We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Fish n chips.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black and White Fish and Chips Takeaway

Black and White Fish and Chips Takeaway
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Combe Martin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Fish n chips.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Decided to have Fish n Chips for the first night of our caravan break at Combe Martin. Found the choice of chippy limited. Thought the limited choice would affect the quality but certainly not the case. Staff were great and very chatty but on the ball during a very busy time. Food was top quality and at a very reasonable price. Will be returning when back at Combe Martin

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    47
    11
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best chips by a mile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very friendly staff. Quality of the food was superb. It has to be one of the best fish and chip shops in the UK.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Decided to have take way our first night in Combe Martin as I'd read the excellent reviews. Slightly disappointed with the fish but definately recommend the chips

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kodismum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Black and White Fish and Chips Friendly and Good Takeaway -”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

A good place to go. The Black and White is not on the High Street, it's nearer to Borough Rd, a short walk from the sea and the excellent beach in Combe Martin. Fish and Chips cost £5.60 I recall, a goodly portion and our fish was fresh cooked. It all tasted great in their plastic tray provided with a chip fork. Get in before 9.00 PM closing time in summer.

Their shop is clean and well presented. We could not eat in because their restaurant half is closed, such a shame and perhaps even a waste.We asked where we could sit and they said we couldn't, so it's a Takeaway for the home or a walk in good weather. The all important standard of chips? Perfectly edible and made from real potatoes. The meal did not burn our tongue, that can be a good thing and we're sure they must serve their food at the right temperatures.

Visited this Fish and Chip shop about three times last month. Friendly staff , the boss is cheerful and tactful, one chap is shall we say talkative, he called my brother "young man", hmmm and brother is over fifty? There are usually two chaps serving or three in busy periods, in the summer high season this place gets packed. They do have strong competition at the other end of Combe Martin's long High Street.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pamela h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Best fish & chips ever tasted, friendly atmosphere and average priced well done we will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black and White Fish and Chips Takeaway also viewed

Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
 
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Black and White Fish and Chips Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing