We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, welcoming and good value”
Review of Mellstock House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mellstock House
Ranked #5 of 15 Combe Martin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

A weekend away with the girls and we had the friendliest of welcomes. Great value for money and our only regret is that we didn't eat there in the evening as the food looked great. Clean, comfortable, affordable and welcoming, what more do you want when away for the weekend?

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KDBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellstock, Owner at Mellstock House, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

We really appreciate your comments and glad you all enjoyed your stay with us.
Next time you will have to have an evening meal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
There are newer reviews for Mellstock House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 203 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

Overnight stay only. Made very welcome.
Great location for walking or visiting the surrounding area on a longer break.
Lovely house, comfortable and clean room plus a great breakfast.
Would recommend.....
Good value.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank Walt6075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellstock, Owner at Mellstock House, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us at Mellstock House. We are pleased your stay was comfortable and you enjoyed the choices at breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

This wonderful b & b is in a lovely seaside area. Penny & Chris were fabulous hosts. Our room was delightful, with a lovely view. It is a short walk into town and to the seaside with lots of lovely walking tracks around the area. I would thoroughly recommend a stay here. They can even provide you with a meal.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellstock, Owner at Mellstock House, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write review following your stay with us at Mellstock House. We are glad you enjoyed your "room with a view" and made the most of the beautiful walks in the area.
Not sure if you have made your way back to Melbourne yet but hope you have or had a safe trip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night while walking the Southwest Coast Path. Very walker friendly, and located very close to the path. The owners were very friendly and welcoming. They provided a pleasant evening meal which was very good value for money. The room itself was very clean but slightly under lit. The shower was excellent. Definitely recommended for SWCP walkers.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sidewinder4504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellstock, Owner at Mellstock House, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us at Mellstock House. Your comments are much appreciated. We have found that using the energy saving light bulbs does mean that the lighting in your room is not so bright now despite having bedside lights as well. We are trying to source more suitable bulbs. During the summer we hadn't noticed this but now the nights are drawing in it is something we need to address for next season. We are glad you enjoyed your evening meal and hope you enjoyed your walk along the SWCP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were attending a wedding and this was on the list of recommended hotels and B&B's

Must admit to booking late and feeling like i just took what was available.

How wrong could i have been.

Let me get the one negative out of the way first which is.....there is very limited parking.

Now the good bits. Firstly the welcome by one of our hosts John was friendly and pleasantly informal. The room we were shown was airy, wonderful and pleasantly decorated and had a dual aspect including a rear side view of the landscape, sea and one of the beaches.

The bed was excellent and induced a deep sleep. The room we had (like a suite) had two TV's DVD stereo, tea and coffee with buscuits.

There is a small bar which is self service with an honesty box but has a patio area again having a view of the sea and on a clear day Wales and opposite sheep strewn fields and hills.

Though there was dinner available we never tried it but breakfast was a triumph. There was a small selection of cereals and fruit but the freshly brewed coffee and Full English with batch/farmhouse or brown bread was fantastic with Penny and John doing a marvellous job......Oh and there were other cooked options and you got your egg exactly as you like it.

This is a fantastic B&B and would be very happy to stay here again with two wonderful hosts.

The hotel is very close to the beach and town centre but has a steepish hill which may concern the infirm or disabled

Room Tip: Ask for room 103
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 747wade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellstock, Owner at Mellstock House, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us at Mellstock House. Your comments are much appreciated. We have parking for 3 cars and generally we have a lot of walkers staying who don't have a car. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast and your "flipped over" eggs!!!! Hope you had a safe journey home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Penny gave us a very warm welcome on arrival and made us feel comfortable from the very beginning. We had a wonderful, nicely furnished room with a great view over the garden to the sea/harbour bay. The nice bathroom was, as the whole room, spotlessly clean. Everything was in a very well-kept condition. As the days had already become a bit chilly, we appreciated a good working heating very much. In the evening we had a delicious dinner and in the morning a likewise breakfast. We enjoyed our stay and can absolutely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellstock, Owner at Mellstock House, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

We hope you continued to enjoy your walk along the South West coat path. Couldn't remember when you were due to set off home to Germany!. Glad you enjoyed your evening meal and breakfast. Thank you very much for your kind and thoughtful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I have to say it: wonderful! We were made to feel so welcome and will be returning in October for the weekend with all of our friends. Mellstock House is spotlessly clean; the owners go out of their way to please and the food was delicious. A glowing report and it's thoroughly deserved. If you come to Combe Martin - stay here - you'll not regret it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellstock, Owner at Mellstock House, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

great to have you both for the weekend and thank you for the review. I think we all enjoyed listening to Simon Armitage reading his poems at Combe Martin museum. Hopefully will see you in October if you can make it again so soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combe Martin
0.6 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
606 reviews
0.0 mi away
Acorns Guest House
Acorns Guest House
#4 of 15 in Combe Martin
125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Channel Vista Guest House
Channel Vista Guest House
#1 of 15 in Combe Martin
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Saffron House Hotel
Saffron House Hotel
#8 of 15 in Combe Martin
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Poplars Hotel
Poplars Hotel
#9 of 15 in Combe Martin
88 reviews
1.2 mi away
La-Gallerie Bed and Breakfast
La-Gallerie Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 15 in Combe Martin
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mellstock House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellstock House

Address: Mellstock House Woodlands, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Combe Martin
Price Range: $87 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mellstock House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal base for short breaks in North Devon we are situated in Combe Martin on the Edge of Exmoor. Bed & Breakfast accommodation in a beautiful 4 star guest house, 6 bedrooms, all en-suite, most with countryside and sea views. One minute from the beach, fully licensed, serving home cooked breakfasts and freshly prepared evening meals. An ideal base for all outdoor activities including walking holidays, horse riding and golfing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Mellstock House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mellstock House Combe Martin, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing