We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crap service”
Review of The Royal Marine

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Combe Martin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Royal Marine
Ranked #13 of 15 Combe Martin B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The place is very clean and tidy throughout and looks well,the
Meals were very nice and cooked with quality foods,the service really
Let this place down,we sat looking at our empty plates for 25 minutes after we'd had finished eating!
We gave up waiting for someone to clear out table and offer us puddings,we ended up leaving our table and paying at the bar so we could leave,the staff we did come into contact with were miserable.
Terrible customer service,such a shame as the rest was great!
Maybe they should employ people instead of zombies!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Fcukruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 28 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

Went to The Royal Marine twice during our stay in England.
Nice place with a decent atmosphere and friendly service.
The first visit we had Fish & Chips (first day in England so its mandatory) and it was very nice.
We saw someone else having what visually looked like a nice pie; we also heard later that they won prizes for their pies.
So on our second visit we all ordered pies, 3 Steak & Kidney and 2 Turkey & Mushroom.
On the outside they looked very appetizing, however that is where it ended.
They were very dry on the inside and had very little taste indeed. The Steak & Kidney had NO taste that I could find.
That was a real disappointment ...
At least the local beer was good ...
I think in general its a nice place to eat .. but give the pies a miss.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed in combe martin last week and visited the Royal Marine twice in 4 days. Both times me and my partner received a great service and the food was great. I had lobster and he had a mixed grill the first time.(The best mixed grill he has had in a long while). Then we went on the Wednesday for the cavery luckily we took the advice of the sign outside and booked as it was busy with people out the door at one point! £8.50 and my god that was well spent! Most caverys have just basic veg but all the veg had a little extra touch....the parsnips were to die for. Would definately recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ganty87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Visited in June 2012 for an evening meal. Service was fairly slow, but not too bad and was friendly. Food was nice and well-cooked but a bit boring Most main courses were over £11 and arrived with just one vegetable. Ok, but not worth the money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alfredston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We didn't stay at the hotel but I recommend the food at the restaurant. We had two evening meals and both were very good. I recommend having fish if it's on the specials board. The lady who served us was really friendly. We had our 7 week old baby with us and were made to feel very welcome. It's a nice atmosphere. I wasn't as impressed with the dessert, but that's just my taste.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank Frez77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Didn't stay overnight at this inn but we sampled all three harbourside pubs in Combe Martin and although all were OK this was the best for food. Fresh lobster was a rare treat and the highlight of my pub eats during a week in Devon, it wasn't even the most expensive item on the menu, priced the same as the other mains on the specials board. The best fresh fish specials sell out fast, probably because of the early bird offers, so if you fancy the menu go early.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curlewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Staff were miserable! Cheer up guys! Veg was cold as were the plates.
Disappointingly average.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Combe Martin hotels
0.1 mi away
Mellstock House
Mellstock House
#5 of 15 in Combe Martin
206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saffron House Hotel
Saffron House Hotel
#8 of 15 in Combe Martin
62 reviews
1.1 mi away
Manleigh Park
Manleigh Park
#3 of 7 in Combe Martin
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Acorns Guest House
Acorns Guest House
#3 of 15 in Combe Martin
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Poplars Hotel
Poplars Hotel
#9 of 15 in Combe Martin
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newberry Beach Lodge B&B
Newberry Beach Lodge B&B
#7 of 15 in Combe Martin
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Marine

Address: Seaside, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Combe Martin
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Royal Marine Combe Martin, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing