We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lack of empathy ”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Combe Martin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Newberry Valley Caravan & Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lack of empathy ”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Didn't make it, apparently lovely campsite but unfortunately we broke down twice trying to go on holiday kept them informed but sadly no refund or empathy to our predicament, so remember take out their insurance or have you own as they ask for full payment before you get there unusual for campsites

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    51
    8
    3
    6
See reviews for
86
157
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Just spent 2weeks at Newberry valley, facilities 10/10, perfect place for family camping, we were a big party, and found combemartin a little quiet. But campsite cannot fault, the wardens 10/10. We had brilliant weather a little frosty in morning but Sun always came out, thanks to lovely wardens the courting couple.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Just had a week at Newberry Valley Caravan Park, excellent site. Staff are really helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Great wifi at reasonable rates. Shower rooms are nice and clean and really big including a toilet and wash sink. Slight problem when busy as we had to que each morning, would be better to have smaller shower rooms and more of them. No separation between male and female toilets, Showers not powerful and not very warm. Good dish washing facilities, laundry room, and children's park. Fishing ok. Dog walks good in woodland and fields
All in all a good site but at top end of price scale. Short walk to the beach in Coombe Martin and the shops and number of pubs. Would return if in this part of the world again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2014

I have never had the inclination to review anything on this site before but after a 5 night stay at Newberry Valley, I thought it was a must, as I wanted to thank and commend the owners for a fabulous holiday! What a great find this site was. Great location, only a 5 minute walk into the village/beach (uphill on the way back) and a beautiful, clean, well-kept, quiet and picturesque site. The staff are very friendly and helpful and we were made very welcome.
We pitched our tent on one of the large pitches situated in between the shop/reception and facilities. The shop was small but stocked with the usual basics - bread, milk, bacon etc and you can order fresh bread and newspapers daily. Local weather forecasts were also chalked up on a black board, which was very useful and there was lots of local information. The toilet/shower facilities were of a very good standard and always clean. There was also the use of a microwave, small fridge, hairdryer and iron and ironing board. The shop offers icepacks for hire for a £2 refundable deposit plus 20p charge but you are unable to freeze your own. Fresh pizza's are made to order on a Tuesday and Friday evening, which we didn't try but they smelt delicious. The only downside I can mention is the cost of the Wi-Fi, which is £6 for 48 hours or £24 for the week, which we though was a bit excessive but throughout the whole area we didn't get any signal on 02 or Vodafone (except in Ilfracombe).
The site is very quiet and peaceful and in a really lovely setting with woodland walks and a lake for fishing. Night times were also quiet except for a hoot from the owls or an occasional howl from the local wolves. BBQ's are allowed, as long as they are off of the grass.
A bus service is available to Ilfracombe, Lynton and Lynmouth with the bus stop close to the site. Combe Martin is a great base for a holiday in North Devon and whilst we were there made use of the bus service but also made a short car journey to Saunton Sands, Croyde, Woolacombe, Watermouth and Woody Bay.
This site really does have the best of both worlds, peace and quiet on the site and the quaint local village so close, which has some lovely pubs and a great fish and chip shop.
We will definitely be coming back again and would recommend to anyone. Was very sad to leave Combe Martin but taking great memories.

Room Tip: large or superior pitches are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pita74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Just returned from a fabulous two weeks at Newberry Valley, The staff - Jim (the birthday boy!) Gail, Steve, Margaret, Martin and Dawn - are all lovely friendly, smiley, helpful people.
The facilities are very good - plenty of clean showers, loos, washbasins, all in private cubicles, and washing, drying, ironing facilities if that takes your fancy. (The one thing that would improve the facilities are more powerful showers with a shower head that isn't fixed)
There are a selection of pitches, grass and hard standing. We had a grass pitch on level three, a large pitch with plenty of space, the biggest we've ever had I think, with electric and water.
There is a grassy play area with a wooden climbing type thing!! Ted the Tractor also takes children on free rides at 9am every morning around the campsite.
A local pizza company comes to the site twice a week to bake fresh pizzas to order in their clay oven. Very nice pizza, but very, very expensive, and the young staff are somewhat disorganised. Treat yourself, but get there early, six-ish, or be prepared to wait....a looooong time!!
Combe Martin village is a ten minute walk down the hill. The beach isn't the best, stoney and seaweedy and not very nice sand, but great for rock pooling.
The sun shone almost constantly for two weeks so that was the icing on the cake.
If you are looking for a lovely quiet, clean, friendly, well maintained site then I'd definitely recommend Newberry Valley. We will most certainly be back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MontyDoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopsteignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

I hate camping, I really do not enjoy it all, my partner had to practically twist my arm to agree and even then we spent a long time looking for a campsite that I would be happyish to visit.

We eventually decided on Newberry Valley, and I'm very pleased we did.

The campsite is very well spaced out. We opted for no electricity pitch for our tent and were pleasantly surprised at the amount of room we were given.

We could set our tent up so we were not overlooked and didn't feel as though our neighbours were too close by.

The site is very well placed too for local attractions and it is a very short walk (about 10 minute stroll) into town.

The facilities were excellent. The showers were hot (although not very powerful), very clean and the washing facilities were of a high standard too. I was particularly impressed that you got your own room with a lockable door, it was similar to a hotel shower room.

I was a little disappointed by the hair dryer, it enjoyed burning my hair, but the provision of one is a bonus point too.

The shop is small but adequate, you can buy tea and other hot drinks here and even order croissants and other baked goods for your breakfast next morning.

Staff were friendly and it was nice to be able to have a BBQ on site. I particularly liked the quiet rule after 10.30pm, which our neighbours adhered too, this was another bonus point in my view.

Although we couldn't hear the wolves we did enjoy the sound of the sheep and local bird song.

I would recommend you take a sleeping mask and will definitely be taking ear plugs with me next time (tents do not protect you from noisy neighbour snoring).

This is a well managed site, the facilities are clean and for what you get the charges are very reasonable.

Do I still hate camping? Yes, it is not my favourite thing to do, however I would visit Newberry Valley again - if there is a campsite that will make me more amenable to future camping, I think this is the campsite to do it!

Room Tip: Take a sleeping mask and earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed here in July for 6 nights and would have stayed much longer if we could have.
Beautiful quiet valley site within walking distance of a sandy beach and a rocky one with loads of fab rock pools and where dogs were allowed. The showers, laundry, washing up facilities were many and spotless and there was even free use of a steam iron - if you are so inclined (which I was!!)
The staff are all first class, helpful, fun people which makes your stay just that little bit more special.
Book with confidence.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joyce110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combe Martin
2.7 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
#5 of 8 in Combe Martin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Channel Vista Guest House
Channel Vista Guest House
#1 of 15 in Combe Martin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park
2.6 mi away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#2 of 25 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newberry Valley Caravan & Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newberry Valley Caravan & Camping Park

Property: Newberry Valley Caravan & Camping Park
Address: Woodlands, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Combe Martin
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newberry Valley Park is a family run, dog-friendly Gold Award touring and camping park located only five minutes' walk from the beaches and village of Combe Martin. An AA 5 pennant site, you'll find a variety of pitch sizes to suit all budgets together with a woodland walk, fishing lake and luxurious under-floor heated facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Newberry Valley Caravan & Camping Park Combe Martin, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing