We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a difference a decade makes”

The Dolphin Inn Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 16 Restaurants in Combe Martin
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“what a difference a decade makes”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We first visited this restaurant many years ago and vouched never again.but yes we have and was very pleasantly surprised .its had a lot of recent improvements including a new garden area at the rear for children and upstairs bistro .lovely food lovely staff and stunning view over the bay.downstairs also caters for dog owners and children.so something for everyone.give it a try

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carole j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    71
    34
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
alfreton
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“BUT- best chips I've ever eaten”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Arrived in the evening, ten minutes before the quiz was about to start. with the family including a baby and a 3 year old. There were no high chairs so we had to do as best we could. WE were the only people eating.
The menu was quite limited and restricted to mainly something and chips. Food very tasty, especially the chips, but we all got quite small portions for the price we paid.
My food was presented on a wooden board, the chips being in a paper cone, scampi, and a tiny pot of mushy peas, which made it a bit difficult to eat.
The quiz was noisy as the loud speaker system was being used in spite of hardly anybody playing it, we being seated away from the compare, at the far end..

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gadaboutgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, Good Food”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Lovely place to eat - chocolate brownies to die for!!

Well worth a visit. Gorgeous view of the beach.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sunday Carvery”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Wasn't sure whether to rate a 3 or 4 but chose 3 sorry! Firstly I have to comment on the new garden area, there's plenty of room for the children to play and at the moment is nice and clean (but it is still new!). We arrived to eat just before 2 as we were told lunch would still be available until 3. There was a really nice lady carving the meat but she was extremely slow and the queue took an age! When we did get served the stuffung had run out as had some of the fresh vegetables and they were replaced with frozen. Having said that what we did eat was very nice although it could have been considerably hotter. Would we go there again? Yes I think we would, maybe it's early days and they're just getting things up and running. With a few tweaks it could be excellant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

new outdoor beer garden with childrens play area, covered area and large umbrellas for shelter during showers

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dolphin Inn Restaurant also viewed

Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Dolphin Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing