or a quality meal (or both as we enjoyed).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henr1etta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbrides, Owner at The Crown Hotel, Exford, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments and glad you enjoyed our food and ale. We are very lucky to have a bar that has a good mix of locals and visitors, making for a good friendly atmosphere.

We hope to see you again should you visit Exmoor.
Best wishes
Sara, Dan & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Crown is an hotel but also an appealing village pub which serves very good food. We were welcomed in the bar and given menus. The prices are reasonable and there is variety of choice. The well kept beer and cider occupied us while the meal was prepared. The atmosphere is cheerful but not too loud. There are interesting pictures and rural artefacts on the walls.

The food is locally sourced and freshly cooked. The main course was generous, delicious and beautifully arranged on the plate, while being served in a friendly and charming manner. The desserts were terrific, especially the sticky toffee pudding.

We spent a most enjoyable and relaxing evening in The Crown bar and would certainly return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Viaggiatoreinglese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbrides, Owner at The Crown Hotel, Exford, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are glad you enjoyed your meal with us, all our food is freshly prepared and cooked by our team of chefs who work hard to create good food that is locally sourced, everything is homemade and our sticky toffee pudding is becoming quite famous!
We hope to see you again next time you visit.

Best wishes - Sara, Dan & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My Wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in August, and the rooms were OK, if a little sad, in need of some refurbishment (wall paper coming off the wall in the bathroom, probably because the extractor fan was not working). The lounge was a pleasant quiet place to read in comfort.
The breakfast was good with a variety of foods, including a very good smoked salmon with scrabbled eggs. The dinner was quite expensive, at £28 per person for 2 courses (probably the reason that we were on our own in the Dining room, on our first night, and the Dining room was empty on our third night), we ate in the nearby White Horse Inn on the 2nd & 3rd nights, where the service was very good and the prices more reasonable.
Overall, a fairly pleasant place, but expensive to have Dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorsetpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbrides, Owner at The Crown Hotel, Exford, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for your review. We have now addressed the fan problem and thank you for bringing it to our attention. We do have a bar/bistro which serves an excellent selection of home-cooked meals on an a la carte basis, although a different dining experience and the restaurant does include bread and nibbles in the set price of all meals.
We're glad you managed time to relax in our lounge.
Once again thank you for your comments.
Best wishes Sara, Dan & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Had a great two night stay. Perfect hosts and a lovely hotel in a really lovely location. Even better there was no mobile phone signal for miles around. Dined at the hotel on both nights - we were so impressed with the standard and choice the first night that we decided there and then we would dine the following night just to try some more of the dishes and we weren't disappointed. We had slow cooked shoullder of lamb, beef pie, cod and chips and rib eye steak and tried the peppercorn and blue cheese sauces - yum, also the fried onion rings were awesome,portions really generous too - in fact we were still full at breakfast the following day but being greedy decided to fit in a fried breakfast too which was really tasty, also nearly forgot to mention the sticky toffee pudding which was awesome. Our room was on the top floor and really quiet we had good sleeps both nights, very clean and comfortable with nice touches like the bottled water, biscuits and toileteries and fluffy towels. Will look forward to returning but would prefer to have longer than 2 nights next time. Thank you all for a lovely relaxing weekend,

Room Tip: we were on top floor which was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeff m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbrides, Owner at The Crown Hotel, Exford, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments and I'll let chef know how much you enjoyed the food. Mobile phone signal is available on some networks (Orange and Vodaphone) and we do have wi-fi for those who need to keep in touch, although guests do tend to like the novelty of 'getting away from it all'.
We'd love to see you both again and hope you can stay longer next time and have a well earned break!
Best wishes Sara, Dan & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Was staying in exford so first night popped in for a drink, second night we had a meal the staff was really friendly and accommodating, great place to bring your dog too....Had a lovely meal and will definitely go back if in the area again :-)

Good selection of real ales apparently so I have been informed by my partner .....

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 1968joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbrides, Owner at The Crown Hotel, Exford, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you your review and glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us. All our food is locally sourced and freshly prepared and my husband Dan is in charge of the beer, so he'll be pleased by your comments.
Hope to see you again.
Best wishes Sara, Dan & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We booked very last minute for a weekend away, all went smoothly, lovely hotel, the room was absolutely spotless. Very comfy bed, and lots of nice extras, complimentary bottles of Hildon Water, biscuits, hot chocolate etc (not that we needed that at the moment).

We at the in bar, food was fantastically good, superb white wine with our meal, which i now can't remember the name of. Lovely atmosphere all round.

Lovely secret garden at the back of the property by the stream which we only found on the morning we left, really lovely to sit there on a sunny day with a drink of wine or two!

All staff friendly, landlady nothing was too much trouble, breakfast freshly cooked to order, great choice, kippers, haddock as well as the usual full english and smoked salmon and scrambled eggs and proper coffee. Would certainly stay again, worth every penny.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dollybeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbrides, Owner at The Crown Hotel, Exford, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your last minute break with us. Our water gardens are lovely, especially with this beautiful weather we are having. The bar always has a nice atmosphere and we are lucky to have a good mix of locals and tourists, pleased you enjoyed the food and wine too!
Hope to see you both again next time you visit.
Best wishes - Sara, Dan & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exford
0.1 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
4.4 mi away
Exmoor House
Exmoor House
#1 of 4 in Wheddon Cross
50 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Royal Oak Inn
The Royal Oak Inn
#1 of 2 in Withypool
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Edgcott House
Edgcott House
#1 of 8 in Exford
156 reviews
0 mi away
Monks Cleeve
Monks Cleeve
#5 of 8 in Exford
18 reviews
0.4 mi away
Edgcott Cottage B&B
Edgcott Cottage B&B
#6 of 8 in Exford
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel, Exford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel, Exford

Address: Exmoor National Park | Exford, Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Exford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Exford
Price Range: $138 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel, Exford 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th-century family-run coaching inn at the heart of the Exmoor National Park. Great food, real ales, fine wines, log fires & friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Crown Hotel, Exford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel, Exford Hotel Exford
The Crown Hotel, Exford Exmoor National Park, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing