We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pat, Derek & "Barney" (our beautiful Whippet)”
Review of Holmdale B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holmdale B&B
Ranked #3 of 8 Exford B&B and Inns
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pat, Derek & "Barney" (our beautiful Whippet)”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at Holmdale ,what a wonderful stay it was ! Caroline was a great host , nothing was too much trouble . the room was beautiful and the view from our room was fantastic .Breakfast in the conservertory was breathtaking too overlooking beautiful garden and valley , breakfast was great too ! No one could fault it . We look forward to returning .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onthemove262013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our stay was made very enjoyable by Caroline's excellent hosting skills. She has created a welcoming and comfortable bed and breakfast. Rooms are clean and tastefully decorated, with fantastic views of the valley. Breakfast is delicious and served in the conservatory with further beautiful views of the garden and hills opposite. A real delight to stay here

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbiekip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this lovely B&B. We received a very warm and friendly welcome from Caroline and David. The rooms are clean and tastefully decorated. Our room had a wonderful view over the beautiful garden into the valley. We cannot agree more with others that Caroline is very friendly and obliging and her knowledge of the area is second to none, she will advise you where to go and how to get there. Thank you Caroline for a wonderful stay. We will certainly stay with you again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sleeper47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We enjoyed our time at Holmdale very much. Caroline is a friendly, flexible and obliging host, was happy to adjust breakfast time/content to suit our requests, and offered useful suggestions for local walks. The breakfast room is, as others have said, a beautiful place to start the day, with a lovely view over the valley. The garden is delightful, and the B&B is very close to two good Inns. We're happy to recommend Holmdale!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve1962Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drimpton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have visited Exford regularly for the last 10 years staying in various self-catering cottages, b&bs and hotels in the area so we thought we knew most of this small village's accommodation choices! However we hadn't discovered Holmedale - until last weekend!
Along with Jazz our Greyhound we spent a two nights in Caroline & David's lovely house and would recommend it to anyone - especially dog-owners as Jazz was made to feel very welcome, even by Poppy Caroline's gorgeous Jack Russell. We were made to feel instantly at home with just enough attention without being overwhelmed.
The room was very tastefully decorated and furnished and the bed was really comfortable - a nice firm mattress with just the right bit of softness. Our delicious breakfast was taken in the lovely conservatory - great coffee - and set us up nicely for the day's sight-seeing.
Thanks both and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Lovely B&B with nice views in perfect Exford. A fantastic little place. Caroline was an excellent host and the room was outstanding. Thanks again to Caroline to recommend the Crown for food! We will be definitely returning!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gko13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at Holmdale for 3 nights and would have no hesitation in recommending it. Caroline was very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The room was lovely and spotless as was the rest of the house. Our leisurely breakfasts served in the conservatory were delicious and set us up for the day. We had a wonderful relaxing break and appreciated the advice on where to eat, visit etc. A delightful, friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyN666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exford
0.1 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
14.1 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
5.5 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Edgcott House
Edgcott House
#1 of 8 in Exford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
4.9 mi away
Exmoor Forest Inn
Exmoor Forest Inn
#1 of 2 in Simonsbath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel, Exford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmdale B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmdale B&B

Property: Holmdale B&B
Address: Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Exford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Exford
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Holmdale B&B Exford, Exmoor National Park, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing