We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mellstock House
Nearby Hotels
Sandy Cove Hotel(Berrynarbor)
$202
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Varley House(Ilfracombe)
$103
$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Osborne Hotel(Ilfracombe)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Bath House Hotel(Ilfracombe)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Carlton Hotel(Ilfracombe)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Court Hotel(Ilfracombe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveler rating
172
28
6
0
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
172
28
6
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspot of teaowners johnwalking the sw coast pathsuperior roomon arrivalfull englishbreakfasts were excellentgreat hostslovely homemadewarm welcomecottage piehome from homefresh fruittop floorother guestsnext morninglovely room
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 210 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I did not actually stay there as I opted for somewhere else that had self-catering a couple of miles away. John and Penny were very kind and helpful when I communicated with them, and I would have been very happy to have stayed there, Combe Martin is in a lovely area of Devon, and is well worth visiting.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Judyc_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Weather was horrible---but what would you expect in November?
Mellstock House and its owners were lovely. Generous, helpful, charming.
Everyone we met in the village was very friendly.
We had an excellent time and hope to return one day...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ale_and_R186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Friendly, comfortable B & B. John & Penny make you feel "at home" as soon as you walk through their door. The rooms have everyhing you need for a lovely, peaceful stay, but if you want to join them downstairs for a drink then thats on offer too. Would heartily recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank burley1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellstock, Owner at Mellstock House, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you so much for your thoughtful comments following your stay with us at Mellstock. It is a shame you didn't stay for an evening meal but if you are ever over here again, maybe walking the footpath the other way round, we would love to see you again for bed and breakfast and an evening meal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Wonderful B&B,great rooms,hosts,excellent food and super clean. If only England's other B & B's would try to achieve this standard.
Restaurants in Combe Martin leave a lot to be desired, but Mellstock House will do dinner for you and they are licensed

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank 414Frederick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at John & Penny's on a long weekend away. A lovely welcome awaited with a nice cuppa and biscuits and a chat which lasted almost two hours! Such genuinely friendly people who run Mellstock House with such a passion that it emanates throughout the house. Our room was the lovely big one with a living room area too. Everywhere was immaculately clean and always smelled so fresh. It was a place where you felt very welcome from the minute you walked through the door. The food.... breakfast was delicious, plentiful and from local produce which does make a difference! Although we were offered an evening meal we had already booked a meal out before our arrival, but it smelt delicious and very tempting! We had a fantastic time and will definitely be going back again very soon. Will be good to see John and Penny again!

Room Tip: If you are there a couple of nights... go for the "suite" ... perfect for relaxing and putting your feet up!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank susiemc113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellstock, Owner at Mellstock House, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for your positive review of Mellstock House following your stay with us. We are so glad you had a comfortable, relaxing stay. It was a shame you were unable to stay for a meal; maybe next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews