We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful one night stay in "January!"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mellstock House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mellstock House
Ranked #7 of 15 Combe Martin B&B and Inns
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A wonderful one night stay in "January!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were visiting friends in Combe Martin that we had not seen for some years. They couldn't accommodate us due to logistical problems but they recommended Mellstock House a bit further down the road not far from the harbour/beach.
Wonderful place! We arrived late(ish) on Friday 18th January 2013 after struggling through the tundra wastes of north Devon due to the snow that befell most of the country that weekend, but we did make it after a long and slightly dramatic drive, particularly for the last 5 miles going over the hill prior to the descent in Combe Martin.
Penny met us at the door as she had heard our car reversing into the parking place at the side of the property. They have parking for three cars which includes their own so that may be a problem in Summer but there is a car park nor too far away that is relatively cheap for a couple of nights overstay so no real problem. This has to be expected in this part of the world as due to the way villages/towns have developed in this area over the years and due to the topography of the ground parking can on occasion be at a premium. I doubt you would be better off anywhere else in Combe Martin.
Our room was lovely. We paid the basic price for a basic room but we were upgraded to a Superior Room (Room No. 1) Which was lovely. The mattress and bedding were on a par with a four star hotel. Luxurious comfort .... we slept like logs that night. The room and the beautiful on suite were heated and very nice. The shower in the morning was cool but we did get up at 7am which I think is the time that the central heating kicks in in winter and I think the shower is possibly connected to the general heating system in the place. I may be wrong but it was at least warm (not cold) and I suspect this won't be a problem in the summer. It all warmed up by the time we had finished breakfast. This was more than adequate with both John and Penny up to service our needs for breakfast. The meal was lovely, hot and served with generosity. Lots of it with a particular 5* for the sausage ... definitely a locally sourced variety!
Penny and John who run the place are very convivial and make you feel very relaxed when you arrive. They have a very nice bar in which we met our friends and had a drink before going into the town to have a meal. The lower town (pubs and restaurants and beach is 5 minutes walk away.
Overall a very nice experience. Would I stay there again or recommend the place? Most certainly. I would stay there again.at the drop of a hat.

Room Tip: Room 1 was great. Lovely bed with very comfortable mattress. Lovely on suite. Also nice furniture, l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisAddey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellstock, Owner at Mellstock House, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent, positive review following your stay with us at Mellstock House. We are glad you felt warm and comfortable in Room 1 and enjoyed the freshly cooked breakfast. At the time of your visit in January we did park our car by the house, leaving a space for you obviously, but during peak season the parking adjacent to the house is all reserved for our guests and we park away from the property! We are sorry the water that morning wasn't as hot as it should have been. We are unable to offer an explanation for that "blip" because we keep the water on 24 hours a day all year round and there hasn't been a problem previously if the shower in the room is put on the hot setting but thank you for pointing it out. If you are visiting Combe Martin again it would be lovely to see you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    24
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
13
111
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Mellstock and found it perfectly adequate for our requirements. John cooks up a mean "full English" in the mornings (and even catered for my gluten free needs). Brilliant!

We ate out each lunchtime/evening so we can't comment on those meals but if breakfast was anything to go by, I'm sure they're fine.

Rooms were cosy and clean and comfortable; what more could you ask for? The beds were a little hard for me but that's just my preference and the room was quiet and had a great view of the sea.

John & Penny are great hosts and we would certainly stay again should we be in the area.

Room Tip: We had room 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhotoJunkie1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leinster, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in April, 2012, this was the pleasentest of all surprises, John and Penny were exceptional hosts, John on breakfasts and afternoon tea and chat, he loves to talk about Coombe Martin and all that it has, and Penny makes the most yummy evening meals, the cleanliness, which is Pennys domain, is above any hotel we have stayed in, if ever we return to Devon and Cornwall we would not hesitate in returning.

Room Tip: I'm guessing all rooms are good, but higher rooms would be difficult for lesser mobility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seanaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Ditton, Surrey.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Turned up after a long and hard days walk on the South Coastal Way to be met and welcomed by John and Penny. They were very helpful and 'walker' friendly. Got our boots dry! Nice and friendly and enjoyed staying there. Breakfast was good and well made. If you are doing the South Coastal Way, stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cholomley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at Mellstock House in August, while our son and his family were staying at a camp site close by. John and Penny who run the b&b made us very welcome. Our room was very clean and comfortable and the food was very good. It is a very small hotel and there is a small bar.

We had great breakfasts each morning, and on 2 evenings we had dinner there with our son, his wife and daughter. All the family enjoyed their dinner at Mellstock House and hence we arranged to have dinner all together on a second evening. It was very nice to be able to have a drink in the bar after we had finished dinner. John and Penny could not have done anymore to make our stay more welcome.

We stayed at this hotel a couple of years ago just a few weeks after John and Penny had just taken over this hotel and the food and hotel is still as good as it was on our previous visit.

Room Tip: We had Room 1 which was very light and had a large bay window with a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aljo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gillingham, dorset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We really ernjoyed our stay here, the accommodation was very good - including a very comfortable bed, TV and DVD player - along with a nice breakfast and the hosts were very welcoming and flexible, which we really appreciated. Also a perfect location within easy walking distance of the village.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pgrimster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed one night only while walking the coastal path. Our room was clean and well kept with a separate sitting room with tv, dvd, cd player etc., delightful bedding and toiletries all added a little luxury even personalised embroidered towels. Very welcoming and friendly host and hostess, helpful and professional, John even collected our bags from our previous B & B and put it in the room for us. Great breakfast too. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combe Martin
2.7 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Acorns Guest House
Acorns Guest House
#4 of 15 in Combe Martin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.2 mi away
La-Gallerie Bed and Breakfast
La-Gallerie Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 15 in Combe Martin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.0 mi away
Langleigh Guest House
Langleigh Guest House
#1 of 4 in Berrynarbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mellstock House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellstock House

Property: Mellstock House
Address: Mellstock House Woodlands, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Combe Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mellstock House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal base for short breaks in North Devon we are situated in Combe Martin on the Edge of Exmoor. Bed & Breakfast accommodation in a beautiful 4 star guest house, 6 bedrooms, all en-suite, most with countryside and sea views. One minute from the beach, fully licensed, serving home cooked breakfasts and freshly prepared evening meals. An ideal base for all outdoor activities including walking holidays, horse riding and golfing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Mellstock House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mellstock House Combe Martin, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing