We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar meals”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Crown Hotel, Exford
Ranked #2 of 8 Exford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Had a great veggie meal in the bar on a recent trip to exmoor. Not the usual soggy pasta but a lovely seared potato gnocchi dish with artichoke and sundries tomato. Lovely meal, nice friendly pub and good service, lots of locals in here so it must be good

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cezmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for The Crown Hotel, Exford
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 185 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

I ate here both nights of my stay in Exford (part of a longer visit to the area) and found the food as good as ever it was. The first night I ate in the bar, the second in the dining room. The same food is available in the bar as in the restaurant but also some other more pub-grub things. The restaurant offered fixed price two and three course menus but were accommodating of my preference for having a starter, two more starters, no main course and a pudding. These were well-conceived, well cooked and beautifully plated. Service was efficient and friendly, the wine list represented a good range of wines at un-grabby prices. A meal in the dining room here is well up to AA 2 or 3 rosette standard, in my view.

The dining-room is a cosy but not cramped room, hung with attractive hunting pictures. The lounge is comfortable and cheerful. The landlady is very friendly, helpful and welcoming.

On my previous visit 8 or 10 years before (could it really have been that long?) the same could easily have been said. High standards are a consistent feature.

A visit to Exmoor should definitely include dinner at the Crown.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank MinervaWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

On our second trip to Exmoor & Exford we stayed here. The inn was lovely, great breakfast, snggly, just what we were after. Evening food at the inn was great too (they made us food even though we had arrived loads later than planned at 9.40pm) and the atmosphere in the bar with the very friendly locals was perfect. Very enjoyable and certainly having stayed in Exford before, The Crown would still be my first choice.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PLease_take_me_away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

A very warm welcome as you arrive (albeit a little trak from the car park around to the front with heavy bags). Nice little garden and stream to have a nice walk to stretch your legs too!
Good sized clean room with all the "extras" provided. Limted amout of eatieries in the village so chose to eat dinner in house. We were not disappointed! Decor, cleanliness and waiting staff were all first class. The dishes were perfectly presented and a good choice of wines completed our day on a high. Many thanks again to Georgina our waitress.

A spot-on hearty breakfast fuelled us for the next leg of our trip.

Special offers have arrived through the post for our next vsit as well, what more could you want?!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We have just arrived home from a stay at the crown ,and loved it.The bar was busy and you have to wait for your food ,but as it is home cooked , it is so worth waiting for .The lamb and the steak pie were some of the best we have had.The breakfast was just as good although I would have liked more than one slice of bacon .The prices are a bit higher than usual pub food but we were given a menu on arrival so knew what we were getting.
The room was lovely and clean, the bathroom modern.and the heated towel rail on which although it is june makes all the difference.
The staff are friendly and helpfull .The hotel has lovely gardens .
We would certainly recomend this for any one wanting to unwind.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is a wonderfull,friendly hotel in a beautifull setting.Rooms are very clean with great comfy beds.breakfast was superb as was the food in the bar....cozy fire in the lounge area...will stay here again next time in the area...

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janlomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

7 of us went here for dinner after a days' long walk on Dartmoor. We had to change time of booking last minute, which caused no fuss at all (less common than you might think!). Great beers, good homemade food (at reasonable £12 - £15 a head prices), and warm (Northern!) service. Will absolutely return. Any minuses? Maybe deserts (around £7) a little pricey.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelHappyExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exford
0.1 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
9.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
725 reviews
6.0 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
607 reviews
5.0 mi away
Exmoor Forest Inn
Exmoor Forest Inn
#1 of 2 in Simonsbath
392 reviews
0.4 mi away
Edgcott House
Edgcott House
#1 of 8 in Exford
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel, Exford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel, Exford

Address: Exmoor National Park | Exford, Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Exford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Exford
Price Range: $150 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel, Exford 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th-century family-run coaching inn at the heart of the Exmoor National Park. Great food, real ales, fine wines, log fires & friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Crown Hotel, Exford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel, Exford Hotel Exford
The Crown Hotel, Exford Exmoor National Park, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing