We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“our stay in the crown in Oct 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Crown Hotel, Exford
Ranked #2 of 8 Exford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“our stay in the crown in Oct 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Super two day stay in mid Oct. 2012 -wonderful reception ,excellent room and first class meals .We chose the two course option for dinner each night and it was more than enough for two very good eaters .

Service at all stages and in every area was excellent . Have tried to find a criticism to balance all this and despite being a fussy traveller could find none .
We stayed in room 7 which was a super size but a peep into room 2 confirms that there are others like it

We will certainly return and in the meantime recommend it to all our friends



Will return and in the meantime recommend to friends .

Room Tip: 7 or 2 are both spacious and overlooking the front -with the afternoon sun streaming in -despite bei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alansheila_whitfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    52
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
23
103
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here recently for one night. It's a lovely hotel in a beautiful town. Great beer and great food. The owners couldn't have been more pleasant if they tried. Thoroughly recommended. And, if you're interested, they allow dogs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a very attractive old coaching inn, and although we weren't staying there we were attracted by the menu & the specials on the board to try it for supper. Despite the fact there was a wedding party going on in the restaurant and the bar was already bustling, the Crown still managed to offer us a delicious meal stylishly presented. Well worth a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crysse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

This hotel is a little gem situated in the village of Exford in Exmoor National Park.Our room was large and spotlessly clean. The food both at breakfast and dinner was excellent with lots of choice.The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. We understand it is family run and not part of some hotel chain and this shows. Why can't more hotels be like this one?
The hotel is very well placed for walking and sightseeing. We will definitely visit again!

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front with a view of the village
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThelmaandLouise50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Level Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Had a great veggie meal in the bar on a recent trip to exmoor. Not the usual soggy pasta but a lovely seared potato gnocchi dish with artichoke and sundries tomato. Lovely meal, nice friendly pub and good service, lots of locals in here so it must be good

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cezmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

I ate here both nights of my stay in Exford (part of a longer visit to the area) and found the food as good as ever it was. The first night I ate in the bar, the second in the dining room. The same food is available in the bar as in the restaurant but also some other more pub-grub things. The restaurant offered fixed price two and three course menus but were accommodating of my preference for having a starter, two more starters, no main course and a pudding. These were well-conceived, well cooked and beautifully plated. Service was efficient and friendly, the wine list represented a good range of wines at un-grabby prices. A meal in the dining room here is well up to AA 2 or 3 rosette standard, in my view.

The dining-room is a cosy but not cramped room, hung with attractive hunting pictures. The lounge is comfortable and cheerful. The landlady is very friendly, helpful and welcoming.

On my previous visit 8 or 10 years before (could it really have been that long?) the same could easily have been said. High standards are a consistent feature.

A visit to Exmoor should definitely include dinner at the Crown.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinervaWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

On our second trip to Exmoor & Exford we stayed here. The inn was lovely, great breakfast, snggly, just what we were after. Evening food at the inn was great too (they made us food even though we had arrived loads later than planned at 9.40pm) and the atmosphere in the bar with the very friendly locals was perfect. Very enjoyable and certainly having stayed in Exford before, The Crown would still be my first choice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PLease_take_me_away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exford
0.1 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
9.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
14.2 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
10.9 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel, Exford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel, Exford

Property: The Crown Hotel, Exford
Address: Exmoor National Park | Exford, Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Exford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Exford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel, Exford 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th-century family-run coaching inn at the heart of the Exmoor National Park. Great food, real ales, fine wines, log fires & friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crown Hotel, Exford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel, Exford Hotel Exford
The Crown Hotel, Exford Exmoor National Park, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing