We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Just come back from a week at Sandaway and we had a fantastic week, the weather was brilliant this is our 4th year their. We stayed in caravan 43 the views out to sea are incredible..... It's the phone reception and internet are rubbish..... Mer some lovely people in the next caravan who live 10 mins from us ....

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeminiGirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hello Gemini Girl

What a lovely review! Thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your 5 star praise will mean so much to the manager, Wayne and his team at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

With regard to the phone and internet reception, please remember that this poor quality service is not down to us, but to the service providers and affects the residents of Combe Martin equally. With the stunning views from the park, the lack of good phone and internet reception pales in to insignificance.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    159
    68
    39
    47
See reviews for
338
120
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a long weekend.
Family consisted of a couple in their 30's and an 8 week old baby.

We stayed in a gold caravan which was spotless & well stocked.
The bedrooms & lounge were comfortable & relatively spacious.
The shower was very good.

The park was clean & staff were polite at all times.
The food in the bar was ok but not great.
The shop had narrow choices & expensive but it was convenient.

The pool was warm & nice to use in the sunshine. Shame it closes at 5pm and cleaning meant it closed early on Saturday 12pm-2pm.
Be aware that there are limited spaces as monitored by a life guard. It is great to have a life guard there though.

Park very convenient to travel & explore Devon!
Ilfracombe was nearby & a great place to visit!

Overall a fab break & would recommend area to others.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lulew81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hello Lulew

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and how helpful and friendly the staff were.

Your comments have been passed to all departments, especially the housekeeping team, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts on the cleanliness of the caravan.

Our returning customers are so important to us and regularly make up 50% of our visitors, so we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights in a camping Pod and were so sad to leave.
The view was tranquil and idilic with private access to the beach below. The site is predominantly a caravan park with the small camping fields opening to guests in July and August. My only fear is that the shower facilities would really struggle to accommerdate more people during these months. The ladies shower block had two showers however using them both at the sametime was practically impossible. This is the only thing that lets the site down... it wasnt a problem for us but with more demand could ruin what was a wonderful experience.
The swimming pool is beautiful, warm and nice and deep!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kylie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hello Kylie

Thank you very much for leaving us such a lovely review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed on to all departments.

Our new “Glamping” project is proving to be a qualified success and we are delighted that you were a part of its launch.

Your thoughts and recommendations on the shower block have been passed to the park manager for his perusal.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

hi would like to thank you for a fabulous stay this weekend, first time at this park and we cant wait book again for july, fabulous location, fabulous facilities, really really loved it, our little boy made friends on the park and thoroughly enjoyed his stay and would have stayed in the pool all day if it didnt close at 5, which is slightly disappointing, dont understand why pool would close so early in the summer months, perhaps something for the management to review

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hazel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hello Hazel

Thank you for your five stars. It is satisfying to hear that you had a great time on our park.

With regard to the swimming pool, the reason that it closes at that time is probably simpler than you may think. The time is necessary to give the pool a breather during which extra chemicals can be added to keep the water quality as high as possible.

Once again let me thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our park very soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Another fantastic week at Sandaway. Really didn't want to come home. From the fantastic views, the outdoor pool to the Stripeys ( Tom Cathrine and the totally bonkers Geoff) The barstaff and everyone who works there Thankyou cant wait to get back next year . Excellent value for money and some of the most stunning views you will ever see . See you next year guys

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gdquick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hello Gdquick

Thank you for your five stars. It is satisfying to hear that you had a great time on our park.

We are happy that you thought the bar staff and the entertainers were helpful and we will pass your comments on to them.

Once again let me thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in one of the new camping pods for 4 nights and were immediately blown away with the view from our pod. It was beautiful. As was the pod itself, clean and comfortable. The site was a typical caravan site with all the usual pros and cons.

Where the trip went down hill was the toilet blocks and showers for the campers.

It took 3 days for the cleaners to refill the soap.

The toilet seats were broken so actually staying on the loo was a challenge.

There was also a mop bucket filled with dirty, smelly water left for days in the corner.

The worst aspect was the showers which were horrific. There was so little flow the water just ran out the shower head, down the wall and in to the drain which stank of poo. I genuinely dreaded having to use the showers, which following a chat with the other campers, so did they. If the showers were fit for purpose then this would have been a 5 but they were so bad I'm going for a generous 3.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hello Adam

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park. We certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism , although your observations on the showers have come as a total surprise and do not agree with the feed back that we normally have.

The toilet and shower block is cleaned and inspected regularly and the broken seat that you mentioned was replaced within an hour of it being reported.

Our new “Glamping” project is proving to be a qualified success and we are delighted that you were a part of its launch, despite your disappointment elsewhere.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Just come back from a fantastic stay at this park .. I cannot fault this wonderful place ..I have stayed in many other holiday parks and I must say this one is definatly one of the better ones ..
The park itself is nice and small and very clean and well kept .reception check in was friendly and helpful ..I booked a Monday to Friday bargain last min break in a gold caravan and chose Combe Martin after reading the great reviews first ..I was not disappointed ..the caravan was lovely and quite new with a wonderful sea view and very clean which I was impressed with ...top marks to your cleaning staff ..it has 2 bedrooms with everything you needed for your stay ...the park was not full but busy enough ..i played bingo in the evening and there was also kids entertainment which was so well organised even though there was only a few children the entertainers made them feel special ....the food bar was great .....big choice ..large portions and great prices definatly worth it ...the pool looked lovely and was quite busy everyday .there is also a shop for small essentials which you might have forgot ton to bring ....Combe Martin is lovely with a path to walk down to from the park ..a bit steep on the way back up ...there is bus stop just outside for other destinations if you don't want to drive ..I used it to go to ilfracombe ..all in all a great holiday destination ..very peacefully ..great views ....lovely staff what more can one need .... I definatly will be returning to this wonderful place ...many thanks ...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMIRF44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hello Smirff

Thank you for taking the time to leave your fantastic feedback; it’s always a pleasure receiving such positive comments.

We do take great pride in cleaning all grades of accommodation to a very high standard and it’s brilliant that this isn’t going unnoticed. All comments will be passed on to our Housekeeper and the cleaning team.

We are very lucky with the location of our park in such a beautiful part of Devon and we are delighted that you were able to share that experience.

Let me thank you again for taking the time to leave this lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our park very soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combe Martin
9.8 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,757 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
800 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park
2.4 mi away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#1 of 25 in Ilfracombe
417 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saffron House Hotel
Saffron House Hotel
#7 of 15 in Combe Martin
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandaway Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandaway Beach Holiday Park

Property: Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Address: Sandaway, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 9ST, England (Formerly John Fowler Sandaway Holiday Park)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Combe Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandaway Beach Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park stands on a low cliff at the very edge of the ocean with breathtaking sea views. Three minutes walk down a picturesque stepped path brings you to Sandaway Beach, privately owned by us, a rocky foreshore and a sprinkling of sand but a real sun trap and haven of peace and quiet, but beware of the tides. A short scramble over the rocks takes you to our secret spot, Mermaid's Cove, this is truly a place of magic and tranquillity for that really quiet swim or sunbathe. Relax with a cool drink in our Smuggler's Bar, take in the superb sea, and Exmoor views. Enjoy excellent pub grub, and basket meals from our Chef's Corner, and view our nightly family entertainment in our clubhouse. A feature of Sandaway is our lovely kidney shaped swimming pool. There is a well stocked shop, take-away meals, pool table, amusements, a special indoor children's soft play area and an outdoor playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and PitchUp so you can book your Sandaway Beach Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park Combe Martin, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing