We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended Cafe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Castaway Cafe

The Castaway Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Combe Martin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Wayne and Cassie welcome you to there large family friendly cafe and takeaway and have just opened our ice cream servery with traditional West Country ice cream from Dunstable farm. We specialise in breakfast with our great value for money captains being probably the biggest in the village we also have many other options on our breakfast menu which is served all day. We also serve a varied menu and daily specials and all of which are homemade and catered to most needs. We also serve cream teas of which we are getting a great reputation for our large delicious scones and various cakes. Large variety of speciality teas and of course delicious ground coffees. Takeaway food is available throughout the day and during the summer half term. We are dog friendly and have outdoor seating area. You are sure to get a warm welcome from all the staff and enjoy our friendly and relaxed atmosphere. We sublet in the evening to the indian kitchen which is completely separate to ourselves so any comments for them please add them to there own site many thanks. .
Chatham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recommended Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had a weeks holiday and throughout the week had most meals in here, especially the breakfast, very good food, very good prices, always served with a smile, right next to the sea so I highly recommend this place to go when your around!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Declan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    19
    9
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Smashing Breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Popped in for a fry up and was not disappointed, food was lovely and good value. The only negative thing I would say is that whilst the toilet itself was clean, the bathroom it was in was filthy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vdearly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Prime location, shame about the food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Recently visited (beg aug)what looks to be a great restaurant as a party of 6. 2 ordered fish and chips, on holiday by the sea fresh fish and chips seemed like a good idea, however fish seemed to be a frozen type,look and taste! Bit like you buy and put in the oven, children ate their meals with a bit of persuasion, but certainly did not enjoy them, only thing that looked okish and was eaten was captains breakfast, but not much can do wrong with bacon,eggs etc.... On further visits to Combe Martin children asked NOT to go there again,which is a a shame as we visited area regularly to eat over a 2 week period and as I said its in a good location just up from the beach. But one bad meal leaves a lasting memory.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lisabzante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We called in here for meal- Can't really say the food was all that nice. Fish didn't taste that fresh. My Girlfriend had the breakfast- That was ok except the sausages tasted a bit cheap.
Food and drinks took a while to arrive and the coffee was nothing special.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Boroboy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top nosh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Excellant and very freindly service, very good prices, We was here on a weeks holiday and We had most of our meals in the castaway cafe the children enjoyed their meals and asked to go back again for their next meal and we did, we had breakfast's and evening meals and they were great and every meal was as good as the last, we will definatly be visiting the castaway cafe in the future. recommended 100% make sure you go here. ENJOY.

Ian, Rachel and family.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Castaway Cafe also viewed

Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
 
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Castaway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing